Ole Henriksen • African Red Tea Express The Truth Face Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Ethylhexylglycerin on 10/29/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Ethylhexylglycerin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Copying and pasting the same review I wrote for "Ole Henriksen - African Red Tea Visual Truth Eye Cream," because it applies.

My sister just bought this for herself a couple of days ago, so I went over the ingredients to see whether I can use it too (I have very sensitive skin).

This cream contains Sodium Benzoate, which on its own, is safe. However if you mix sodium benzoate with vitamin C, under certain conditions, benzene can form. Benzene is carcinogenic. And this cream contains not one, but two forms of vitamin C (listed as Calcium Ascorbate and Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate).

Yes, benzene may or may not form, depending on various factors, but personally I don't want to take my chance.

Feel free to read more at: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/what-is-it-sodium-benzoate

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmbrosiaKisses on 3/7/2014 9:20:00 PM more reviews by AmbrosiaKisses

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Recieved a deluxe sample of this product and I find it so-so. It smells delicious and I love the face wash from the African Red Tea line, but I'm just not loving the face cream. I've used it for a few weeks, but I find myself reaching for an alternative. The texture is thicker than the Sheer Transformation Creme and (for me) it just doesn't absorb quickly. My skin is dry and overall, I don't see much difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 7/14/2013 1:17:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really love the delightful fragrance behind this cream. It's delicious. Does it work? It didn't really do much for my post-menopausal skin. My skin is dry, with fine lines around the eyes. I purchased the Starter Kit of the African Red Tea Anti-Aging which contained six products. This review is for Express The Truth Creme.
It's very thick and gooey, was my first instinct. Applying it to my skin, it was also extremely thick, so not a lot was needed. The problem I had was that it never really absorbed well,and sat on top of my skin instead of moisturizing it. I was able to use it at night time because I wouldn't be using anything else on top of it. But if I was going to use it during the day, I wouldn't be able to use it if I was going to use any type of sunscreen, powder or makeup on top. It's just that messy.
The other problem that I noticed is that it literally wiped off on my pillow cases. I don't go to bed immediately after applying my night treatments, either. There's at least a half-hour to an hour's time lapse. So there should be enough time for the product to sink in, but it just never did.
As far as beneficial effects, I have other creams that I like far better that I can see immediate results (within a month) that I'm happier with in using. Other than the delightful fragrance, this is a product I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StupidUserNames on 4/27/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer it's amazing it smells great too. This really helps my skin when it's very dry and smoothes the skin out and I notice it give me a nice glow as well.. The only thing I didn't like was that sometimes it was just too oily and it literally was on my pillow. I still like it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Taramissoo on 2/11/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Taramissoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this moisturizer. I have a sensitive-combination skin type and it can be difficult to find a product that doesn't cause irritation. I tend to like a fairly rich cream because my dry areas are extremely dry and this cream does a really good job without being greasy. I've given it 4 lippies because honestly, for me, I wouldn't mind if it was just slightly richer, but all in all, it is great for a sensitive &/or combination-to-dry skin type. In my opinion, the smell is one of the best qualities. I find that it does smell like creamsicles (yum!) like other reviewers have commented, but I can see how some may night like it because it's kind of like "creamsicles with a hint of multi-vitamin" scent, if that makes sense. I actually find the fragrance very pleasant and uplifting. I am currently on my second jar of this and will definitely be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aimela on 1/25/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by aimela

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A bit oily, very moisturizing. Great as night cream or days you don't wear makeup, since makeup will just slide off your face. Pleasant, almost unnoticeable scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 agdeierl on 12/10/2010 3:50:00 PM more reviews by agdeierl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure what to make of this product. I love it...yet I have problems with it. PROS: Soaks into my skin very well, and it's the first cream I've tried that really takes care of the dryness I experience in Appalachian winters. I would even go so far as to say that it dramatically improves the texture and quality of my skin overall, hence the 4 lippies. I was breaking out a lot and experiencing flakiness, so I switched to my winter skin routine, which consists of DHC's Deep Cleansing Oil and then this Express the Truth cream. The breakouts subsided (Figures. My skin often freaks out in this way after a substantial and sudden climate change...Where I'm living it went from summer like weather to snowing and temperatures in the teens!) and my skin wasn't flaky. Even more impressive, when I woke up the next morning, my skin was still flake-free and not even the slightest bit greasy!!! (Funny, because with the lighter creams I use, my skin is oily when I wake up the next morning.) CONS: The scent is not my favorite. It's quite strong and smells just like sweet tarts (or as my boyfriend pointed out, Pez candy). You'll smell it for a while. Also, on sephora's website, they mentioned it was good for sensitive skin and that it was a "natural" cream. You should know the word "natural" means next to nothing on products. I doubt very much this is free of any chemicals with a smell like that. The biggest thing that bothers me about this cream is that after putting it on, my face flushes to the point that I look like I have a lobster-red sunburn, and I can even feel the heat on my face! It lasts for about 10 minutes. HATE this. So this is why I'm wondering how people with sensitive skin can use it. I don't have sensitive skin normally, but my skin clearly reacts to this. I don't know if it's from the "anti-aging" aspects of the cream or what...but I wasn't expecting it. After 10 minutes, my skin goes back to normal and actually looks great, so I've been continuing to use it. But it is an annoyance. If anyone knows why this is happening, please let me know! I can't seem to find many other accounts of other peoples' skin reacting to this cream in this way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jarhandastewart on 10/24/2010 4:07:00 PM more reviews by jarhandastewart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I am going to be honest here, I don't think this did anything miraculous for my skin but I am addicted to the light weightlessness of it and the smell. I think someone else says it smells like cremecicles and I think that's correct. It smells so good that I just love it for that fact alone. It's a good summertime moisturizer because it's not that heavy and sinks into the skin, in the winter I use it in combination with something else to get added moisture. Have I seen plumping of the skin or improved skin texture yes, but not groundbreaking earth shattering "wow", no, only retinol products do that. It does give you a healthy glow kind of like a luminescent glow. Will I continue to use it absolutely, because every time I smell it it makes me happy and I smile! Best wishes jarhanda stewart

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peunwha on 10/13/2010 1:21:00 AM more reviews by peunwha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i'm so thankful that i met this cream.
very mild even for sensitive skin. good natural smell, well moisturzing , i use this for night cream. and the moist last all night long so in the morning my face is still well moisturized and glowing. i love this one. i will stick to this for a long time. i'm given sample of 250$ cost expensive night cream from estee laude and i compared with this one , and this one beats it so i bought this and sooo satisfied with result. this one costs about 65$ at sephora , when i bought this first , i thought it is expensive but after i compared it with 250$ cream , i admit that this is worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupJunkie77 on 9/9/2010 6:58:00 PM more reviews by MakeupJunkie77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for about 6 mos now. Just for background info: I was going through some hormonal changes and started to break out in cystic acne. The dermatologist had my on differin @ night and clindamycin during the day. So, I really didn't want to put anything "chemical-ly" else on my face. I was introduced to this line for it's natural ingredients. I am perfectly happy with this and have already repurchased my second bottle. It really moisturizes my combo skin. The formula is creamy and my skin just drinks it up! But most importantly, I haven't broken out from it. It hasn't reacted with the prescription stuff. And the smell is amazing! As far as anti-aging, I haven't really noticed a dramatic change in reversing anything. But there haven't been any new wrinkles, which is good too!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ole Henriksen products

More Moisturizers products