Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray

3.9

472 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), SD-Alcohol 39-C, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Isononyl Isononanoate Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Sodium Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate PVP, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Methyl jkDiisopropyl Propionamide, Dimethicone PEG-7 Phosphate, PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate, Glucdonolactone, Sodium Benzoate, Glycereth-5 Lactate, Methyl Methacrylate Cross Polymer, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Fragrance. hh


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have repurchased this several times. I don't use it on myself often, because it does cause breakouts for me. However, if I am going to an event where I need my makeup to last all day, I'll use this because it does live up to its claims. I'll deal with the breakout. Your makeup will not move if you use this!

I use this on my bridal clients all the time, and it's absolutely perfect for that. After their event, clients will ask me what voodoo magic I used to make their makeup stay looking fresh all day. It's this!



on 8/22/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I recently started working a regular office job after working from home for a long time. The longevity of my makeup was not really something I've had to think about until recently. I had a bottle of this Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray that I had barely touched, and I recently starting using it every day for work after being annoyed at how my made up face would only last for the morning, especially commuting to work in the heat of summer.
I've definitely noticed my makeup stays on wayyyy longer with this stuff...by 6 pm my makeup looks very close to how it looked when I put it on at around 8 am. It's also solved one of my old makeup pet peeves: I use liquid liner, and I've always been annoyed at how curling my eyelashes messed up the liner, even though I wait until the liner dries before using the curler. Putting on liquid liner after curling just doesn't work for me. So now, I put on my liquid liner and the rest of my makeup, apply the setting spray, wait for it to dry, and then curl my eyelashes. Liquid liner still looks perfect.
A few cons: I am definitely still getting the hang of applying this stuff with good enough aim so that most of the spray actually lands on my face instead of going off into the air. I notice that on the days my aim is worse, my makeup does not stay on as well, which makes sense because not as much of the product is hitting my face. So the efficacy of the spray for me is highly dependent on how good a job I've done applying it.
Also, this stuff will make your face quite shiny. I kind of like the youthful dewiness it adds, but I'm not such a fan of the forehead shine. To remedy this, I recently picked up the Essence Stay Matte powder, and I apply it to all the places I don't want dew (forehead, chin, etc.), so this isn't so much of an issue. I leave areas like my cheekbones unpowdered, where the shine from the spray leaves a similar effect to using a highlighter.
The price is also a major con. I can't remember how much it was for me, but it was not cheap. I think I'll probably try some other setting sprays to see if there's one that works as well for me as the UD stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2015 5:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using Urban Decay All Nighter in my makeup routine for the last 6 months.
Without this, my face will be coated in oil 1 hour after applying makeup.
With this, that is extended to about 2.5 hours. It definitely helps, but I still have to keep blotting oil throughout the day. By the end of the day, my makeup is still decent but not as if it was just applied. Still better than if I didn't use it.

I spray this on after primer/ before makeup, and after makeup. Throughout the day, I usually spray Evian facial spray every now and then to refresh, use blotting paper and urban decay de-slick powder.

Bottomline: It is better than nothing.

Sidenote: I just purchased the Skindinavia Makeup Primer Spray/ Makeup Finishing Spray (Oil Control). It works SO MUCH BETTER. This will be the brand that I will be re-purchasing, moving forward.


on 8/18/2015 10:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first purchase this in the travel size, but then bought the largest size available! Works very well with powder foundations but is useless if used on a cream base that has not been powdered


on 8/18/2015 4:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I first used this product it ruined all my makeup as I held it too close to my face, I think they should really highlight that you HAVE TO HOLD IT 5-10 INCHES AWAY FROM YOUR FACE. I stopped using it for awhile as I thought it was terrible and I was thankful I got the smaller size but I started using it again and I've fallen in love. It's quicker and easier than using a powder. I love the dewy fresh natural look it gives my foundation and it's perfect to wear to school, college or work as it looks super natural!!


on 8/17/2015 11:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I first used this, I thought it bothered my sensitive eyes so I avoided using it for awhile. I'm now having mild hot flashes due to menopause, and the weather has been hot and humid, so I tried it again. It didn't bother my eyes, so it must have been something else when I used it before. This stuff is great! Makes a significant difference on how long my makeup lasts. Highly recommend.


on 8/17/2015 7:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My make up tends to go patchy/ oily after about 3 hours of wear with or without even the best primer which is extremely irritating - I tried the MAC setting spray which was horrible and decided to give this a go which I actually really liked; it kept my make up in place longer, didn't get too patchy, didn't make my makeup run, didn't make my skin dry & you only need a about 2- 3 pumps to cover the face.

After about 1 week of using it everyday I was told by a make up artist that one of the ingredients used in this spray is what they spray on dead bodies to keep the body fresher for longer & she suggested not to use it daily...so back on my search I go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2015 9:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

When I purchased this product, I had dry skin (now it is more combination). The spray did a terrific job of keeping my makeup on, which usually had worn off by the end of the day. However, it settled into the lines on my face and made me look like I had pretty deep set wrinkles. I tried stretching my face to hopefully keep this from happening, but it didn't do anything. I don't know if anyone else has had this problem or if I am just a special case.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the 30ml size of this setting spray because I was skeptical at first coming from my experience with the De-Slick setting spray (which was pretty bad). Now I regret not buying the full size because I'll probably run out of this stuff very soon and I need more in my life.

This setting spray set my makeup perfectly and made my makeup look better, as weird as it sounds, after ~8 hours than freshly applied. This controls my oil waaaaay better than De-Slick. I live in the swampland that is the Philippines where the weather is perpetually 37 degrees celsius/98.6 f and I have always had the problem of my makeup melting off after being out for 5 hours. This baby can withstand the humidity of a tropical country and is absolutely foolproof especially when used for special occasions.

Definitely on the pricey side, but I would repurchase. Might be my holy grail oil-control product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2015 5:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There was a time when I thought make-up setting sprays were just for nights out or ‘special occasions’ but these days my make-up routine is not complete without a spritz of this. I love the packaging which is very Urban Decayesque with the signature purple lid and font. What can I say, this setting spray leaves you with that freshly done make-up look all night (or day) I don’t think it has the best scent, it’s not s strong scent and doesn’t last but it smells a tiny bit like fake tan to me. My make-up though is in tact for hours, through summer sweat, dancing at night and the daytime mummy rush. It leaves your make-up feeling refreshed but I wouldn’t say it’s particularly hydrating. It is still a must-have though to make staying glamorous that little bit easier. I also love that there’s a handbag sized version available so you can spritz on the go if you need to. You can see my full review and pictures on my blog - http://www.secretstylefile.com/the-naked-skin-effect-%E2%99%A5/


Back to Top