Orly • Gumdrop • Polishes

rated 3.7(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 xosandy on 9/7/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by xosandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gumdrop is a pretty color. It just didn't suite my particular skintone. I picked it up because I've been hearing about the hype around this polish for years. The formula is not the best but I can work with it. It's just unfortunate it didn't look right on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Audralee27 on 5/1/2014 2:11:00 AM more reviews by Audralee27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm typically an Opi/Zoya/Julep girl, but I do own a few Orly nail lacquers. I like the rubber handle which is a plus for a clumsy girl like myself. Orly's also known for their crème lacquers, although their latest holo's have been pretty impressive lately. I own a few of Orly's crème & holo lacquers & since pastels are one of the top nail fashion trends these past few springs & is here to stay, I wanted to purchase a beautiful pastel crème lacquer. Wintergreen's more of a modern & unique pastel shade as it's often considered the hip or more rebellious of the pastel shades. I've been lemming for a pastel wintergreen lacquer for spring/summer & haven't been wowed or excited about one until I saw Orly's Gumdrop. I purchased mine at Target & it was by far the most popular lacquer in the collection as mine was the second to last one left.
I know some reviewers said they bought Orly's Gumdrop b/c it reminded them of China Glaze's For Audrey, but I find both to be beautiful & similar but not an exact dupe. I find Orly's formula to be a better formula than China Glaze's For Audrey, however I did take off a lippy b/c I expected Gumdrop's formula to not be streaky & expected application to be a dream. (I guess b/c it looks so creamy, rich & elegant when looking at the formula from the bottle.) Don't get be wrong, application was terrible, I just expected it to be perfect by its looks in the bottle. It took 3 coats & was slightly streaky, but came out looking beautiful. I receive many compliments everytime I wear Gumdrop.
Orly's Gumdrop's similar to China Glaze's For Audrey but again they're not exact duplicates. China Glaze's For Audrey's a shade darker than Gumdrop. They're both exquisite, just a personal preference. Another pastel wintergreen shade that's just as beautiful as Orly's Gumdrop & China Glaze's For Audrey is China Glaze's Too Yacht to Handle. It's similar to the other two pastel wintergreen crèmes but it's brighter, more vibrant & a slightly shade lighter shade than the other two. If you're looking for the color that most represents the infamous aqua/Robin's nest blue color box that every girl covets from Tiffany & Co., then China Glaze's Too Yacht to Handle's closest to that

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ljadeke on 6/6/2013 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Ljadeke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the color but the formula isn't good at all. It somehow manages to be thick yet streaky. I am surprised because I love the texture of the other Orly polishes I have. Sad face....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 californiastars on 2/4/2013 3:30:00 AM more reviews by californiastars

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Only giving this 2 stars for the color. The formula on this polish is the worst—especially for novices. I've been getting my nails done regularly since April 2012, but I haven't tried polishing them myself very much until very recently. When I got my nails done on Wednesday, even the manicurist had a hard time with this formula. It's so thick and streaky. Very tough to get a nice even coat. However, I loved the color and my nails looked awesome when she was finished. By Saturday, it was chipping a lot. When my boyfriend noticed that half the color had chipped off my right index fingernail, he (jokingly) asked me why I had peeled my polish off. Ugh!! So on Sunday, I got the bright idea to redo my nails. This turned into an all-day affair. I had to started over again and again because the polish was too thick yet runny, streaky and dried way too quickly. It was horrible. Determined to finish, I finally got them looking nice, but this polish has really put me off doing my own nails. I never had this much trouble with China Glaze. I'm taking the rest of the Orly colors I got at Sally last month in their BOGO free sale back. The lady stocking the shelves there told me Orly was comparable to OPI, too. Nope. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carakitty5 on 12/16/2012 2:23:00 AM more reviews by carakitty5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The color of this polish is simply gorgeous! I had set off to find a Tiffany Blue color, and had my eyes set on this. I like that this has more green than for Audrey, but I have never tried FA so no actual comparison.

Formula: thick and tends to drag if you aren't careful. BUT... if you add about 4 drops of thinner and shake a lot, this is amazing! This (along with lollipop, which I love even more) becomes a smooth, self-leveling ONE COAT nail polish. This is extremely opaque, and although it is not perfect initially, the few drops of thinner make it wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CG1981 on 11/28/2012 12:26:00 AM more reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this color and formula. I am on a nail polish kick lately, this has been one of my favs. Orly def beats Opi in terms of formula and the bottle (ease of use when applying), but no one can compete with OPI's variety of colors. I am not a huge Essie fan and Sally Hansen is always a good choice. Anyway, this is a "Tiffany blue" like shade. Its surprisingly versatile and i can wear it to the office in a professional setting without it looking too trendy or whacky. I always get compliments on this color. One coat can be opaque but i usually do two and a top coat. NYC minute top coat is my fav.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HerrDrosselmeyersDoll on 9/11/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by HerrDrosselmeyersDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fabulous nail polish. I'm in love with the light pastel color. It looks exactly the same on your nails as it does in the bottle, I find unlike most OPI polishes. Orly is a great brand, with no trace of formaldehyde at all. It does crack a little if you apply too many coats than your nail can handle because it has somewhat sheer coverage, but place Seche top coat over it, and it's pristine. The grip top of the brush is not only convenient but makes the product a little more cutesy and unique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daym17 on 3/24/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by daym17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this polish! The color looks great and will look even better in the summer with a tan. The color goes on smoothly and without streaks. It covers well with one coat but looks even better with two. I receive many compliments when I wear this color. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kavila1 on 2/29/2012 1:18:00 AM more reviews by Kavila1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color. Looks pretty on my dark skin. Every time I wear it I get so many compliments. I also like the rubber top and I didn't have a problem with the consistency like other reviewers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goodcelt on 1/22/2012 7:30:00 PM more reviews by goodcelt

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought a bottle of this stuff at a great sale at Sally's. I used a base coat of Nail Life, then, two coats of Gumdrop. I had sufficient coverage and had thought about putting on an iridiscent coat of a color that looks like abalone shell. But I decided to just leave this new color alone and put a 2nd coat of it on, topped with another Nail Life coat. I love it! I also saw a color very similar to it at the Estee Lauder counter and a new L'Oreal color. Glad I got this one...I had a buy 3, get $5 off, then, I had a $5 coupon to use. Not bad!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Polishes products