NARS Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base

4.4

390 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane Talc Cyclopentasiloxane Disteardimonium Hectorite Vp/Eicosene Copolymer Dimethicone Cetyl Ethylhexanoate Cyclohexasiloxane Sorbitan Sesquioleate Trimethylsiloxysilicate Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride Propylene Carbonate Peg-40 Stearate Sorbitan Olivate Tocopheryl Acetate Cera Alba (Beeswax) Phenoxyethanol Diethylhexyl Syringylidenemalonate Oryza Sativa [Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil Extract] Triethoxycaprylylsilane Castor Oil Phosphate Sea Whip Extract Mica Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide) Ci 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride).


on 7/29/2015 6:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

before i discovered this, i was pretty sceptical about eyeshadow primers. i had only tried the urban decay primer potion and it made my eyeshadow crease like hell after a couple of hours. concealer under my eyeshadow gave me better results, so that's what i used for a long time. i finally got sucked into the hype on this baby, and it's so good. so good. i smudge the doe foot applicator once on each lid, blend it out all over the lid up to the browbone, and my eyeshadow stays in place for the whole day. it's very pricey ($35 aud) but it's worth it. i would repurchase for sure, this is my hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/18/2015 7:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

Love it! I think it's the best eyeshadow base ever. It is not drying. It does what it's supposed to - keeping your eyeshadows in its place. Honestly it's the best primer I have ever tried. I am not going to re-purchase my ex-favorite UD anymore. Their latest anti-age primer is a nightmare anyway.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2015 2:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a really great eye shadow primer, especially if you have oily lids. My eye-shadow lasts throughout the day without creasing or smudging. My only complaint is I wish it would come in a color to cancel out all my veins on my eye lid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I was using Urban Decay eye primer for a few years, and was never truly satisfied. After an 8 hour workday, my eye makeup was always creasing or half-faded. I was ready to try something new. I received a sample of this and really liked it, I ended up purchasing the full size.

The primer comes with a doe-foot style sponge wand. I find that it is very easy to apply. I usually dab the sponge on my finger tip and spread it on my eyelids with a clean fingertip.

You only need a small amount and it goes a long way. A small dab covers both eyelids. It dries very easily and quickly.

I have used it under both drugstore and high end shadows, and I find the staying power to be fantastic. There are times when I have worked 12-14 hour days, and I come home, and my eye makeup is still in place. very impressed.

I have very sensitive skin and my eye skin area is no different. I have never had any reaction or irritation due to this product.

The stuff is somewhat pricey, but I have been using the same tube for over two months and still have plenty left. I just wish I could see how much is left in the bottle!


on 6/28/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have tried this product for well over a year and LOVE it. If you're going to bother putting on eyeshadow you want it to stay. I have oily lids and this helps it stay all day long.

This product is clear when applied, so it doesn't cancel out veining or anything like that. It also doesn't intensify the color like a white base would. It does, however, make shadow go on smoothly and stay put for well over 14 hrs. I've never really counted the hours.

I'm not a huge fan of the doe foot applicator because I find it unhygienic, but I can look over this. The bottle is also white so you cannot tell how much product remains in the tube.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product. Keeps my upper and lower eyeliner on all day. I use it on my lips too and it keeps my lipstick on even after eating. A little of it goes far. I like the doe foot applicator too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product. I have oily and slightly hooded lists and for the first time my eyeliner and eye shadow stay in place all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Pretty much perfect. I have slightly oily lids and have minor problems with creasing, but more annoying to me is the eyeliner in the inner corner of my eye that disappears quickly, with this stuff...everything stays put. I also have UDPP and while it is a good primer, its not as good as the NARS. I like the doe applicator and I don't mind the packaging...I figure by the time I get to the end it will be time to replace it anyway, and like the UDPP, a tube lasts forever! I definitely think you get your money's worth even if the price seems high. I first tried this in a sample size and that little sample went a very long way. After using it all up I knew I would be repurchasing as long as they make the stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2015 2:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this eye primer. I used to only wear gel eyeliner and it would always smudge, but using this has stopped that. As a eyeshadow primer I would prefer something with a bit of colour, but I just sweep over a neutral shade to kind of knock out the colour on my lids. Otherwise, it's a fantastic eyeshadow primer that definitely extends the wear of my eyeshadow and prevents creasing. I would prefer a squeeze tube so I could get it all out though, the wand is a little annoying nearing the end of the product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm probably driving everyone in my vicinity crazy because I keep raving about this product! I've tried all the usual suspects plus some when it comes to eyeshadow primers. Nothing worked. It would just slide right off a few hours in. (Yes, Urban Decay too).

I thought I was wasting my money with this, but am so glad I gave it a try. It works! My eyeshadow, my liner, they all stay all day. And there's no creasing either. This is the only product that has ever worked!

Only cons are: price (it's not cheap!) and packaging (I don't think it's going to be easy to get all the product out of that tube--and given the price, I'd really want to).

I don't write product reviews often these days, but having used it long enough to know for sure, this stuff's worth the extra characters and carpal tunnel.


Popular Eye Primers


Eye Base
Eye Base
26 Reviews
Eye Spackle
Eye Spackle
17 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

45 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top