Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion

4.2

151 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, PPG-10 Methyl Glucose Ether, Methyl Paraben, Disodium Succinate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Succinic Acid, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Acetylated Hyaluronate.


on 2/19/2015 6:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This was suggested in Chizu Saeki's book on Japanese skincare (if you haven't read it, DO IT! NOW!) and I've quite enjoyed using it.

There seems to be a misconception on Western beauty sites/forums that this is a toner. And that isn't necessarily true. It is a lotion mask.

So the first thing you need to know is when you apply this, your face must first be wetted with water. If your skin is dry, simply applying the lotion doesn't allow it to fully penetrate. it's like spraying a paper towel with water. What happens? it evaporates and gets even drier or crunchier. Now, if you put a wet sponge onto a paper towel, the towel gets more saturated and fully soaked with moisture. Same theory with the lotion masks.

To properly use this lotion, do what thousands of Japanese and Asian women do with this product: peel cotton pads into thin layers, saturate, then let sit on skin for 3-5 minutes. You will see a VAST difference in plumping + hydration with this synergistic technique vs. just applying the product on your face.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 2/10/2015 4:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product. When I first bought this product, I was incredibly confused about the naming conventions and how to use this. In case anyone is like me, two things I learnt:

1) This "lotion" is actually a clear liquid. The texture is really light, in-between a pure liquid and a light serum, and is absorbed very quickly by the skin.

2) I thought this was a moisturizer but nope, this is actually meant to be used as a toner. I use it as a first step on bare skin after cleansing, followed by treatment (SKII FTE) and moisturizer (Hada Labo milk).

My experience:

Note: I have been using this for about half a year.

I am in love with the texture of this product. Really lightweight, refreshing on the skin, and absorbed really really quickly! I think you're only supposed to 2 drops, but it feels so good and so absorbed so easily that even when I pour more out, it's still absorbed properly without making me feel sticky, and I have oily skin and stay in a tropical, humid country.

Despite the lightweight texture, the lotion is really hydrating and makes my skin feel really "bouncy", if that makes sense! It's my first time using a "moisturizing toner", and I don't have a habit of consistently using a toner, but I have been using this religiously ever since I bought it because it really makes my skin feel refreshed and gives it an instant moisturizing boost after cleansing. In my opinion it's a great step to add to any routine, especially if you want hydrated skin without the heaviness or stickiness. Perfect for layering with any serum, treatment, or moisturizer.

I love this so much that I sometimes use it rather unconventionally - on other parts of my body as a light weight moisturizer (helps that it's inexpensive and goes a long way), or as a mid day refresher on top of make up. (I've also read that you can keep this in a spray bottle as a facial mist but I haven't tried that!)

In short, a great value for money product for light weight hydrating and prepping of skin!


on 1/24/2015 4:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

As I have sensitive & dry skin, it works only to a certain degree for me. As my skin looks dull because of the dry skin I have, it does hydrate and improve my skin complexion after a week of using. However, I found a bit of a pimple outbreak at my forehead area. At the end of the day, my skin did feel oilier than my usual dry skin.


on 1/5/2015 5:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Price: works out very cheap as a bottle lasts for about a year (I use about 5 drops each night)

Packaging: is excellent. The bottle is hygienic and does not leak, even when the bottle is upside down for hours

Performance: this is supposed to be used in the same way as a toner - BEFORE your serum and/or moisturiser. It is not supposed to be a moisturiser. This product preps your skin and ensures that the next products are 'absorbed' properly. I have noticed a big difference in my skin since I started using this 6 months ago. I had dry skin that was still very oily. This has managed to balance my skin and ensures that it is moisturised sufficiently.

This is much better than any other hyaluronic acid product I have come across.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2014 11:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Why it's such a crowd favourite:

- Texture:

It has an incredibly light watery texture. It may look like a toner or even a make-up remover, but don't let it fool you though. Albeit lightweight, it has a patent-pending blend of hyaluronic acid called Super Hyaluronic Acid. I mentioned earlier that other products with Hyaluronic Acid alone only provides surface hydration. This is supported by a handful of dermatologists that noted that hyaluronic acid molecules are too big to pass through the skin's top epidermal layer. This however, contains three types of hyaluronic acid, of differing molecular size, that would deliver moisture through the deeper layers of the skin.

( Update: from 4th december, the lotion now contains four types of hyaluronic acid)

- Control:

I love that it's such a versatile product. You can control the moisture level per use, according to your skin's current needs. Directions recommended using 2 drops, which would offer light hydration suitable for daytime. I typically use 3 - 5 drops of the lotion at night, where 5 drops is the equivalent to the level of a night cream.

It would take longer for it to be fully absorbed into the skin, but a little patience would do the trick. Just keep massaging it into the skin until all of the lotion is absorbed, when skin feels dry.

- The Finish:

No greasy aftermath and unlike some moisturisers, this does not form a transparent layer over the skin as well.

- Absorbs readily into the skin (when 2-3 drops are used)

- Increases absorption of other products ( Similar to the L'Oréal Youth Code pre-essence)

- You get a whooping amount of product: 5.7 fl. oz/ 170 ml for SGD 21.90. One bottle lasts me for more than a year.


This is one of those products that I feel that every woman should know about. It's one that really works great with all skin types. Those with oily skin (like me) would love the lightweight texture whereas those with dry skin would love its deep hydration. It's truly a great product with a great value. I really wouldn't know what I would be doing without it.

To read more about Hyaluronic Acid and products you never even knew had hyaluronic acid, (eg. Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation/Concealor, Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation etc) you can read my post- Everything You Need To Know about Hyaluronic Acid : http://claudlyy.blogspot.com/2014/12/moisture-up-everything-you-need-to-know.html

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


HWL

on 12/10/2014 9:54:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have used this for a year on and off. I was very clogged in summer. I don't blame thus product, but I stopped using it for a while. I just didn't need it in summer. My sunscreebs hydrate. I do have dry skin, but my face clogs easily. It's winter and I use pro retinol and AHA and my skin looked tight. I went back to this and it hydrates so nicely and its so simple. Just keeps water in the skin. My skin is plumper and soft. I really love the feel. I have used it on my hair too to detangler. It will dry skin in some situations, but it has never done that for me. I pat it on wet and let it dry as my first step. It doesn't interfer with active working as far as I can tell. It seems to prepare the skin form the best step. I am using mositurizer as well, but I am careful.


on 11/8/2014 10:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To be honest,I hated the packaging.

I have normal skin,maybe the hydration is too overwhelming for me that's why my skin couldn't absorb it well and always left a sticky layer on my skin,which can be super irritating during summer. The price is there,maybe it works for people with dry skin. For me,I threw the whole bottle away after 3 use,never will I purchase again.


on 10/16/2014 9:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a few years now and up until recently wasn't really won over by it. It never irritated my skin but neither was it super moisturising (before this month, all along I had been relying solely on this and Hada Lab Milk for day time moisture). I bought this recently when I went back to Malaysia and have really come to appreciate its simplicity, efficacy and price! My skin has been so sensitive with the seasonal change that even the Hada Labo milk I normally used after this was causing me to feel itchy. However this I can pat all over, even on my eyes. It's a great skin preparation for the products to come after (I now use a serum and cream from other brands). I'm keen to try other toners however each bottle lasts ages, so I will be happily content for quite a while.


on 10/15/2014 5:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have combination dehydrated skin that is extremely sensitive, a terrible combination which means that I have to be extremely picky with the products I choose. I bought this product a while back believing it would help to moisturise my skin and hopefully clear up my acne. Instead it made me break out over night. Nevertheless, I wasn't sure if it was exactly that product or something else that had caused the pimples to appear, so I kept it in my bathroom cupboard. Now two days ago I decided I would try it again just to be certain, and once again acne has erupted all over my face and neck. I almost cried when I saw myself in the mirror this morning. This is after just two days of use.

I trust that this product is excellent for many skin types, but for some reason it is a complete no-go for me. I wish I knew why.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is really lovely stuff. It actually brought a couple of old milia to the surface of my skin, where I could take them out easily. I use it at night because it has a bit of a sticky finish. My skin seems less irritated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Hada Labo Products

Back to Top