Sebastian • Penetraitt Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.3(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 stephabitch on 5/25/2014 11:04:00 PM more reviews by stephabitch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This salon conditioner is formulated to "repair" or coat/moisturize porous, damaged, color treated hair. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has ever done a bleach process and has porous hair due to that because that would require something with ingredients for repairing. I also wouldn't recommend this to anyone that has heat damage because again, there are better products out there that can both moisturize and repair.
But for someone like me who has normal/thick color treated hair, it's perfect. A great tip for this conditioner to get more bang for your buck (it's 15.99 where I work) is to use it as a deep conditioner in the shower once a week. Also it's excellent for use right after you dye your hair since there are no conditioning agents that will over condition and lead to breakage. Jojoba oil is a great ingredient for smoothing, moisturizing and shine. It really does it all.
My only con (for others, I personally don't care) would be that it contains parabens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Snosand on 6/14/2013 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Snosand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this with the matching shampoo and just wrote a review for the shampoo.
I have about 7 inches that need TLC due to a chemical straightening treatment that went all bad a few months ago. Those ends break easily, are dry and can be really frizzy.

Smell: A light clean scent that is not perfumey. It has such a lovely scent. This really has the best scent. It is not overly strong and no issues for my sensitive nose.

Aside from the scent that is all this conditioner offers. No softness, no frizz control, no moisture, nothing. Instead my hair felt rough and looks frizzy. When I would run my fingers through my hair I felt it snapping.

I'll stick with Joico Moisture Recovery. I thought about trying Sebastian Drench but I'm just not up for it right now. I like to have 2 different shampoos and conditioners to rotate but this might not be in the cards for me until I grow out and cut off the ends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrivals on 12/28/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by deadonarrivals

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this conditioner so much that I can't wait to wash my hair again. I have so many hair issues it is unbelievable. Because I spend a lot of time on it and use a crap load of products to maintain it, many people that think I have nice hair don't realize my struggles. First, I have very damaged hair and this conditioner is specifically for damaged hair. From the 80s and those kinky perms, the early 90's and my frosty platnium highlights to my early 00's pumpkin and copper phase, from curling irons to straighening irons..I can say I fully enforced every single bad thing you can do for your hair. My hair is also so dry that I can go 5 days before I have to wash it! To add to my struggles, I have extremely thick coarse frizzy hair. The salt on the wound is that I also struggle with dandruff and a dry itchy scalp. Because my most annoying issue is dandruff, I have to use an anti-dandruff shampoo but they all leave the hair so dry like straw. So, I spend big bucks searching for the perfect conditioner. I've tried salon brands, drugstore brands and beauty supply only brands. The only conditioner that was as good as this was L'Oreal Elvive Nutri-Gloss conditioner but this made my dandruff and itchy scalp so much worse so I had to stop using it. Penetraitt conditioner is a pretty thick conditioner and it does a great job detangling my long hair. Once I dry my hair w/ a paddle brush and blowdryer as usual, I didn't add any type of product to my hair to see how well this worked. After my hair was dry, I did notice frizziness at the ends and at the shorter layers around my face. Overall, decent repairing qualities for the first time using it. Now, I just add a little bit of serum to my dry hair to smooth out any frizz. What I really love about this product is that my hair stays tangle free and straight throughout the whole day. Also, this conditioner doesn't cause dandruff or irritate my scalp. The only con I can find with this conditioner is the packaging. The bottle doesn't stand up. If you stand it the proper way with the cap facing down, the bottle is too tall and skinny that it tips over. The other side of the bottle has a beveled edge on one side making it impossible to stand. So, it just leans against other bottles in my shower caddy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2000wattsmile on 4/30/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by 2000wattsmile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really surprised at the low ratings for this, but I guess it really comes down to hair type. I chose this over Drench because my hair is chemically treated, which this is formulated for. It detangles extremely well and it smells great. I'm very pleased with this and would re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Taizk on 10/5/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by Taizk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

First Sebastian product I ever used and I'm really disappointed ... It coats my hair and does not "penetrate" enough ... Even if I use a lot of product, it does not moisturize neither untangle my hair.
The consistency of the product itself is thick but for my type of hair (long non-treated thick and coarse asian hair) is a very light conditioner. Definetely won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amsparkles on 9/11/2011 12:37:00 AM more reviews by amsparkles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this conditioner for about 2 years now after a hairstylist recommended it for my damaged hair, and it is the absolute best I have ever used. It is a bit pricey, usually around $15-$18 a bottle, but it does seem to last me a little longer than most conditioners. I was really surprised to see in one of the reviews that they thought it was too light, and not thick enough. This is one of the thickest, creamiest conditioners I've ever used (and I have tried a LOT of products, including very high-end!). It is the only conditioner I've came across that really moisturizes my hair thoroughly and makes it feel so soft. Amazing product! I won't use anything else!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 simplebella on 6/28/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by simplebella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner is really great if your hair is somewhat dry or needs a strong detangler. Some days this works well on my thick but fine hair and other days it's too heavy. Even if I'm careful not to get this near my roots, I still end up with greasy roots by the end of the day. I hate greasy hair. I don't think this is worth the price. I paid about $15 for it. There's better conditioners out there for sure. This is nothing special.

The packaging is annoying to use too. There's a regular flip top cap covered by an exterior plastic cap which must be on in order for the bottle to stand upright in the shower. This cap constantly fills with water and is really frustrating to use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ajb8008 on 5/3/2010 9:23:00 AM more reviews by ajb8008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved the Sebastian Penetraitt shampoo, so I figured this conditioner would be similar.

This conditioner is intended to "fix" dry and unruly hair, but it is an extremely light conditioner. I have somewhat fine and very dry hair (from excessive bleaching), so it just wasn't heavy enough for me. I ended up giving it to my boyfriend to use, and it worked better for him. (even though he doesn't normally use conditioner). I think it would work well for people with normal, thick hair who just need a light conditioner.

I wanted to love this product, but unfortunately it just didn't live up to its claim. Add more moisturizing and detangling properties!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliet7781 on 4/19/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by Juliet7781

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This conditioner is ok, but nothing special and a little drying. I much prefer Drench. My hair is coarse/thick/damaged. When applying the product to my hair it does not feel silky. However, when rinsing out my hair does feel nice. After drying though it does not feel very moisturized.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Sebastian products

More Conditioner products