Silk Naturals • Apricot Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 3.5(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xcakexfacex2 on 7/4/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by xcakexfacex2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using and loving dermalogica precleanse for sooo long. But I felt I had to use that 2x followed by a cleanser to really get off my foundation.
I used the SN oil once followed by a gentle cleanser. Then I patted my face dry and wiped my face with a wet cotton ball. Absolutely NO makeup!!! Very, very impressed.

So, I massaged the oil into my DRY face for about a full minute. Then I massaged it in with water for about a minute to emulsify. I DID use a washcloth after I emulsified the oil to wipe it off. Then I rinsed my face with water and followed with cleanser with my wet face. I did the exact same with the precleanse, though (except I used and emulsified the oil twice), and I got a cleaner face with the SN oil used once.

I wear liquid foundation so it's pretty heavy and stubborn. I also used this to take off my shadow and mascara (non waterproof). Perfectly clean :)
My face felt softer this morning too? Fantastic! Will update for sure if any changes :)

The company is fantastic too. Very very fast shipping. It's always wrapped cute in tissue, the cap is sealed with tape and placed in a bag so no leaks, and you get free eyeshadow

Love, love, love this stuff and silk naturals!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brownclown on 3/12/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by brownclown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I ordered this along with the Microdermabrasion Gel the day after receiving and trying my samples from my most recent Silk Naturals order. Mineral make-up is not my thing, and I usually lean toward more high end or middle of the road products - Biologique Recherche, Aesop, Kahina, Shu Uemura, Kiehls, Bioderma, etc., but SN.s Super Defense Serum is a staple for me (comes very close to P50) and I like to try Karen's samples just for fun and have seldom been disappointed, though rarely moved to purchase anything either.
Lately my normally acne free but easily clogged/open pored skin has been weird. Several plane trips, an abnormal amount of stress, casting off my Clarisonic and making some poor dietary choices have left me congested over all and with several small blemishes plus some flaking and redness. Enough to make me obsessively research foundations, sort of giving up on clearing it instead of looking for a solution. Since I already use great products that I know have always been effective for me, I thought maybe I was finished being clear:(
I decided to try the cleansing oil because I wear waterproof mascara and have been wearing more concealer and foundation than ever before, and thought I might try something less expensive than the SU oil since it's not exactly rocking my world lately, obviously. The SN version was pleasantly effective and free of fragrance, emulsified very easily and left no noticeable residue. My Diorshow Iconic Waterproof, Guerlain Gel Eyeliner (HG), Chantecaille Future Skin and MUFE HD powder all melted - a quick swipe of Bioderma Crealine followed by witch hazel and P50 confirmed it.
This is one of the lightest and undoubtedly the most inexpensive COs I have ever used, and I really enjoy using it. The packaging is meh - like all SN. Yes, I know it's to keep prices low, but I like things that look good on my bathroom shelf - so sue me. It's okay, since I keep this in the shower for post work-out facial cleaning and it works like a charm. I'll probably continue to repurchase, unless my shallowness gets the better of me and I need a new pretty bottle...:)
My skin is slowly improving (possibly attributed to several lifestyle changes and not just this new product), so I am hopeful the foundation can become optional again soon. Since I am oily/clog prone I always follow this with another mild cleanser, but it might not really be required - I'm just too spooked to find out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wagashi on 4/7/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by wagashi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I had the same problem as the reviewer below. The first bottle of this I got was great. I usually use Japanese oil cleansers, which tend to be expensive when you buy them in the States. This one had just as much product for half the price. The consistency was great, it washed off easily, yahoo! However, when I reordered, the second bottle I received was much heavier, required more rinsing, and didn't remove makeup as well. :/ If the product were to go back to the original consistency, I would consider buying it again. I hope what I got was just a bad batch!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kmclallen on 10/1/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by kmclallen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have used DHC olive oil cleanser for years. I never thought I would find anything as effective for taking off make up, it does dry my skin but it was a keeper. I now use Silk Naturals Apricot Cleansing Oil.

OMG! this product works just as great for taking off make up, but it also leaves my skin hydrated and sooo soft! I always wash my face with a very gental cleanser along with an oil cleanser (my thing) but I will never be without this product, it is fantastic. This product is also less than 1/2 the price... sooo HG all the way!!
UPDATE: I received the second batch of APO and the consistency was much heavier -- I put it in my face and my eyes started to burn like crazy. They burned so much I thought I was going to have to go somewhere, I couldn't see it was awful. Thinking this couldn't be I tried it again - same thing happened. I'm thinking the company either didn't mix it right or forgot an ingridient but I can't take a chance again I need to see -- sticking to my DHC cleansing oil -- never had a problem, its much more expensive but right now its worth it --

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 9/29/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is generally a good cleansing oil for when I wear a BB cream and some powder, but not my favorite for removing mascara or any of my long-wear foundations. I always cleanse afterward with my Clarisonic and this left makeup residue on the brush head. The other ones I have used (Josie Maran, MAC and Boscia) never did that. I am almost done with this bottle so I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnybee on 6/29/2012 5:45:00 PM more reviews by bunnybee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This does not remove my waterproof eye makeup nearly as well as my (cheaper) homemade grapeseed oil/castor oil concoction, and worst of all, it made my eyes sting even long after it had been washed off. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 readerly on 6/24/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by readerly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is quite nice for an oil cleanser. You do need to use it properly, like all oil cleansers. I would recommend massaging it in for *at least* a full minute, then massaging it a bit more after you add water to your face. With that technique, this removes even my stubborn Shiseido sunscreen. I usually follow oil cleansers with a second very gentle cleanser, but with this one it isn't entirely necessary. It rinses very clean.

On my dry-to-very-dry skin it is just too drying, though. Not as drying as the DHC cleansing oil, but still drying. I blame this on the grape seed oil, which can be astringent. If you can use that in other cleansers, you would probably like this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fromstarstuff on 12/5/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by fromstarstuff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cleanser. I have very large pores on my nose, and it's very easy to unclog them by using this oil. It's so good for it that I would continue to buy it just to use on my nose when I need to extract blackheads. It's a great cleanser as well. I use it once daily (at night), whether I've worn makeup or not. It's pretty thick, so I end up needing to add a splash of water to the oil before I can use it, and the amount of water varies on whether or not I'm wearing makeup. However, it rinses clean and takes all of my makeup with it.

I was pretty skeptical that it would be a good eye makeup remover. I figured I would end up just smearing it all over my face. The oil breaks the makeup down quickly, and a fast rinse with water is all it takes to get everything off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silverwing on 8/8/2011 7:48:00 PM more reviews by silverwing

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser. I use this in the evenings. It removes most if not all of my makeup. I stuggled for a long time to find a cleanser that would get rid of the makeup and not break me out. And since I started using this my skin has stayed mostly clear. I am on my second bottle of this cleanser.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KingTaco on 4/11/2011 12:24:00 AM more reviews by KingTaco

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had high hopes for this product, but it failed to remove mascara and a sweep of toner afterward showed that foundation stayed behind too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Silk Naturals products

More Cleansers products