Clinique • Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.7(333 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 crobertson01 on 2/22/2015 3:54:00 PM more reviews by crobertson01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because a woman at Sephora suggested it when I told her I struggle with acne, but like to use foundation to cover it up. It goes on pretty well with a brush, and stays in place all day without creasing or caking. And it hasn't made my acne flare up. But my issue with this foundation is the color selection! I bought this in 01 Fresh Alabaster, and it's still just a hint too dark for my complexion. Le sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 2/17/2015 4:45:00 AM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the successor to an older Clinique foundation Clarifying Makeup Clear Skin Formula, which I used religiously for 2 years in high school to clear up pubescent acne. The new formula is more lightweight.

I purchased this about a year ago to combat stress acne due to pregnancy hormones and high-intensity work environment at the time. I continue to swap it into my regimen whenever I have an acne flare-up, even to the day this review was written. I used this in combination with Neutrogena's Acne Stress Control Triple-Action Toner and Clinique's Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel daily and nightly for the duration of the break out. I'd like to say that this set of 3 products has been effective at controlling all my break outs over the course of a week, for a full year. However, it's possible that the break out ran its course on its own too. Either way, none of these products have worsened my acne when I do have it, so I gladly continue it this alternative routine.

I was matched to 02 Fresh Alabaster, the second lightest shade in this foundation line, which was a surprise because I normally tend to be 4 or 5 shades darker than the lightest of typical foundation shades, but this was a good match for my skin, which pales out to around NC20 in MAC Fluid Fix. Given that I am medium-fair in tone, this foundation's lightest shade might still be too dark for especially pale skin tones.

The foundation itself contains 2% salycylic acid and is oil-free, and has a liquidy cream consistency. It dries down to a matte finish when applied, and has medium, natural-looking, buildable coverage. Overtime though, and/or with too many layers of foundation, this can start to feel drying, cakey, or heavy, so an oil-free moisturizer is a must prior to applying this to prevent the foundation from settling and drying out the skin. I do not know how this performs over a primer--I felt that a primer is just an extra barrier keeping the salycylic acid benefits of this foundation from penetrating the skin, so I always applied this directly to the skin (or after sunscreen, if I was going to be in the sun) after moisturizing.

I have tried other acne-targeting foundations, such as Neutrogena's SkinClearing Makeup (very poor coverage and no staying power, $12 per bottle) and e.l.f.'s Acne Fighting Foundation (lightest shade Porcelain was too light 2nd lightest shade Buff is too dark; $3 per bottle but not a good variety of shades even thought the formula feels like this Clinique one). The Acne Solutions Makeup bottle goes for $27 but it reduces the hassle of the shade-matching and coverage-building while doing the same as these aforementioned foundations.

Just as its predecessor Clinique Clarifying Makeup was my go-to for acneic skin, Acne Solutions Makeup still holds the "top acne foundation" title in my book for having the best coverage and staying power (6hrs+ before oil seeps through w/o powder, 8hrs w/ powder), the widest variety of shades, no discernible fragrance or particularly comedogenic ingredients, and might actually be responsible for effectively controlling acne over the long term--considering I've used the old formula for 2 years straight and this newer formula for the past year, with good results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sweetdee5656 on 2/12/2015 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Sweetdee5656

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't yet found my HG foundation, but this is definitely my fallback. Decent coverage, I still need concealer and a setting powder, and it keeps my skin clear. Love, but not in love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leeleenewin on 1/2/2015 9:55:00 PM more reviews by leeleenewin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Right now, I am battling some acne, so I wanted to try a liquid foundation that would not make my face worse. This foundation didn't break me out .. and that is the only reason why I am giving it a 2. This product is buildable and I think looks best when applied with a make-up sponge. When I wear it, it doesn't feel like I have make-up on; the product doesn't feel sticky. Initially, this foundation gave me an even tone and covered up all the acne scars...

However, this foundation is not long lasting, and because of the salicylic acid, the skin around my pimples were visibly dry and patchy after a couple of hours. Even with a ton of moisturizer and primer, I couldn't prevent this. If I tried to touch up the foundation, it just looked bad and my face just looked dry. I really want to love this foundation because it might be the only liquid foundation I've tried that doesn't break me out, but I cannot stand that it dries out my skin. I haven't used this foundation with a concealer yet, but right now, I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Monia123 on 12/12/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Monia123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation when my acne was flaring up again thinking it would help. HOWEVER, it did exactly the opposite. I wore it a couple times and it made my face feel dry and itchy. When I took the make up off, not only did I notice more pimples, but they were red, itchy, cystic pimples. Not only that, this foundation dried my face out to the point of it feeling like sand paper. That says a lot since I have oily skin. Never again will I get this, and I would not recommend this for people who have sensitive acne prone skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purvisme2 on 12/9/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by purvisme2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This, along with a salicylic acid primer (CoverFX), helped to clear up my acne. It also covered existing blemishes and old scars flawlessly! I rarely needed concealer with this. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 lippies is because it dried my skin out after my acne was gone. It cleared it up in two weeks!! so I have a lot left. I have continued to use the primer as it doesn't dry me out at all. I use various RX creams on my face that are notorious for drying and they don't even dry me out. I wanted to use this forever for how well it worked on my scarring! But alas, a flakey nose and forehead just aren't my thing. Even over quality moisturizer (always moisturize first!), it managed to get me flakey. BUT if you have active acne it is worth a try and every penny! When I had active acne it never made me dry. I will make sure to always have this on hand in case my acne acts up again. The shade alabaster works perfectly on my uber fair skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BPpinkie88 on 10/29/2014 3:40:00 AM more reviews by BPpinkie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!

This foundation is my holy-grail foundation!! It is very difficult to find a foundation that does not clog my pores. This foundation is great for my acne-prone skin, it keeps my oil at bay and prevents my face from getting too greasy by the end of the day which helps prevents any acne from forming. When my skin gets a bit more dry, I use a tiny bit of moisturizer underneath.

Feels very light & airy as if you have no makeup on. Very natural finish while providing a medium level of coverage (which is perfect because other foundations that have heavy coverage typically end up looking like you're wearing too much makeup).

I use the color 02 - and it is perfect for my gold undertoned skin. For powder, I use MAC mineralized skinfinish powder in medium golden - and it goes very nicely over this Clinique foundation.


This foundation is PERFECT for everyday use, for pictures, for anything - really allows my skin to "breathe" - is not heavy at all and it truly does not cause breakouts or clog pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LushLuke10 on 9/16/2014 9:43:00 AM more reviews by LushLuke10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this one of my favourite foundations, makes angry red bumps near vanished while helping it head conceal and treat. All was have some for when I tan aswel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Makeupjunkie62 on 9/8/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Makeupjunkie62

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start off by saying everyone has different skin and will therefore have different reactions with foundations. Just because I hate this foundation with all my soul, doesn't mean you will! I have extremely sensitive skin and allergic reactions are quite a common part of my life. I also have moderate acne (thank you hormones!) That being said, this foundation was certainly not for me. There are 9 shades of this foundation. I found one pretty close to my skin tone, but it wasn't exact. With 9 shades, not everyone will find a perfect match. The coverage was okay, mediocre.. You could still see hyper pigmentation from my acne scars unless I put a lot a LOT of this foundation on. It was also not super blend-able. When applying this foundation, you have to blend it in very quickly or it can look streaky. Because I had to put a lot on for coverage, it ended up looking slightly cakey. This is not a cheap foundation, but I'm willing to spend money for a foundation that works well. This one did not. The worst part of this foundation is it broke me out like crazy. I've gotten 7 "under the skin" pimples in less than two weeks. I normally get one pimple under the skin every few months.. I also started getting pimples in places I don't break out in. I had acne before this, but this definitely made it significantly worse unfortunately. This product also contains sodium chloride, which is rated a 5 on the comedogenic scale. Funny, because this is supposed to be geared towards those suffering with acne. Not only that, but this made my skin itch so badly and I would get tiny itchy bumps that would inflame into pimples. I really don't recommend this product to those with sensitive skin or acne. But, like I said, what doesn't work for me MAY work for you (or vise versa). Good luck!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elaine1390 on 9/4/2014 12:51:00 AM more reviews by elaine1390

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hate this foundation. Let me tell you why... well I have sensitive acne-prone oily skin. I was using urban decays naked foundation (which I loved, until it was starting to break me out bad && I havent had an outbreak in years :(....so I had to find a new foundation and I thought id give clinique a try since its suppose to be "the safest for your skin". So the next day I put on the foundation and it looked okay. Felt a bit dry though... anyways I go to college so im in the sun all day by the afternoon this makeup sweated off my t-zone area and started clumping around my pores ughhh.. it looked like a mess :(. Long story short... dont get this foundation if you work or go to school all day because its goin to melt off and clump away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products