Revlon • PhotoReady Powder - Fair/Light • Pressed Powders

rated 3.1(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 amychh on 9/30/2014 10:28:00 AM more reviews by amychh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my favorite powder for the last couple of years. I have dry skin and use a thick soft brush to set my liquid foundation with this powder. It doesn't catch on my dry patches unless I go overboard and put to much on.
Although it has sparkles in the powder, I honestly can't notice it on my skin.
The only negatives are that the packaging is bulky and that the powder will crack dropped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pinklips12 on 8/31/2014 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Pinklips12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Love this powder. I have combination skin with some dehydrated patches around the cheek area. I blot around my nose once a day when i get too oily depending on what moisturiser Ive used. I use the fair/light powder in winter and the med/deep in summer, matches my skin colouring perfectly. I find it gives a light to medium coverage and feels and looks like you've got nothing on, it allows your skin to breath. I usually don't wear it with foundation, if I do or wear it with tinted moisturiser it looks flawless. Overall, it's a good buy for the price. I always wait for it to go on sale to stock up as I go through a powder every 2 months and have given up on expensive brands.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 4nonymousaurus on 12/28/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by 4nonymousaurus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

You're walking on eggshells, Revlon. I literally just got done writing a review on your "reformulated" colorstay foundation. I looked up reviews on this powder to see if anyone else had the same horrible results that I did, and it reminded me how much I hate the new revlon colorstay foundation formula.

Anyway, onto the photoready powder: I bought this quite a few months ago, and when I used it, I had terrible results. I stowed this atrocity away in my caboodle until just a week ago. I found it hiding the the darkest recesses of my makeup collection, totally forgetting why I stopped using it in the first place. I should have tossed it in the trash, but I decided I'd remind myself why I didn't like it to begin with.

Before I delve too deep in negativity on this product, I'd like to discuss the few good qualities I found it to have : It's coverage is alright, and the lightest shade is extremely pale to match my skin tone. That's all.

Negativity... BEGIN:

- SPARKLES. Freaking. Sparkles. WHO THOUGHT IT'D BE A GOOD IDEA TO ADD SPARKLES TO THIS POWDER. If I wanted my face to be sparkly, I'd get glitter and smear it on my face. I should have expected sparkles, judging from the photoready liquid foundation, so I won't complain much more about it, and I won't give a bad review based on such a trivial thing. Besides, when done right, slight shimmer added in a face product can look gorgeous!

- I noticed this powder applied in terribly cakey patches when I used my powder brush, so I tried using a sponge applicator to put it on. It fixed the patchiness, but not the cakiness! Ugh.

- It seeped into creases on my face I didn't even know I HAD. I looked like a cakey, wrinkly mess after I applied this. I'm 21. NOT 40--the age I looked after applying this powder. I looked so OLD and gross with this on.

- This powder only kept my combination skin oil-free for 2 hours tops. But that's okay, I don't think this product ever claimed to keep me shine-free.

- When I tried to reapply to the oily bits of my face, it looked even cakier than it did initially! So awful! Also, this powder made my foundation crease around my nose in a weird way that it has never done before. The powder is so cakey, I can't even correct around my nose with concealer or it merges with it and makes a strange putty patch.

Even after encountering all these problems, I STILL tried giving the product a chance. I thought that maybe it was my foundation that was causing the powder to act up like this. So, I dedicated this entire week to trying the revlon photoready powder with EVERY foundation I own. Same results. Every time.

And here I sit--cakey, oily face and all--after a 7th day of an embarrasingly-nasty-face for 9 hours at work. This powder sucks, and I hate it. With a passion. I gave this powder several chances--maybe too many--to prove itself a decent product. It failed every time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Xxcassx on 11/29/2013 8:43:00 PM more reviews by Xxcassx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited to buy this. I saw lots of youtubers say it's a good powder. I paid $21 for it which isn't worth it. It's good for a few hours then it looks cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sailornibiru on 10/13/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by sailornibiru

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was really disappointing for the price. I like the packaging and the brush, although, I usually use my own brush anyway. The powder itself is cakey and settles into fine lines. I'm only 25 and I feel like I look older wearing it. The coverage is alright but it's definitely apparent you're wearing powder. It's very sparkly as well. I wish I'd read reviews before buying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ambam032 on 9/9/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Ambam032

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This seems to be one of the better drugstore pressed powders that I've tried in recent years. I mainly use it to set my makeup around my eyes. I like that it isn't really chalky. It has a more natural finish. The packaging is pretty cheap, the hinge broke within a few weeks. The brush is a throw-away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Muriel on 6/10/2013 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Muriel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I loved the finish and the shade was great for me...but something in this caused my skin to feel 'itchy'. Bummer.
Just as well as I've been on the fence with Revlon lately - they can't seem to give me a straight-forward answer on their animal-testing policy and I've decided to forgo all Revlon products due to that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautifulConverse on 3/17/2013 11:56:00 AM more reviews by BeautifulConverse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. I'm not saying its a miracle product, but it gets the job done. I usually only wear a light/medium coverage powder and concealer in places where I need coverage because I hate the feeling of wearing foundation everyday. My skin isn't perfect but isn't horrible either. I have redness, the occasional pimples, and I usually get cakey around my nose area because that's where most of my redness is. I use this to lightly even out my complexion, it works fairly well. Although there is shimmer, its not detectable on the skin. When I wear glasses, it makes my nose feel oily after a few hours. As for the color match, it matches fairly well. In the winter, I'm as white as it gets to be honest, so finding a light enough powder for me can be hard. It's pretty pricey for a drugstore powder and I've used better drugstore powders for a cheaper price. The packaging isn't bad, the little brush that comes with it is so useless but I use my own brush anyway. I don't think I'd repurchase this but it isn't a bad product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OSusanna on 1/26/2013 5:14:00 PM more reviews by OSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Excellent portable setting powder. I can't see the shimmers when I use this on over a traditional foundation so I don't have a problem with any shine. I have dry skin and this sets whatever makeup I'm using whether that be a traditional liquid or cream foundation or just my sunscreen plus it adds just a bit of coverage. I do not use this over the Photoready liquid foundation that I have because that would then be double duty of shimmers and I have seen that effect and I don't like it. The finish reminds me of the Guerlain Meteorite balls in Mythic that I used up a couple of years ago. This is a fraction of that cost and just as effective in my opinion. I don't carry this with me as a touch up powder so I can't really attest to its use for that. Simple, cheap and effective for the dry skinned ladies as a setting powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 1/17/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Revlon's PHOTOREADY powder seems to melt seamlessly into my skin, with a colour that matches my fair skintone. The powder applies evenly, and it is easy to build up the product for a light/medium natural looking coverage; the finished look is mostly matt, but it still seems to have a slight glow to it. The coverage is so good that I don't need foundation under this, just a little dab of concealer on any blemishes.


The PHOTOREADY powder is meant to contain the same reflective pigments that the foundation does, but, unlike the foundation, I can't see any hints of the 'sparkle'. PHOTOREADY powder feels so lightweight; I feel like I'm not wearing any make up. I do have very dry and sensitive skin, but I've not experienced any dry patches or caking, I've also not experienced that tightness and itchy feeling, which a lot of other products have given me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Pressed Powders products