Chanel • CONTOUR SHADOW BRUSH #12 • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.9(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 2/27/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a makeup artist this is one of my all time favorite brushes. It is a quality made product that does an amazing job contouring your makeup job. I switch off between this and MAC's contouring brush. I find Chanel's brush to be a bit more gentle and soft on the skin which is very important since it's around the eye area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nailpolishdebby on 2/15/2012 5:37:00 PM more reviews by nailpolishdebby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My first HE brushes were MAC.Are they good?Yes. Are they the best? In my opinion, I would say that title goes to Chanel. The weight,quality and feel of the bristles of the #12 far surpass those of the MAC 224. You will not feel it scratching your lid or get uneven application from the #12 like you do with the 224. Even after several cleanings,the brush stays soft and keeps its shape.If you can still find any of the now discontinued Chanel brushes in Dept Stores,get them.They are SO worth it and in the long run,will save you money from all the years of use you will get out of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lpp23 on 4/19/2011 11:05:00 AM more reviews by lpp23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this brush since I've been wear makeup (a long time!) and I absolutely love this brush!

It's extremely easy to use to get a smokey eye effect or for every day use to line eyes. I use it to line my eyes with black powder daily...I have sensitive eyes (and wear contacts) so I'm very careful about what I use on my eyes. This brush has never once been rough on my eyes, which I love!

Worth the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sammin on 3/10/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by sammin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

After a disappointing experience with the popular MAC #224, I am happy to have found a brush that does all I had expected the 224 to do and even more besides. The most obvious difference between the two brushes is that the Chanel #12 is made of higher quality hair. The bristles are soft on the skin, yet hold their shape very well. This brush is able to diffuse and blend colour without any loss in precision, which the 224 is simply not able to do. Precision in blending is crucial for those with a smaller lid space, and the Chanel #12 makes it easy to do that. I see this as a less stiff, more precise version of the MAC 222. In fact, I apply crease and contour colour with the 222, and blend with the #12. Highly recommended, and quite affordable on ebay. Given the general lack of familiarity with Chanel makeup brushes, fakes are hard to find (I haven't found any, based on the ebay auctions I looked at). Mine is 100% authentic, and I didn't have to break the bank at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hyperfila on 7/5/2010 12:45:00 PM more reviews by hyperfila

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this brush, does wonders for making my eyes dark and smokey. Apply very well and goes on smooth. Chanel brushes last for a very very long time. Worth the investment. I tried so many brushes out there, Chanel brushes are one of the best out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 2/2/2010 8:05:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PRO: It is the best blender I've ever used. (Weird they call it a contour brush and not blender. But on their website, they say it is for blending. Who knows??) Anyway, I like that it came in a little case. Even though it's just a soft pouch, it's better than what most companies give, which is no protection.


CONS: A bit soft for application. I like it better for blending. Expensive, but not that expensive for Chanel. (It was actually a Bobbi Brown sales associate who swore by this brush and used it on me. It is one of those items that actually is worth spending a little more money on and has lasted forever.)


ALTERNATES: For a soft application and vague definition line, I like MAC 213 blending brush. For somewhat more specific (and not as vague) application, I prefer Revlon All Over Shadow Brush or even better, MAC 217 Shader Brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauraBraunstein on 1/27/2009 1:03:00 AM more reviews by LauraBraunstein

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This brush is the best that I have ever used for blending. I find it to be a little too soft for heavy contouring, but it definitely is great for a lighter smoother look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CutiePie12 on 6/8/2008 11:10:00 PM more reviews by CutiePie12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Best crease brush ever! I love using this for blending. It is also great for use with MAC's Solar Bits. It applies them with minimal fallout. The brush is soft and the perfect size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misschameleon on 10/23/2007 4:55:00 AM more reviews by misschameleon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this brush. It creates a beautiful crease - soft, doe-eyed effect. This applies softer than #3. If you're after the smoky-eyed look, would highly recommend using this brush and #3 to create the perfect smoky-eyed look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hayeda on 7/20/2006 1:18:00 PM more reviews by hayeda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This one has a long and fluffy hairs so I find it hard to manipulate. It is way too soft to effectively apply shadow to where you want. If you want intense color application, you need a firmer and shorter brush. I would much prefer no 3. Update: I am slowly beginning to find better uses for this brush. It is very suitable when you want to have a very subtle crease shadow. Distributes color very lightly.


5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Makeup Brushes products