Essie • Tart Deco • Polishes

rated 2.9(127 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 evitara22 on 7/11/2014 7:42:00 AM more reviews by evitara22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This colour is my fave!! It is like a bright pastel, so nice when you have tanned hands :-) In contrast some other reviewers I haven't experienced any trouble applying the polish. Two layers and a top coat last days and days! I'm wearing it for several weeks now and I get so many compliments!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alyssabell1147 on 7/5/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by alyssabell1147

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nice color, but the formula is awful. My mother and I both tried to apply it and it was both thick and gloppy. Incredibly streaky. Very unlike most any other shade I've tried. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trishhh12 on 6/29/2014 9:08:00 PM more reviews by trishhh12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful color, I'd describe it as a coral-almost-neon. Opaque streak-free creme in three coats (two if you're not such a stickler but I found it still a wee bit streaky). Great color for summer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ferndarlin on 5/20/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by ferndarlin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this colour! True, it does dry a little garish but it still comes up beautiful, like a neon peachy pastel orange. The texture is very thin but it applied evenly and easily, and looked great with two coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deusex on 5/6/2014 6:29:00 AM more reviews by deusex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

A little thin in the formula, but the color is really nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 slc95815 on 4/26/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by slc95815

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really like Essie polishes but Tart Deco was horrible. I loved the color in the bottle, but it dried to a bright orange instead of the medium coral I was expecting. It went on very streaky and took two coats on most nails and three on a couple others. This was applied by my nail technician during my manicure/pedicure. It is a great pedicure color but way too bright for me to wear in meeting at work. My search for soft-medium coral continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jencypark on 3/20/2014 1:30:00 AM more reviews by jencypark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought this during the summer and I thought the polish looked quite unflattering on my tan yellow hands so I stopped using it after that. Recently I've been using it couple more times. What I found is that the color looks better on the toes. And it looks better on fairer skin. I would describe the color as warm salmon pink.

First coat can be streaky but by second coat I find it to look great. The formula isn't perfect...but it's been pretty good for me. Drying time is not too long as long as I put a good top coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatieRamey on 2/18/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by KatieRamey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge fan of essie, and orange just happens to be my favorite color! I was surprised that this dried to be much brighter than in the bottle . The end result is nice, and I love it, but I wish it stayed the same color as in the bottle.

The formula is thin, and fully opaque in 2 coats (for me anyway) One coat left it looking streaky. I like the small brush, as I have very small nail beds.

I have this on as my current mani with essie no chips ahead top coat, and so far so good! No chipping, or peeling!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 12/12/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This dries to become a lot brighter and a lot more orange than it appears in the bottle, but I still like it, especially for toes. What can I say, I'm a sucker for bright pastels. The only thing I don't like about this polish is the same thing I don't like about all Essies: the horrifically streaky formula and the teeny tiny little brush that make them a nightmare to apply!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ShawTee843 on 12/6/2013 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ShawTee843

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is hands down the WORST nail polish I've ever owned. I so regret buying it. I adore Essie's range of colors and cute little bottles, but that's about where it ends. The formula is clumpy, streaky, and quite frankly, a pain in the ass. I'm no novice when it comes to painting my nails and I really struggled with this. The brush is soo thin which only exacerbates the streaky, clumpy, and patchy application. It's just makes it 100x harder to get an even, smooth coat.. And applying two coats doesn't help whatsoever. I can't believe I paid almost $10 for this little bottle. I've used it twice.. Only on my toes (fingers were impossible) bc it's a smaller surface area and farther away do mistakes aren't as noticeable and I do love the color, but the last time I tried to do my toes with this one again, it was soo dried out and thick that it's completely worthless already! I store and close my nail polishes tightly so there is no excuse for this. Save your money ladies. I bought this one and "Mint Candy Apple" in the summertime bc the colors are lovely and everyone was obsessing over these polishes, but Essie (in my opinion) turned out to be another overrated brand that definitely doesn't live up to the hype. "Mint Candy Apple" was just as bad... Maybe not as clumpy as "Tart Deco", but just as streaky. There are much better brands out there, and many at a much better price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products