MAC • Velvet - Vanilla • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(240 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 creamdeviolet on 12/28/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by creamdeviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE the color, the pigmentation sucks :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leeopeth444 on 11/13/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Leeopeth444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love it!!!! One of my first mac eyeshadows! Blends great and great for the crease or to make an eyeshadow more bright. I first heard about it when I saw an Arwen makeup tutorial but thought it was too pricy and months later I purchesed the mac pro palette and bought 4 eyeshadows and this was the 5th one (this one and shadowy lady).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrszombabe on 7/28/2013 8:33:00 PM more reviews by mrszombabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first got this I wasn't overly impressed, I didn't find it pigmented enough for my liking. But, after some wear and regular use it seems it has gotten a lot better!

Now, i find this color a must have to my collection. It is a perfect brow highlight, and works well when placed on the lid if you use some browns in the crease ( vanilla on the lid, and soft brown and corduroy blended in the crease is my favorite at the moment )

I find it pretty easy to work with, it blends well and isn't super chalky. I highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 6/25/2013 8:46:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love MAC Vanilla. It is super basic, not shimmery, and is great for a basic brow highlight and also for an all over base. It is smooth and blends well with other shadows. It doesn't scream WHITE, it is a muted white that is beautiful. I've bought this two times and it lasts forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShwetaDewan on 6/18/2013 4:56:00 AM more reviews by ShwetaDewan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product as a brow highlighter and i love it because it's a basic day wear matt highlighter with no screaming shimmer nonsense. Very subtle and basic and perfect for work.

However, for a night out, i replace this with Nylon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IamJasmine on 6/4/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by IamJasmine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a really good highlight color. Mine has good color payoff! I love how it's mostly matte with a couple pieces of sheen, it's gorgeous! Definitely a good purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jewelmeow on 6/3/2013 6:24:00 AM more reviews by jewelmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i have been hunting for the perfect matte white shadow and I HAVE FOUND IT!!! unlike other matte white shadows that i own, Vanilla has a lovely texture, is not chalky and the subtle hint of shimmer makes the color pop instead of making my eyes appear bland like other matte white shadows do, even though it still appears matte on my eyes! i love using this on my inner corners and brow bone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 3/24/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

There's not much to be said about this blandly made eyeshadow from MAC. It is both lackluster in finish and performance.
At NC15-20, I assumed this would be a good highlight, but the product drags across the skin no matter the brush in my opinion. (My skin does go rather dry, even with assortments of primers on the lids inclusive of TSFI, UD, Nars, MAC PP.)

I found similar shades from Shu Uemura that glide on better, or even MAC's Blanc Type. I'm not sure what it is about Vanilla (Perhaps it's satin finish) but it does leave a lot to be desired.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/21/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

HG HIGHLIGHT!!! I am a NC15 and it is PERFECT for highlighting and blending out the crease! Let me just say that I do not like shimmer in my highlights and although it appears to have a tiny amount of sparkle in the pan, it applies matte. I don't know why a lot of the reviews say that vanilla is lacking in pigmentation... I find mine to be highly pigmented. I have recently made a "Guide to MAC Highlight Eyeshadows" if you would like to check it out!


http://www.eyeshadowaddictsanonymous.com/2013/02/a-guide-to-mac-highlight-colors.html

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/15/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning by a bottle).

Was not impressed. This is a "meh" shadow. Was looking for a very subtle, every day highlighting shadow. This seems to have chalky texture and so-so pigmentation. For some reason, it also seems to make my dark circles stand out more. Not sure what the deal on that is. Throwing in my swap pile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products