Unlisted Brand • Melvita - Argan Oil • Skincare - Body

rated 4.4(7 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippodeem on 1/17/2013 4:13:00 AM more reviews by hippodeem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

great oil, absorb very well. i think it is good for scarring and has good nutrient, it doesnt smell anything which is great. its good for normal to oily skin type, my skin is too dry and this is not enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kushqueen on 7/24/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by kushqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using Argan oil about 2-3 months ago, and i dont think i'll ever stop. I have medium-dark skin, with a fairly oily t-zone, comfortable cheeks and a monthly breakout. My skin has improved with the use of argan oil, especially my acne scars. I have also found that argan oil has helped speed up the healing process after a breakout has occurred. I use argan oil on my cheeks after washing in the morning (i think it adds a healthy glow) and i use argan oil all over my face at night, usually in replacement of a serum. I know argan oil has helped my skin because i recently just ran out and my scars have been more noticeable, as well as a new scar is healing alot slower than before when i was using argan oil everyday. If you want to try argan oil, do not go and spend $50 on a bottle of Josie Maran. I bought a regular argan oil (no brand name) from ebay and have had amazing results. Argan oil is also great for your hair. I havent used it in shampoo yet (i use a drop of castor oil instead), but i do put a tiny drop in my palms and run it through the ends of my hair before styling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bpgbpg78 on 7/12/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by bpgbpg78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love argan oil. i started using it a couple years ago as my only moisturizer and will never go back. it's simple, clean, effective and does not make me break out. i have sensitive, acne prone skin that can get dry or have strange reactions to various moisturizers.
(in fact, i tested an old moisturizer i used to use ages ago (an organic, unscented one) after using argan for a year or so and it was awful. felt awful, didn't seem to really moisturize and made my skin go dry and flakey. would never go back to a "cream" again or anything "oil free.")
i get all types of acne in phases that i can't ever quite figure out. but argan has been a steady companion and i don't believe it causes any of my skin issues, only helps. it also doesn't react to any other treatments or make up which is really helpful. argan is the best thing i have found to keep my skin soft but not greasy. it's pricey but i literally use 2 drops in the morning and 2 drops at night. a bottle lasts ages.
as for this brand, it's ok. i find it a bit more "oily" than other brands for some reason. but it doesn't seem to act any differently so it's not a big deal.
the main problem for me is that the oil seems to creep up the tube in warm weather and leak...! i have no idea how this happens, but i noticed it on several occasions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andreacaracortada on 6/11/2012 2:53:00 PM more reviews by andreacaracortada

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

A great, amazing oil. It moisturises body very well, providing excellent hydration and leaving it baby soft. Even though it is an oil, it absorbs EASILY, leaving no traces, so you can get dressed fast. I really love it and it is one of my favourite products from Melvita. It does smell like olive, but I find that Argan oil generally smells like that. A must buy for me all year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 11/9/2011 12:41:00 PM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE (2013-07): not used in ages, and to be honest, not missed it. Been using meadowfoam seed oil on face and (virgin) coconut oil on hair (on dry hair, left on for 1 hour before regular wash & condition). Both are cheaper, and work at least as But: definitely one (of the many, many, many) plant-derived oils that are worth trying: YMMV as ever; many like it; who knows, you might be another.

Yes, argan oil is fashionable and faddy. It's an oil. It'll moisturise. As with all oils, and anything else, YMMV. A lightweight oil, light yellow-gold colour with a slight earthy smell. Similar viscosity, texture, fluidity, feel to oils like sunflower or mineral; not as light or dry as grapeseed, nor as heavy as almond, let alone olive. Features good (in human skin terms) balance of fatty acids and high doses of antioxidants. Melvita has some of the best packaging: a pump-top rather than squeezy dropper; while not completely sealed, it's airtight, vs. removing the top every time.

QUICK PROS
Does the job of moisturising, without irritation or clogging (YMMV). Good on hair. No clogging or irritation.

QUICK CONS
There are some serious rip-off merchants out there. List of sample prices at end of review. I tested out samples of some cheap ones and some expensive ones; Melvita is around the middle of the price-range. Aside from slight differences in immediate smell--which fade rapidly--the results on skin and hair have been the same. Testing period: nearly 4 months (mid-July to early November).

USE ON SKIN:
Moisturises, but other (cheaper) oils work as well. If other oils haven't worked for you, worth adding to your list of things to try.
1. Used on top of rosehip seed oil, on any drier patches of skin.

2. Tested out on some minor eczema (stress, work, the usual boring causes): calmed well and moisturised. I used the oil alone, and I also used it under my usual stage 1 eczema stuff (A-Derma): works better than that cream on its own.

USE ON HAIR:
1. Pre-shampoo oil treatment: no difference in results, compared to using other oils. As it's quite a thin dry oil and I have long fine thick hair, economically unviable. Preferred oils for this: the ones that actually do something useful to hair: avocado, jojoba, olive (coconut works too, but not good on my scalp and neck). But all of these (except jojoba) are too heavy to use on my hair, cos it's fine; though fine as hair-product ingredients, in moderation. But: argan mixed with olive, jojoba, or avocado works very nicely. Also, cheaper than argan alone.

2. 1-2 drops mixed with conditioner: great: either as a pre-wash (for the condition-wash-condition method, on long hair) or when conditioning or both.

3. A tiny drop just applied to the very ends of towel-dried hair, before usual styling product. From trial and error, I've figured out that on this hair anyway that has to be the minutest of teeny droplets; any more and hair greases up. I'd tried this before with other oils, and even the lightest of those that do actually do anything to hair were too heavy and greasebally. Argan or the argan/olive mix has a better finish on my (fine) hair; lighter, finer, more fluid. Bonus: I've needed less and less de-frizz stuff afterwards. Now using none: argan alone, or the argan mix, defrizzes. I leave hair to dry naturally, and it's naturally slightly wavy with some tendencies to frizz. There's been noticeably less of that. Which means saving money on my expensive anti-frizz stuff.

THINGS TO WATCH OUT FOR
Avoid being ripped off: ALL argan oil is sustainably-produced, organic, hand-crafted, and fair-trade. The trees only grow in a certain area of Morocco, protected by UNESCO biosphere mandate. The nuts are gathered and processed, and the oil produced and sold on, by Moroccan women's cooperatives (with UNESCO, EU, and SDA support). They have a global monopoly. All the bigger western companies selling argan oil and argan oil-based products buy their oil from these cooperatives, c/o the intermediary of a small number of brokers and shippers. Except for a few small companies--mainly Moroccan and French + some US wholesalers--buying straight from the coops, skipping the intermediate stage and buying cheaper as more directly. In all cases: there's a markup along the way.

SOME PRICES:
In order of price per ounce. All prices are in USD: CAD tend to be higher (ex. JMO, where USD38.00 somehow works out as CAD50.00) + shipping.

Majestic Mountain Sage: $8.45/4 oz, $15.60/8 oz, $26.00/16 oz = $1.65-2.11 / oz

Mountain Rose Herbs: $17.00/4 oz, $29.00/8 oz, $49.00/16 oz = $3.06-4.25 / oz

Lotioncrafter: $9.20/1 oz, $15.95/2 oz, $27.60/4 oz, $47.60/8 oz = $5.95-9.20 / oz

Argan Oil and More: $9.99/1 oz, $17.99/2 oz, $28.99/4 oz, $54.99/8 oz = $6.87-9.99 / oz

Garden of Wisdom: $8.20/1 oz, $60.50/8 oz. = $7.56-8.20 / oz

Argana / Argan Oil Direct: $13.10/1.18 oz, $22.93/70 ml, $22.87/85 ml eco-refill, $39.32/140 ml = $6.42-11.34 / oz

MUAC: $10.00/1 oz, $32.00/4.5 oz = $7.11-10.00 / oz

Watts c/o Amazon: $13.45/1 oz, $17.45/2 oz, $27.45/4 oz = $6.86-13.45 / oz

Melvita: $25.00/1.7 oz = $15.00 / oz

Eden Allure: $18.00/1 oz, $30.00/2 oz. = $15.00-18.00/oz

John Masters Organics: $38.00/2 oz = $19.00 / oz

Argan Sense: $35.00/1.7 oz = $21.00 / oz

Kahina: $82.00/3.4 oz = $24.60 / oz

Kae (aka Kaeline): $46.00/1.7 oz= $27.60 / oz

Josie Maran: $48.00/1.7 oz = $28.80 / oz

FURTHER
arganoils.com
wikipedia
the beauty brains
truthinaging.com
essential day spa
skincaretalk (1)

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jstar2009 on 1/30/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Jstar2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this oil. It's good for dry skin and feels quite thick. Its full of vitamin E, which is good to mop up free radicals created by chemical spfs and UV rays. I have had comments that my dry skin looks healthier when I use it. Although, for my dry skin I prefer Macadamia Nut Oil, but sometimes I mix the two together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlitzyGlam on 2/2/2010 11:43:00 PM more reviews by GlitzyGlam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this oil a lot, When I apply my favorite Jergen's Ultra Healing, I add a squirt of this to make it more emollient. I also like to add a couple drops in with my Moroccan Oil to smooth my hair. I took off a point because the package is defective and it leaks no matter how tightly the pump lid is screwed on. I need to put it in a new container. The price is also a lot more reasonable than many of the other overpriced Argan oils out there. I don't use it on my face, so I can't comment about that. One thing that surprised me is the smell, I was expecting a nutty type smell, but it actually smells a little like green olives (not olive oil, but actual olives). But the smell is very faint so it doesn't bother me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Body products