Origins • Starting Over (with Mimosa) • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 4/2/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. What a disappointed, sums it up. But of course, I am going to give you more details about why I was so let down by this product. I am not really an Originis connaiseur, however I bought their spot remover out of desperation (after getting the most horrible aggregate of pimples on my chin). Seriously, it was an aggregate. A little community, with a leader and everything. I was pleasantly surprised by the quick delivery (orgins.co.uk) and so had a look into their moisturisers as I needed a new night moisturiser (after deciding not to bother with Eucerin Q10 anymore- granted the little community was the straw that broke the camel's back).

I was curious about the brand due to the claims of being oh so effective, oh so organic and so gentle... This moisturiser, that I bought in the oil free version, claims to be 'age erasing' and improve the appearance of lines and wrinkles. I am 29, so my aim was to prevent rather than correct. But first things first, when I opened the parcel I was unpleasantly surprised by the oh so strong chemical/herby smell coming from the box with the moisturiser. That was before even opening the little box! There you have it, it stinks like crazy. The smell is not terrible, I could perhaps handle it on a body moisturiser but not on my face!

Secondly, this did not make me look better. On the contrary, it made me look older! Suddenly I had dehydration lines all over my face and my poor eyes, especially, looked like I had aged 10 years in two nights. Wow, if that's not impressive I don't know what is.

This moisturiser sucked all the moisture off my skin which wasn't much anyway after trying the harsh modern friction sample I was sent. My skin looked terrible and my cheeks were tingly, at times my cheeks were also red and my face felt sensitive and hurt.

On a good note, the delivery was free and quick and the moisturiser sinks in quickly. The packaging is cute but a bottle with a pump would be better. The low rating, however, is for how dehydrated, fragile and at times irritated this made my skin look!

Returned it, will be very happy to get my £38 back. You might say 'maybe she needed the version that contains oil'. Well, maybe. But still. This moisturiser it's so bad, I wouldn't want it for free. It's irritant, too fragranced, too expensive for no good results and it doesn't even moisturise your face, let alone 'erase' years. The only thing it 'erased' was my skin's suppleness!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight121 on 11/21/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by rayoflight121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It smells nice and sinks in quickly. ..but that's about it. I used this for a month and saw nothing impressive nor is it moisturizing enough for the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 4/3/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just used this after a facial and I quite like it. It's very soothing and completely soaks in immediately, and it leaves my skin hydrated and smooth but not greasy or sticky at all. It's very good. It has a citrusy scent and a little goes a long way. I would recommend this to others and would purchase it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hayleighlynn on 3/22/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by hayleighlynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS! My skin reacts very easily to most products and i breakout horribly, but this doesn't break me out at all!
It doesn't feel greasy on my skin even though i use the regular and not the oil free version.
it sinks right into my skin and leaves my skin moisturised all night. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 primpednpink on 3/20/2013 2:10:00 PM more reviews by primpednpink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a drugstore kinda gal for most of my skincare. I was searching for a better moisturizer for winter months to really hydrate my skin, as well as provide anti aging benefits as I am 27 now, and figure better start preventing now. Love the smell of this project and the moisture. It doesn't seem to aggravate my skin (I have oily, acne prone skin with hormonal breakouts). Wish it was cheaper but it was a splurge item and I feel it was worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/9/2013 12:54:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A while back, I purchased the Starting Over Eye Cream and I'm very pleased with that product. I've been searching for a less costly night cream to use in place of my Clarins Super Restorative. It's a nice cream, to be sure, but it's not "nice enough" to justify the ridiculous price tag. So I began my search and decided to give the Starting Over moisturizer a try. I have to say I am reasonably pleased with this product, though it is not as richly moisturizing as I had hoped it would be. It is wintertime where I live and the cold weather combined with indoor heating means I need something a bit heavier duty than this cream, though I think it will actually be perfect in spring and fall. For now, I'll probably use it in combination with one of my Clarins facial oils. I think they make this in a lighter, "oil free" version but I was very careful not to get that one but still, this could be a bit more rich and moisturizing.

As I purchased this with my Shoppers Drug Mart points, the price was great too (as in "free" - can't get much better than that) but even at regular price, this cream is a far less costly option compared with Clarins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 11/19/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have acne-prone skin and had no problems with the oil-free version breaking me out. The smell did not bother me. I wish it was in a squeeeze tube rather than jar though. I recommend this product but personally will be sticking with Origins VitaZing because I prefer the slight tint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 11/12/2012 5:41:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this cream! I can't say I saw any anti-aging effects from it, but I would wake up in the morning and my skin had the most amazing glow. And this is with me only using it as a day moisturizer! It even mixed well with foundation to make a nice tinted moisturizer. The only thing I didn't like about it was that there was no SPF. I took off one lippie for that. But if an Origins counter was around and I needed moisturizer, I would definitely get this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hkempler on 7/31/2012 1:06:00 PM more reviews by hkempler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received a free full-size sample from Sephora, and initially didnít like its horribly strong orangey smell and put it away. I recently started using it again while contemplating my next skincare purchase.

After two weeks straight of using just this product, my skin looks visibly better. My skin feels firmer and the skin tone is even out nicely. It has very nice texture and absorbs very quickly into the skin. I always have clear skin, but it now got much better to the point that it looks like Iím wearing foundation/BB cream without wearing one :)

I still canít stand the smell, but put up with it because the product itself is great. I am also not sure whether it will be moisturizing enough in the winter. I may have to add another moisturizer into my routine if I am going to use this product in the winter.

Overall, I am very satisfied with it, and will re-purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Natura11 on 7/26/2012 7:50:00 PM more reviews by Natura11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A bit greasy but does the job of keeping my skin hydrated. It wasn't the luxurious treatment that I was looking for but it was an ok buy for me. If I don't find something better I would stick with this. It's that type of thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Moisturizers products