Essie • Van d'Go • Polishes

rated 3.4(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 9/13/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Favorite spring summer shade and second favorite polish colour ever. First favorite is Essie's warm cozy turtleneck.
Colour is soft peachy pink stays on well and just makes me really happy. I've had a really hard time finding something cheaper that matches this colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 9/3/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ugh. Every now and then I waste some money on Essie, knowing full well that the formula clashes so badly with me that the brand is the worst I've ever tried. But Van D'Go was such a cute peachy-pink, almost a neon on my nw20 skin…that I HAD to, I just had to try it. And I still love the color, so cute and perfect for summer, but the formula is the typical mess that Essie always is on me. Don't get me wrong, I know light colors like this never apply beautifully, but usually, they're workable...Van D'Go really isn't, it's just a mess from beginning to end.

The seriously goopy (yet runny), sticky weird formula applies patchy and streaky. The first coat is ok and normal for a lighter color like this. However, with the second and *third* coats, I have to sort of lay the polish on in order to avoid any kind of drag…which makes for super thick coats…thinning the polish with Salon Secrets doesn't help any. Van D'Go requires *three* of these coats to fully even out and be completely opaque, so naturally, it never really dries.

I'm already on the hunt for a similar color from another brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cammmi on 7/13/2014 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Cammmi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is difficult to get an even application. The color looks so cheap and flat on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 8/18/2013 4:36:00 PM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this awhile ago & I just barely got around to trying it. I LOVE IT!! This peachy/pink color is just gorge!!! Since I've just tried it I cant account for the wear time but application was flawless! 2 coats was all thats needed! It was so close to being a one coater but 2 made it perfect! It was runny in a thick way which may sound confusing but to me that makes it awesome! These kindof neutrals are my favorite types of polishes because it makes chips unnoticeable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SlyBlue on 7/2/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by SlyBlue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this just this morning and put this on immediately after I got home. What got me to purchase this colour polish is because the colour in the bottle was a pale baby pink. After the polish dried, it turned into an almost neon and incredibly bright, somewhat peachy pink (I don't mind the change in colour all that much, but neon and bright wasn't what I was looking for). The formula is pretty...sloppy. The first coat was streaky, and didn't even out on it's own. The second coat fixed the streaks, but still didn't even out.

My skintone is cool also, and this polish just made my fingers look dirty in certain angles. So beware! If you have a cool skintone, it's better to purchase a different colour.

I will probably only use this for nail art in the future.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 5/24/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

In the space of 2 weeks I've bought 13 bottles of nail polish from eBay, 10 of them being Essie. I've been lemming Van D'Go for ages, I love peachy pink shades. It's part neon, but part subtle, with strong pink undertones. Very eye-catching. Not that bad of an application, 2 coats and I was done. I always use Seche Vite as a top coat for that glossy shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Curlybird on 4/18/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by Curlybird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a cool skin tone but my hands are a bit more tan than my face. Van D'Go made my hands look more tan, but not in a good way. My hands looked ashy and tan at the same time. Actually it made my hands (and toes) look dirty!

It was such a pain to get the goop streaky polish on, you'd think I would keep it on for all the trouble of painting the three coats it needed to look even. But it was so neon and ugly on me that I had to take it off immediately.

I brought it to my mom's house and I painted my little nieces nails with it. They are more tan than I am with warm undertones to their skin. It looked fantastic on them, so I think it just clashed really badly with my cool skin tone.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ManiChameleon on 3/24/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by ManiChameleon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Essie Van d'Go. Perhaps one of the worst formulas I own. Somehow both too thin AND too thick/gloppy. Thin b/c it floods my nails, no control; too thick it streaks and dries before leveling out. Thin brush is no help in smoothing out before setting. Uuugh, it makes my nail beds around my cuticles look so rough, worse than actually are. So disappointing since color is nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 primpednpink on 11/14/2012 12:08:00 PM more reviews by primpednpink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this color on Missglamorazzi in several of her videos - she always mentions the colors she wears. I love pastel colors and this is the perfect peachy pink color. I also have Essie A Crewed Interest; they look similar in the bottle but are quite different on. If you're even considering purchasing this, definitely do it! I would consider this one of my "go to" polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeup1123 on 7/22/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by Makeup1123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this color! It's an almost neon pink, but a little more subtle. It can be streaky (thus the four lippies) if not applied right. I find that leaving quite a bit on the brush helps even it out, so I don't wipe it as much before applying. It barely chips on my nails after several days, which is rare for me. But great color and durability!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products