Stridex • Maximum Strength Soft Touch Pads Alcohol Free (Red jar/box) • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(45 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Videotapeses on 6/14/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Videotapeses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I have very dry and sensitive skin. I get hormonal acne and closed comedones. This product is very nice. I cleanse my skin, dry my face and apply it. I wait 5-15 minutes and then CLEANSE IT OFF with water. That's right washing it off helps prevent flakes and then i continue with my skin care routine. This really helped with the weird bumps on my forehead I get when the weather changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ruru107 on 6/14/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by ruru107

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this product to help reduce my sebaceous filaments, and while I don't think it is succeeding at that, it still seems to helping my skin a lot. I agree with others that it feels uncomfortable on the skin and makes your face shiny. My solution it to use it right before bed. I don't feel it, and I don't care what it looks like! :) This has replaced a benzoyl peroxide wash I was using. I learned on /r/skincareaddiction that medicated washes are not effective because the active ingredient needs to stay on your skin for longer than 30 seconds. These pads are also way easier to use and more convenient than a wash. One thing to remember is to wait at least 15-30 minutes after application before using a moisturizer, etc. because other products will change the pH level and the Stridex won't be as effective. Another tip: cut the pads in half and one jar will last you a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 6/2/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have repurchased these pads multiple times. However to be clear, these did not work for my face. Very irritating for me (stinging, itchiness, redness) However I have used these to keep my feet and elbows smooth as well as on my underarms when dealing with ingrown hairs. Occasionally I have applied them to breakouts on my back and chest.They do come in handy and the supply seemed to last quite a long time. Also side note, it seems there has always been a coupon on the box to cut off and the expiration date is enough in advance I know by the time I need another box it will still be of use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blar1813 on 5/23/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by blar1813

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this product! The purging period really sucked, but in the end it has really helped to clear up my cheeks, which used to be consistently clogged. I always make sure to leave it on for 20 minutes before I put on a moisturizer, and that does make my skin feel very dry. I haven't had any other drying issues with this product, though. After I moisturize, my skin feels like it normally does and does not carry any dryness over into the next day at all. I really can't see my routine without this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kimmeh5 on 11/18/2013 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Kimmeh5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was very surprised at how much I liked these pads. The menthol isn't working for me though, I think it dries me out too much, but it doesn't break me out otherwise. Salicylic acid also has some mild anti inflammatory properties so it actually soothes my redness and rosacea problems while unclogging my pores. (I had some closed comedones on my forehead.) Because I have mildly dry skin to begin with, over use can dry me out quick. But it's worth checking out, especially for the price and ease of availability.

It's not written on the packaging, but wash your face and let your face fully dry before using. Excess water can mess with the product. Before applying anything else, wait until it's dry or 10 mins or so--either or works fine.

I plan on trying some Silk Naturals BHA toner since it doesn't have menthol. But I'll keep these around for my body and occasional face use. (And also for my husband.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superfille on 11/10/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by superfille

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

These have become HG and completely essential for me. I use them ever night and every other morning after cleansing with Ponds cold cream and before I use L'Occitane Immortelle Divine Cream. This "cleans, tone, moisturize" combination keeps my pores cleaner and and my skin clearer than it has been in years. Highly recommended.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 10/11/2013 10:14:00 AM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Normally I would pass this item up, thinking that it's something I would have used in middle school. But this product has a cult following on Reddit's SkincareAddiction so I gave it a shot. I think I bought this at CVS and it was about $4.50 for 1 box or 2 for $6. Plus there is a $0.55 coupon inside on the flap. That's just really reasonably priced. You get 70 pad in a container and you can even cut them in half and it would be enough.

I use this every morning and once in awhile in the evening. I'm 25 and my skin had been looking awful. In about 2 weeks I have seen major improvements in my skin. New blemishes still pop up, but they're less severe and go away in about 2 days. I got a few whiteheads or something the first few days I used it but that went away quickly.

Salicylic acid is a BHA and doesn't cause sun sensitivity, so that's why I use it in the morning. In the evening I use a AHA. My skin is just smoother overall and I think is starting to finally clear up.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 9/13/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am acne prone on my chin and was hoping this old teenager standby might help me with my late-20's skin problem. I only used these for about a week before I couldn't anymore. They completely wreaked havoc on my skin.

The good:
Cheap
The wipes are well-soaked with product and generously sized
Decreased oil production on my chin quite a bit

The bad:
Hard to find - I could ONLY find at CVS (not at Target, Ulta, Rite Aid, Walgreens...)
Dried out my skin so bad that it started flaking and peeling and feeling tight and painful
Seemed to cause more acne than curing it! I had way more blemishes pop up during use of these at once than usual. I don't know if it was just revealing them or my skin reacted that way to it. Either way, I developed about NINE new blemishes while using these, which is definitely not normal for me.
Didn't seem to do much to heal my older blemishes
Did nothing to fade acne marks

I used these once or twice a day but they only seemed to be making things worse and my skin looked terrible. Be very wary if you have dry or sensitive skin, these probably aren't for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mewables on 7/31/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by Mewables

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as an astringent of sorts after washing with a medicated cleanser and under 10% benzoyl peroxide. This product doesn't do anything for oil- sometimes I forget the benzoyl acne gel and my skin has oil slicks an hour later. Doesn't burn at all, and I love how wet each pad is! Enough to thoroughly saturate the whole face, I make sure to use both sides. Leaves skin feeling very clean. Excellent price, I get them for under $4 at Walmart for 70 pads. I use these 2-3x a day with no burning or irritation. However, I have the most ridiculously oily skin ever, still needing the strongest products, skipping a face wash is inconceivable to me! I had awful acne as a teen and never had strong enough products. I do envy normal/combo skinned gals!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 7/28/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry, sensitive, eczema prone skin, but I also have a lot of clogged pores. It can be difficult to find a product that will exfoliate and clean pores without drying me out. Benzoyl Peroxide was too drying for me, I used to use an OTC retinol (ROC) but even that was too drying for daily use. I had thought about using these every other day just to be on the safe side, but took the plunge and have used them four nights in a row now. So far no flakiness, no redness, no drying. My skin feels smoother, and I have already noticed some of the pores around my nose clearing up. I do follow up with a moisterizer about 30 minutes after using one of the pads. These are super cheap, and they work well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stridex products

More Treatments (Face) products