NARS • Orgasm Illuminator • Highlighters

rated 3.7(116 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 JohanneKristensen on 3/20/2014 5:59:00 AM more reviews by JohanneKristensen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure if I'm using this illuminator the right way. I have both tried to mix it with my foundation and dot it on my cheekbones after foundation.
With foundation it wasn't really noticeable. It didn't really give a different glow.
It was almost the same when I dotted it on my cheekbones. It gives a very sheer highlight, but nothing comparable to for example High Beam.
I like my highlighters to stand more out and give a noticeable highlight without being too much. This isn't enough at all and is quite expensive for what it is..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RamanB on 2/11/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by RamanB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This highligher is okay. The colours gorgeous, being a huge fan of the Nars orgasm blush, I pretty much brought it because of that, I didn't need it and I defiantly prefer lighter high lighters such as Benefit High Beam.

The packaging was cute, but the illuminator seems to sheer and leaves like a shadow on my face so i mix a tiny into my foundation to give me more of a tan just to use it up.

Its okay, the blush is better and I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flappergirl35 on 1/30/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by flappergirl35

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to say that usually I don't buy expensive makeup, but decided to give this illuminator a try. I have never used illuminator before, but I'm getting married soon, and want to try something pretty for my wedding day.

I love to soft, peachy pink shimmer that it gives to my cheeks. My skin is fair / medium, and it gives a subtle glow to my face. I know this will make me look radiant on my wedding day!

I will definitely repurchase, because I love the way it looks. The downside is that I feel it's a bit pricey for what it is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/31/2013 2:18:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am addicted to all kinds of highlighting/illuminating products - and this is in my top 5, although definitely not #1. I prefer NARS Albatross in cooler months when I am more pale, or Armani Fluid Veil - the love of my life - because it looks more subtle, natural and therefore the finished look is more "sophisticated", less obvious while application is easier and texture much silkier - although the price is a bit outrageous (but you only use a small amount so . . *insert some excuse for wasting money here*)

Anyways, NARS orgasm is a very sheer peachy-pink gel, barely adds any colour and the shimmer is fine and not garish. I apply this on the tops of my cheekbones after blush. I tap on a tiny amount with my ring finger very lightly, if you spread/smear this on it can upset the make-up underneath or streak blush/foundation. It just leaves a hint of glowy finish. I also mix this in with foundation to give a more radiant/less dull finish. The finish is slightly glossy, like satin - personally I love it, it looks like healthy soft skin. Always start with a tiny amount and build it up if needed.

I would recommend this to anyone with light to medium-deep skin, especially with warm undertones looking for a subtle highlighting product - and of course get a sample first if possible. I'm not sure how it would be on skin above an NC45 but have used it on friends up to that shade and it looked nice, on fairer skin it can be a bit too "peach", and I would recommend NARS Albatross instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lylith on 12/18/2013 4:55:00 AM more reviews by Lylith

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample size of this illuminator when I ordered some other products from the NARS website. The reviews here made me believe it wouldn't be any good, but I actually quite like it.
I apply this on my cheekbones when I only want to wear minimal makeup, over a light coverage foundation. It gives a very light flush to my cheeks, and highlights my cheekbones.
It also stays on longer than I expected, for about 3 hours. Not what you'd expect from most NARS products, but still not bad.
I would not buy this, as I think it is a bit pricey considering the quality, but still a very nice product considering I got it for free, and the sample is pretty big.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caramel_Apples on 11/2/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this, but unfortunately it just doesn't do much for me. Initially, right after application, it looks nice. It gives a light pink flush, and a definite glow when used as a cheekbone highlighter. Unfortunately, on me, the pink color fades completely within ten minutes or less. I've tried this over many different foundations, and the color always fades right away. After the color fades away, I'm left with only a slight highlighting effect that actually looks almost oily in certain lighting and even this fades in about an hour. It isn't the worst product ever, it just doesn't do much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamerous3059 on 10/23/2013 10:18:00 AM more reviews by glamerous3059

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THIS WAS NICE AS I HIGHTLIGHT, I WOULDNT USE ALL OVER UNDER MY FOUNDATION BECAUSE IM OILY AND DONT WANT A DEWY FINISH I LOVE TO BE MATT.. ALSO GO TRY IT FOR EYESHADOW AND HIGHLIGHT UNDER EYEBROW.
THIS PRICE IS HIGH BUT HEY ITS NARS RIGHT!

I SUGGEST GETTING SAMPLES FROM SEPHORA BEFORE YOU BUY ITS FREE AND YOU CAN GET COUPLE USES FROM SAMPLES.

YOUTUBE- FEARLESS FEMME

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dash0911 on 9/15/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Dash0911

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product and I mix it with any of my foundations to create a 'dewy' look on my skin. I could wear the foundation on its own but the illuminator gives my skin a nice and subtle glow when mixed with my foundation. The only issue I have is the size of the tube and how much you pay for it, otherwise I love this product and will buy it again. The tube does last a long time as I don't use it on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissBeautyAdikt on 8/19/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by MissBeautyAdikt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The NARS Illuminator in Orgasm almost replicates that glow to the skin!

Orgasm is a pinky, peach with gold flecks and compliments olive, tanned skin tones beautifully. This is very similar to the NARS Orgasm blush, however it is much more sheerer. I think most skin tones will be able to wear this because it isn't overly pigmented.

It has quite a fluid texture and is almost like MAC Strobe Lotion. It blends into the skin very well and if using on top of foundation, it doesn't lift off the makeup underneath. It doesn't feel heavy nor tacky and gives the skin a barely there sheen.

I don't apply this on top of powder because of the sheen it gives to the skin. As i said before, it applies well on top of foundation and tinted moisturiser but i personally think there maybe 'lifting' when applying this over powder. I do still powder, but only on my tzone area. I prefer applying this with a stippling brush, as i like the effect that it gives.

I have been very happy with this illuminator that i picked up super orgasm at IMATS!

Full post with pictures can be found on my blog: http://goo.gl/Cj5HnJ

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* B3AUTyxEX0TiC on 6/25/2013 4:05:00 AM more reviews by B3AUTyxEX0TiC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is pretty fair and it's not really hard for a product to show on my face. I've used the Orgasm blush for years and have never had a problem. But this illuminator was something else.

For one, it's really watery. I would have it sit out for days and you can see the oily part extracted from the shimmer...it's very runny. This doesn't show up on me and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I moisturize my face and I even put primer on so it can show up but it doesn't. Not really worth the hype..I prefer the lustre drops from MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Highlighters products