TRESemme • Fresh Start Dry Shampoo for Oily/Straight to Normal Hair • Dry Shampoo

rated 2.1(508 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.25%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 SDR1977 on 10/27/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by SDR1977

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't the worst dry shampoo I've tried (that would be Herbal Essences) but it sure isn't the best (Not Your Mother's).

Like the rest, it leaves a dull residue and if you press on your hair near your ears, you can hear a crunching sound.

If I could find a dry shampoo that doesn't leave the chalky residue, it would be a miracle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Zandra on 10/27/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by Zandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OMG. WHERE DID ALL THIS GREY HAIR COME FROM???

- Oh wait, it's just my s*itty dry shampoo *deep sigh*

Avoid like the plague.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 piczohun on 10/25/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by piczohun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Absolute crap. My hair was better before I used this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 10/24/2014 3:41:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is only the second or third dry shampoo I have tried. I have used Dove, which is decent but nothing special. This is pretty bad. I have very long hair that is damaged at the ends, so for the past year or so I have been trying to avoid having to wash it every single day. So far, my second day hair is pretty oily and heavy. I'll really only deal with it if I don't have to be anywhere special. This product is basically useless, at times adding to the already existing buildup in my hair, making it worse! Even the scent was useless after a few seconds my hair would smell like it hasn't been washed in days. I was beginning to think Im just not one of those people who can get away with not washing every day, but once this can started to run out I decided to purchase Batiste, which is truly incredible and worth all the hype! I am a huge fan of TRESemme in general, but this is truly a terrible product not even worth purchasing on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chukulata on 10/22/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by chukulata

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first dry shampoo actually. That's why I can't compare it to any other ones. It is awful! It makes my hair look dirtier than ever, my hair feels so sticky! I tried it so many times it does not work. Even my sister tried it and did not work for her either. I don't mind the scent but this is just horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ashleem44 on 10/22/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Ashleem44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I hate this stuff. It's too wet and it just doesn't work. I used it ONE time and threw it out soon after. Literally all it did was make my hair look worse. Do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Roaringtempest on 10/19/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by Roaringtempest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Huh, despite the bad reviews I actually really like this product? I bought it on sale for $3. I had used it before but not as a spray, it was the foam one. I found the foam did nothing, but this one I like.

There is a bit of white residue that disappears quickly. One day I used too much at once, and all day I had this chalkiness to my hair and on my hands after touching it. What I do now (only use on roots, of course) is spray a little bit at a time and work it out. Then I spray a bit more, comb comb, little more, and so forth until desired.

I mostly use this on my bangs and hair parting before work. I only wash my hair once or twice a week** and this helps freshen up in between washings, as my roots do get a bit oily on. It may help that I have naturally curly hair, so the added texture does not matter.

The scent is good, texture is fine, the packaging is easy to use and doesn't clog (unlike the herbal essence dry shampoo), adds quite a bit of volume to my hair. I'm sure a more expensive dry shampoo might perform better, but I am overall pleased with this product.


** I still shower/bath everyday with my hair up~ This is how often you should wash your hair if you want very long and healthy hair like I do. I started every other day, then every three days and so on. My hair adjusted to it, and stopped producing as much oil. If you're suspicious, there is a very good video on youtube of a girl with beautiful, silky, shiny hair and she only washes it once a week ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shrimpski on 10/4/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by shrimpski

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this, because this product is absolute rubbish. It's funny how it's a dry shampoo meant to degrease hair and it's specfied for oily hair, yet it does the opposite.
It's easy to use, I spray it on, it goes on white and disappears quickly as you rub it in, and it has a nice clean shampoo scent which I like. That's where the positives end.
This makes my hair feel disgusting. It feels oily and leaves a very weird texture, like a chalky and waxy type texture. If I touch my hair after the dry shampoo is rubbed in, it feels very weird if you then rub your fingers together.
My hair doesn't really look oily, but feels oily, even after rubbing it in and brushing it out, and this is what I don't like. It makes your hair quite 'stiff' and if you move your hair, it won't move, it would almost be better marketed as a spray pomade or hairspray! It would be good if you wanted less 'silky' hair for a certain hairstyle, but for everyday, no!

I will never buy this again, I'm struggling to decide whether to keep my almost full can or not, because it's that terrible!
I have bought $2 dry shampoo cans from Target (Australia) that do a WAY better job than this product!

If you want slightly textured hair for a messy bun or other hairdo, buy this product.
If you want a dry shampoo that will make your hair feel and look clean, do not buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alyssa21mia on 9/16/2014 2:52:00 AM more reviews by alyssa21mia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Thankfully I only paid like a dollar for this crap. I was on a trip recently and saw this in trial size so I tried it and holy hell my hair went from greasy to straight disgusting. I tried it a few days in a row with different techniques to give it more chances but it is just horrible. Do not waste your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luckygirlblue124 on 7/28/2014 2:51:00 PM more reviews by luckygirlblue124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I hated this product. It left my hair feeling waxy and sticky, and I didn't overdo it. I only used a little, in quick short bursts. I brushed it well afterwards, and I still hated it. It gives volume, that's true, but the oiliness and stickiness are terrible. Will not use again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TRESemme products

More Dry Shampoo products