Dermalogica • Dermal Clay Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.6(177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 beautybash90 on 4/9/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by beautybash90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product made my skin red and my spots WORSE, also for such a high price I did not expect to have sulphates and parabens in it! Poor product with a high price tag! Can get a lot better for a hell of a lot less money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lauriexxx on 11/17/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Lauriexxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

In general I have normal/combination skin but lately I wanted something more purifying for my skin to make it clearer so I gave this one a try since everything written on the bottle sounded like exactly wanted to achieve. When I first started using it I loved it! My skin felt so soft and it left a nice matte shine free finish after use. The following couple weeks a few pimples arrived and pretty big ones at that in odd places like near my eyebrows, neck and upper lip that I've never gotten pimples before.I wasn't too concerned about them at first because I thought the cleanser was just clearing out my skin of impurities. However 6 weeks later here I am writing this review with 3 new pimples after popping up and it's really starting to annoy me. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not getting HUGE breakouts but there's still always that annoying 3/4 pimples on my face along with a lot more blackheads whereas before I'd only get 1 or 2 pimples on a rare occasion and a minor amount of blackheads but I seem to have them the whole time now. I thought maybe after a few weeks the pimples would stop and it'd start working but nothings changing and my skin definitely hasn't improved. Also my pores in particular the ones on my nose are a lot bigger these days.

I feel like after 6 weeks of pimples here and there,open pores and dryer skin I've really given this cleanser a fair enough chance but it may be time to give up. I can't deal with it anymore I'm so tired of having to conceal these spots every day and it makes me feel like a teenager again! I'm still on the fence about if I should continue using it for another while to see if anything will change but after reading some other reviews here I really don't think I'll bother. The weird thing is it does leave my skin feeling very soft and clear or any oiliness directly after I use it but then overnight up come the pimples and over time it dries out my skin. I admit I think maybe my skin is a bit too dry in general for this cleanser but dryness aside it was meant to purify skin and it's done the opposite of that. It seems to be giving me skin problems I never had before. I really wanted to like this cleanser since I've used a Dermalogica moisturiser for years now (Skin smoothing cream) but this product just isn't for me. I always read reviews on makeupalley yet never write them myself however I've never in my life used a product that did the polar opposite of what it said it would do to my skin before so for that reason I felt compelled to write this one. I may try using it for another while longer and update my review if anything changes but unfortunately I don't think it will.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 10/31/2013 7:03:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Judging from the reviews it seems you either love this product or you hate it. I belong to the latter group. I don´t think I ever had a worse opinion about a cleanser. This seems loaded with menthol, probably to create a "nice cooling effect" - but to me it just feels as if i applied tigerbalm all over my face. Very uncomfortable. I also don´t have the impression that it cleanses thoroughly. I expected the texture to be a bit thicker - it´s a really liquid, runny mess which doesn´t seem to cling to my skin to hold on to makeup/dirt/oils to take them with it when it´s rinsed off. Instead it just swishes around and is as easy as pure water to rinse off (which may be a plus for some). For me, a complete fail.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jodieleannexx on 6/15/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by jodieleannexx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After reading some good reviews on the internet about this product I decided to go and buy it because my skin is very oily and acne prone. I brought the oily skin kit and this cleanser was in it, I use it twice a day and so far I am noticing that it is improving my acne. When I first started using it this made me break out but it got better. I have ran out of the 50ml bottle I had in the kit which lasted me 4 weeks. I have re purchased another bottle for 23.00 pounds along with the Tonner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nanamisan on 6/14/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

worst face wash i've ever used in my life. *possibly* the menthol irritated my face, or maybe it was something else. my face never felt clean while using this. within one use i had like 15 new pimples on my face, within 2 uses i had like 30 new pimples on my face! they were itchy tiny whiteheads in clusters, and i broke out in strange places i normally never do, such as sides of face or bridge of nose, or underneath chin, or in corners of my mouth. i would NOT recommend. Zero lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rockychick on 5/23/2013 6:21:00 AM more reviews by rockychick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is definitely a must have cleanser for all those who have oily skin. It does not overly dry the skin. So you could certainly use it twice a day. A little goes a LOOOOOOOOOONG way.......im on my third day on this. and i have been able to see a huge difference.. so go ahead and purchase it!!!!!you will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elifisiklar on 5/6/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by elifisiklar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin type: Oily t-zone, dry-ish cheeks and eye area. Rarely acne on chin and around lips.

**Pros**
-- It truly freshens up the skin. I can feel every zone on my face when I wash my face with this product.

-- It completely takes the oil out of my t-zone for a good few hours.

**Cons**
-- This is not the perfect product for those who have combination skin like I do. When it took the oil out of my T-zone, it dried my cheeks. Nothing a good moisturizer can't fix, but if you're in rush and have no time to put on a lotion, you'll have dry cheeks until you apply a lotion.

-- This is not the perfect product to clean your face with. When I have make-up on, wash my face with Dermal Clay Cleanser, after I wipe my face with a toner, I can still see some dirt on the cotton, at a level that I have to wipe my face 2-3 times to get it truly clean.

-- No effect on blackheads.

-- I prefer face wash bottles with a pump. This cleanser isn't as runny as liquid face soaps, so without a pump, it gets hard to take it out of the bottle when it's almost finished. And if you ever forget to close the bottle, it dries up and blocks the opening.

-- Ingredients are NOT written on the bottle or on their website, which makes it very hard to trust this product. After a little googling, I've read that it contains parabens. I can't know if it's true or not because again, ingredients are not written on the bottle. This is solely enough for me to never use this product again. (If you don't know the potential health risks of parabens, please google it.)

If I had to give one-sentence review, I'd say; "You can find better products for the same price."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JennHen on 2/22/2013 11:47:00 AM more reviews by JennHen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! I have been struggling with acne for years and must have spent thousands of pounds on many different products. I wish I had found this cleanser first! Only been using this product for 7 days so I don't know if the results will last but I hope so as they are amazing!! My spots are nowhere near as red as they were and getting smaller everyday. My friend I last seen a week ago could not believe the improvement in my skin. Love love love this product. After trying hundreds of cleansers and masks, I am so happy to find a product that does help my acne. This cleanser smells good and feels great on my skin. So cooling and refreshing. Really hope the results last!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 caragh87 on 2/7/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by caragh87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a few days and have noticed a HUGE difference in my skin. Previously at the end of the day my skin was almost dripping with oil.
That changed within 24 hours, my skin feels smoother and so much cleaner than normal.
I have oily/combination skin that has a lot of congestion and blackheads but I am also prone to dry spots.
I find that this product is very refreshing and it does tingle a bit but doesn't hurt me at all. I look forward to seeing the full results after a month or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dieffenbachia on 12/4/2012 10:54:00 AM more reviews by dieffenbachia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Skin type: oily t-zone, prone to oiliness on the cheeks, sensitive and acne-prone. I've had acne since a teenager and am approaching my thirties and have never shifted it for more than a couple of months at a time.
Overview: not enough improvement to warrant the price. I would not repurchase because of comedogenic ingredient glyceryl stearate.

Regime:
I used this for about a year so was really able to let my skin adjust to the new regime. I applied with clean finger tips and rinsed with water (light touch). I followed it up with the Medi-Bac moisturiser and their targeted spot treatments.

Impact on skin:
First bottle seemed to control my skin flare-ups. I would get only occasion spots and I liked the feeling of my skin afterwards. My skin became noticeably smoother and softer.
Purchased bottle number two about 6 months into the regime. The gains started to wane and noticed my skin deteriorate with the occasional cystic acne breakout.

I'm not sure whether the product itself gave rise to the cystic acne or whether it was not keeping them at bay, but overall I felt it was time for a change to something cheaper that may not aggravate skin and thus lead to cystic acne.

It is worth noting that the dermal clay cleanser has glyceryl stearate in it which is a comedogenic ingredient and may contribute therefore to blocked pores.

Packaging and price:
Pump made for easy application. One pump was sufficient for entire face and neck. Two pumps for more thorough clean. Pump can be locked in place for portability in a wash-bag - fiddly to do.
The large size bottle (I think 16 oz) lasted me 3-6 months which meant that although initially expensive, the product lasted a long time. However, the large size was not very portable for short trips/weekends away.

Aside: Something that all acne sufferers should check before buying is the ingredients list of products for ingredients that exacerbate or aggravate acne (you can find a list of ingredients to avoid from the acne.org website which I have saved on my comp for when I want to try a new product).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products