Deborah Lippmann • Happy Birthday • Polishes

rated 4.7(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 2/10/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first DL polish and it's still my favorite one. Happy Birthday is made up of multi-sized rainbow glitter suspended in a clear base, and as you can imagine it's very versatile and a lot of fun to wear. The glitter is blue, red, silver, green- it looks good layered over just about anything. This color has about a million dupes and there's a reason why. It's an absolute must-have if you like glitter polishes.
My only complaint about Lippmann's polishes in general is that I don't care for the silly plastic boxes the polishes come in. I always feel like I'm going to accidentally break the tabs off. But that's a minor complaint about packaging, the product itself is excellent. Lippmann is expensive, but it's always of a very high quality. Application and wear are superb, you definitely get what you pay for when it comes to this brand.
As with other glitter topcoats, I feel like less-is-more and I try to apply with a light hand. I suppose you could layer this one on until you achieve opacity, but I just think it looks better as a lightly-layered topcoat. That's just my opinion.
Happy Birthday is one of my favorite polishes in my whole collection and I love wearing it, highly recommended!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butterscotchsunday on 10/6/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by butterscotchsunday

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite nail polish ever. I've gotten so much use out of it; putting a light coat on top of those boring, less used shades in your collection totally transforms something dull to something fab. Using it on it's own and building up the coverage is pretty amazing too, but like with any glitter nail polish, the more you put on the harder it is to remove.

Wearing a light coat (like a sprinkling of, well, sprinkles) over a neutral shade like Essie's Sugar Daddy (sheer light pink) or butter London's Tea With The Queen (beige-y nude with warm undertones) is my favourite way to wear it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnzartandlife on 8/21/2012 11:32:00 AM more reviews by dawnzartandlife

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was lucky enough to receive this in a swap. My second DL Polish. It is different than most glitter polishes, I layered over a subtle color on my toes and it is so fun! I like that you can add a little bit of glitter or a lot. I would not hesitate to buy this. It is a party in a bottle. It perks up your nails after a week has gone by since your manicure or adds fun to your toes. I would highly recommend because I have other glitter NP and this one is not so bumpy, the quality of glitter is better, not as hard to remove as others. FYI: I have also seen online photos of the reverse french + you add a thick layer in the grown out section of your nail bed next to your cuticle, and it extends the life of your manicure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kkate142 on 7/23/2012 11:03:00 PM more reviews by Kkate142

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great product! I really enjoy it becasue if I get bored I have a bad habit to peel off my nail polish and rainbow glitter polish is by far my favorite.I have tried mutiple by OPI and drugstore brands, but they still peel.So when, my mom took me to Beauty Brands and said I could pick out 1 nail polish I was all over this one and she said I had made a good choice.So, I take that she has used and likes Deborah lippmann polishes.This maybe quite expensive for a nail polish but if you wear the color enough, it is worth it.I love this polish and if and when it runs out I will purchase another.I am not sure about any other colors just yet.I don't want to get myself into a habit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* linhle777 on 3/8/2012 12:35:00 PM more reviews by linhle777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I own many glitter nail polishes and I get bored but this stands out from all the glitter I own because it looks like confetti. How fun? There are different size shape glitter like circles and hexagons. I coat this on top of a creme nude nail polish and it looks extraordinary. There's a dupe for it I saw at walmart which is five bucks! I'm getting it. The only thing bad about this is it gives a strong paint scent after it has dried. Even the day afterwards!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jhk730 on 12/23/2011 11:07:00 AM more reviews by jhk730

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This 'color' is fabulous; I get many compliments when I wear it! I actually don't find it difficult to remove as long as I wear a base + top coat.

The trick to getting it dense or opaque is to glob it on--not spread/paint it like you normally would with polish. Otherwise, the glitter will be quite sparse, which I don't think looks that great (even layered).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abbeylicious on 10/31/2011 10:22:00 AM more reviews by abbeylicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Coolest idea for a nail polish ever..I love it..It was worth the money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DreamAngelsHeavenlyKiss on 9/26/2011 2:52:00 AM more reviews by DreamAngelsHeavenlyKiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This was a product that I very much coveted for the longest time. For the longest time I actually couldn't really justify spending the $18 on it... :/ So yeah, I think it is overpriced. This definitley looks cute over certain polishes... On its own it looks kind of like you got some craft glitter glue in pre school on your hands (and this is coming from someone who is obsessed with glitter). I do heart this polish, it is pretty unique (or was now there are a million glitters and an Ulta dupe). I do like having this as a part of my collection but I must say I am not completely swept away by it like I thought I would be. I am not sure I would recommend to a friend if they could find a similar yet less expensive version, does that mean I regret buying it?- no. I think every polish girl should have it (or one like it) in their collection. Also I think with the name would make a cute luxury b-day gift to someone (you like). :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 9/24/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite glitter polish from Lippmann. It's thick enough with 3 coats to wear alone (but a bit of a pain to remove like any glitter), but I love using it as a top coat. I love this polish! Definitely a party in a bottle.

If you can get only one of her glitters...this is the one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MrsSmithX on 8/6/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by MrsSmithX

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh how I love this little jar of twinkly fun! I bought it on Tuesday to wear out for my birthday meal this evening, as soon as I saw the name I had to have it! Initially I wondered if it was a bit too out there for a fair maiden of 36 but to hell with it! I am sporting it on my toenails today over a hot pink shade and it is amazing!!! I was warned that it was a bugger to get off by the sales lady in House of Fraser and she kindly gave me two samples of the Lippmann removing mitt wipes so I shall see how they work when I come to remove it - but I'm not taking it off just yet! I would wear it on my fingers if I had shorter nails but I dont think it would sit right on my longer oval shaped french mannied acrylics!
Oh, I had seen somebody write about it looking like a bottle of rainbow puke and I kinda like that description anyway!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products