Lipstick Queen • Butterfly Ball Trance • Lipstick

rated 3.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 silvermouse on 12/5/2014 3:24:00 AM more reviews by silvermouse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm surprised at the overall lack of love for this product
A key thing to understand is that it's not particularly pigmented. It only offers a sheer tint of colour but what makes up for it is the gorgeous blue shimmer that runs through it. It gives the lip a subtle hint of a sheen that is elegant and suitable for day or night wear.
The formula is moisturizing, giving this lipstick more of a tinted lip balm feel, but again, the shimmer elevates this to something special.
I wear a surgical mask for most of the day and my lips are pressed against the mask for the most part but after taking it off, I'm still left with a tint of colour on my lips
I'm more than halfway through this tube after only three months (I usually never come close to finishing a lipstick) which shows how much I've been reaching for it
I will definately repurchase and would have to put this up there as one of my favourite lip producta

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 11/12/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Trance is a sheer coral with irridescence...a little too sheer, IMO: it takes several layers to build up the color to noticable levels. The color never builds up to the point of harshness though, but remains soft. It makes for a good subtle lip. The formula also feels pretty nice on the lips. However, like most Lipstick Queen lipsticks, it has minimal wear time. I'm lucky to get an hour out of it before having to reapply, and that's without eating, drinking, or doing anything with my lips.Given it's sheerness and poor wear, consider this a rather expensive lip balm/tint than a lipstick.

I like Lipstick Queen, but there's just not enough in this particular product to want to repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 1/14/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly, I don't get the hype revolving around this brand. I bought several of these after hearing so many raves for the line, including Hello Sailor, Smitten, and the "Discovery Kit" that included this one. It's a nice product but there's nothing impressive about it compared to so many other lipsticks within the same price range. Longevity is minimal, the color isn't a stand out, and it feels like a minimally moisturizing balm. I wanted something about this to just wow me.

The color is similar to dozens of other medium, cool toned pinks. The description says it's fuchsia and it definitely seems like a subdued version of that. It's gives me that pretty flushed lip look when I wear it and the shimmer is subtle. I actually enjoy the sheerness of it since my own lip color is fairly pigmented and it allows that to show through. But this just disappears on me in under an hour, leaving a scattered coating of turquoise shimmer.

It feels like a very thin balm, slick but not enough for it to move around. Perhaps the thinnest feeling lip product I've ever worn, which is probably why it doesn't last. When it wears away my lips feel drier too.

I'm so disappointed in this and I'm glad Nordstrom's has such a good return policy. I'm giving it two (generous) lippies because of the unique turquoise shimmer and the sleek, sturdy metal packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Labloah on 2/18/2013 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Labloah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I ended up loving this for the exact same reasons I was initially reluctant to buy it. It is incredibly sheer, so sheer I initially dismissed it as useless. It has the beautiful Butterfly Ball turquoise shimmer the whole range has, and coupled with the blue based mid tone medium pink base it gives a very subtle sheen and shine with the smallest touch of colour to catch the eye.


The reason I came around and actually bought this was because I was looking for something more like a tinted lip balm rather than a full colour lipstick. Something I could apply in a flash and not have to worry about perfect application, something that had subtle colour, but wasn't boring. This ended up working perfectly. I work with animals and have a physical job, so I'm not overly comfortable looking too made up. I keep this in my pocket and basically use it like a balm. I don't need a mirror to apply, and it's smooth and moisturising, very emolient, it feels so nice on the lips and gives a gentle sheen both from the shimmer and the formula. I can pop on a light coat for the softest effect, or build it up a little to play up the colour somewhat. Like all Lipstick Queen products, there's no scent, so it has a very faint sort of "lipstick" smell and taste. Longevity isn't amazing, but as I use it as a balm, I tend to apply quite often. It wears away evenly and doesn't leave odd looking shimmer or glitter on the lips. You can't feel any of the shimmer particles either, which is a bonus.


As a traditional lipstick, it's not really something I'd wear if I wanted to complete a full face look, and I feel it looks better on paler skin tones, but for a natural or no make up look, it has its uses. It really does brighten up your whole face, makes lips look fuller and smoother and just gives a little lift without looking obvious.


I feel it is important to mention that the other colours in the Butterfly Ball range are more pigmented, nowhere near as sheer and last a lot longer than this one. The range really is a lovely concept, and the shimmer is delightful and plays so nicely in the light, and the formulas feel amazing on the lip,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lisa1000 on 3/25/2012 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Lisa1000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in a package with two other Lipstick Queen lipsticks. I like them all, but I have to give this one a low rating since it smells like a crayon gone bad. The other two smell fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LJBNY on 5/2/2011 3:56:00 PM more reviews by LJBNY

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Sure... this is a lovely, soft, moisturizing, sheer pretty color. But it doesn't last at all. So enjoy it while you can!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 1/31/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to agree with Jan M below. There is nothing wrong with this lipstick and in fact it is quite nice . . . . IF: you are looking for an uber sheer midtone shimmery pink. I do not notice any teeth whitening effects from the blue shimmer. The color is nice, but similar to dozens of other pinks out there. The texture is nice and balmlike -- but has been done before. No taste or scent. The case is lovely -- but so are many others. Poppy sets herself out to be THE LAST WORD in lipstick. Sorry, but I am underwhelmed. For the texture, I would stick with Clinique Buttershines, which have more shades and more pigment. And are a whole lot less pricey. In fact, this is remarkably similar to the now defunct and missed horribly Moisturous Lipstick from Revlon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 6/30/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Every once in a while something comes along that is so wonderful and outstanding I can't help but think of it as "art". For me, Poppy King is a fabulous artist, and her medium is lipstick! Who would ever think that lipstick would be something one would want to analyze, to make sure not one intricacy or creative element would be missed? There's no doubt that every detail of this product was created with a love of the art of lipstick and a hope that any lipstick-wearer would feel an unexpected joy when using this little $20.00 gem. Trance is a color you truly have to see in real life to get the full effect. Its many facets don't show up in regular web photos. The base color is a sheer raspberry that's not too pink or purple, and it's not "warm" or "cool". It looks more intense in some lighting, and more like enhanced "natural" lips in other lighting. For me, the best of it comes out in bright sunlight, because this manages to make me look radiant, but not "made up". I know to look for the secret hint of turquoise shimmer, but it's not something anyone would see without looking for it. Whether noticed or not, it's absolutey gorgeous - it adds a mysterious, subliminal enhancement to my skin and teeth. This lipstick is silky and very moisturizing, but instead of sinking into my lips, the very softness of it seems to make it resilient. It's very, very long-lasting, while feeling like a cushiony lip treatment. Everything from the lipstick case, to the strangely lovely little butterfly card that comes with the lipstick, makes this an outstanding, fun, and beautiful product. For reference, I have olive skin that's tanned, light green eyes, and dark brown hair with copper highlights. Trance is one of the two "pinks" I've ever been able to wear well, (the other being Lipstick Queen Jean Queen), because it seems to take on the warmth of my coloring, rather than take away from it. This is one of the most flattering lipsticks I've ever worn, and I cannot wait to get more Lipstick Queen stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellenmarie1959 on 5/11/2010 11:17:00 AM more reviews by ellenmarie1959

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Can't add much to the first review, other than I really like this lipstick. I like the application on the sheer side, and buildable. I don't agree that is just overpriced lip balm. The feel on your lips is great, and the color is just bright enough to make it look like you have some circulation going on. I think this is one of those shades that looks good on most fair skinned women without overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 1/28/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Poppy the Lipstick Queen has done it again ... I'm in love with a lipstick.



Trance is a very sheer (but slightly buildable) cool pink/berry sort of color with a subtle green/blue sheen. There are no particles of glitter making it feel grainy, or look sparkly. It's iridescent - like butterfly wings.
The color is a 'my lips but better' shade, but like I said above, you can layer it for a bit more impact. Trance looks great with everything. It's the sort of color that, even if you're not wearing any other makeup, will just brighten up your face, and somehow pulls my features together - it makes you look great, without having that "wow, what an amazing lipstick, where did you get it??" effect. It doesn't jump out at you that way.



I don't think the shimmer actually has a teeth brightening effect ... but I'm not obsessed with having super-white teeth, and I'm happy with the natural whiteness of mine, so it's not really a factor for me.



The formula of this lipstick is moisturizing, to the extent that it actually feels like a nice lip balm on the lips. I actually think it's more moisturizing than Medieval, which I also love.The moisturizing feeling is long lasting, so I find myself reaching for this lipstick all the time - I'd much rather wear something that feels good on my lips!
The staying power is so-so, and if you want to keep it looking the way it does when you first put it on, you will be re-applying. But when it wears off, it doesn't go entirely; you are left with a little bit of color on the lips, and that actually is long lasting. But the tube is such a beautiful, pleasing object to have and hold, who would mind re-applying now and then? Not I.



The tube is hard to explain. It's a matte-ly metallic purple. What does that even mean? Well ... it's not shiny, not reflective, so it's matte in that sense, but it seems to be metal, like a brushed or dulled metal finish. It feels satin-y, or almost like it's coated in silicone or rubber, or something. I know there are other brands that have packaging with this sort of feel, but this is the best I've come across. It doesn't collect dust and fuzz, or stain itself easily like the packaging of a certain company that will not be named ... but which starts with a N and ends with an ARS.
The packaging is, quite simple, awesome. Even my husband agrees - and that's saying something.



Lipstick Queen lipsticks are on the smaller end of lipstick sizes, which I guess will be a con for some people. I actually finish a lipstick so rarely that I don't mind this one being a bit on the small size.
I was never a lip color junkie. For a long time, I wore no lipstick at all, because most of it just didn't look good on me. Gradually, I started to find some products that did look great, but I'm super-picky about them. Lipstick Queen has the best offerings I've come across anywhere. If I ever get to meet Poppy, I'll just have to hug her.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products