Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream Skin Protector

4.1

40 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Petrolatum 56.8%,Lanolin, Mineral Oil, Fragrance, Salicylic Acid, Propylparaben, Castor Oil, Corn Oil, Tocopherol, BHT, Iron Oxides


on 11/8/2013 3:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this product for almost all skin conditions from dry itchy skin, psoriasis, and acne. What a miracle product in a jar! Makes my skin feel calmed, soothed, and clean!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/8/2013 3:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

What a great little product! I returned to using this again recently, mostly due to dry skin/eczema around my eyelids that I suffer from, and refusing to use steroid creams that thin and eventually damage the skin. I started buying this product a year or 2 back: as I remember at the time reading some really positive reviews. It's one of those products that I struggled to find a use for initially, so it kind of got forgotten on my dresser. However, knowing that the product is slightly medicated: I started using it on my dry flaky eczema patched I get around my eyelids. After a couple of days use, I saw a huge difference; no more flaking, redness reduces and less itchy. I have used facial oils to combat the dryness, but this makes a much bigger difference. If the product tingles when you apply it, don't let that put you off: even on my sensitive, sometimes broken skin, it still calms the skin and causes no irritation after the initial 'tingle'. I've used it on my lips too: although I wouldn't say the effect is much different than using good old fashioned Vaseline (although I don't suffer particularly with dry/cracked lips), and I don't have problems with spots or acne, so I can't comment on that either. I would however certainly recommending at the least getting hold of a trial version if you have any skin problems of any sort: it seems to be a jack of all trades, and you only need to use this sparingly. I would advise buying the tube rather than the pot, as it's easier to use without losing product up long fingernails. The gel is thick enough that you can easier control how much you dispatch from the tube.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2013 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Great for helping heal acne and reducing acne scarring. Whenever I have acne or a spot that refuses to heal I apply a little of this after my night time cleansing and in the morning it looks 50% smaller and less irritated. I get way less scarring and my acne clears up much faster. I can't stand the smell but love what it does for my face enough to get past it. I haven't tried applying it my lips yet (due to the smell) but definitely could see how it would help with that.


on 1/12/2013 11:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

If you have dry flaky itchy eyelids I highly recommend using this product. My eyelids were driving me crazy with the flaking and itching and swelling. I'm not sure what caused it but I have tried several other creams, balms, lotions, oils, etc. and nothing was helping long term. After the first use of this product, I noticed a huge difference and I think my problem is finally solved. I had seen other reviews that stated this worked so I half heartedly gave it a shot and am so happy I did. If you're suffering from the same problem, give this a try. It will last forever as you need such a teeny amount and also, it is quite heavy but upon application it turns more liquidy and feels wonderful and soothing. I suggest using this at night before bed. I don't think it would work well for daytime as it's quite greasy and I doubt it would be good under makeup. Hope I've helped someone !! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2013 11:39:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love! I'm a recent convert and am so pleasantly surprised at how well this product rehydrates and moisturizes, and how multi-purpose it is. I've been using it on my hands and cuticles, and within two days of use, my cuticles are completely rehabbed. This stuff has also healed the sore, dry patches on my knuckles that came from neglecting my hands in the harsh Canadian winter. I pat a thin layer on my face at bedtime, and wake up with beautifully hydrated and glowing skin. This stuff is fast becoming a medicine cabinet staple, and I will continue to repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this after reading how the 'stars' use it... hoping to find something to either add to or supplement my standard night cream. It is rather greasy and smells JUST LIKE band-aids (my hubby says each night, "hello, band-aids" when I get into bed), but - the packaging is nice, you get a LOT for the money (all it takes is the size of a pea, spread it out with your fingertips, dab on and gently rub in), and you can use it all over your face - I use it overtop my eye cream, on my lashes, and on my lips. It does take hours to absorb (just sleep on your side or back), but --- your skin will be SO soft in the morning! And it does help heal little boo-boos... scratches or what-not - I had a bug bite on my face (yikes), and I put this on there after using some witch hazel - boom, bug bite gone. I also use it on my hands, what's leftover after putting it on my face. My cuticles have become softer and my hands are no longer scary sandpaper-looking things. If you can handle the smell; give it a shot. I have not broken out at all using this product, and I normally have sensitive skin. I will continue to use and buy this product - it is a great addition to the beauty regimen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2012 11:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I started using 6% hydroquione 3% kojic acid .5% retinol cream to get rid of my melasma on my cheeks and forehead. Although i am winning the battle against brown patches, it left my skin raw, sunburned and peeling. i tried everything from creme de la mer (sample size thank goodness), vaseline, aloe vera cream, ultra calming cream from dermalogica and countless others and it still felt my skin was on FIRE when i put on the creams. after work today i was going to go to my local nordstroms and pick up a $195 cream by erno laszlo but decided against it last minute thankfully. i went home and removed my makeup and in my medicine cabinet i saw the tube of EA 8 hour cream i purchased a while ago and figured i wouldn't hurt (no pun intended) to try it out and see what happens. at last,,,, it did not sting or burn or cause more irritation to my already red, sensitve skin. i was shocked and relieved! i spent all this money on other crap that didnt work and this $19 tube of loveliness was just sitting there and saved my face! yes, it's a bit greasy and i don't really care for the smell too much- to me it smells a bit like preparation H ointment but it did the trick. i am so relieved. i read they came out w/a unscented version and i will have to check it out when i run out. i am not too too concerned but i am more curious how it will handle my day tomorrow.. i have to wear this tomorrow at work since i need my face to heal... we shalll see if end up looking super shiney and greasy by the end of the day. i guess less is more right?


on 5/20/2012 2:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I have the version in the squeezable tube.
I use it for scrapes, lips, under my nose, if I've been blowing it a lot. I've also used it INSIDE my nose during the harsh colder months. Works wonders.
The smell... I'm not a fan, but I've heard about the new scentless version. When I run out, I'll probably check that out.


on 4/18/2012 12:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I love using this as a lip treatment overnight. A little on the expensive side but you get a lot of product for the money and it is going to last for ages.

The smell is a slightly herbal grapefruit that I quite like.

I use this depending on the state of my lips on a given day. Some days I will just use Vaseline or Rosebud Salve, or a good shea butter, all of which I love, but when the lips have had a rough day, I can feel the difference of using this instead.

You know when you wake up in the middle of the night, and you are thirsty and your lips are dry, because you are addicted to lip balm and you need it on at all times? And you must apply immediately or else you won't be able to get to sleep again?

Dear reader, I make it through the whole night with this stuff.

Would like a little tube to fit in my bag but the price is not worth it to me. Better value getting the full size.


on 2/17/2012 8:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I would be lost without this product! I use it more as a lip balm than anything else but it just sinks into your lips and leaves them so smooth and soft. I'm on an acne medication called Roaccutane at the moment, and my lips have gotten EXTREMELY dry and cracked and this is the only thing that works and takes that uncomfortable feeling away. I also use it for any dry patches of skin and it works amazing! Will repurchase.. forever! :)


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
All Products
719 Reviews
Healing Cream
Healing Cream
321 Reviews
Back to Top