MAC • Smolder eye kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.7(476 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 harmony7 on 4/17/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Yes I know this liner has been greatly hyped up, but for me the hype is true. This is the ultimate black eyeliner! Smolder is the blackest black and once it's on, it stays on. On me, it does not smudge and it lasts all day, but it will fade a bit.The black color also doesn't get lighter on me and stays looking the way it did when I first apply it in the morning for the rest of the day, even through minor wear.
It glides on smoothly and the texture is not too soft or too hard. At $14-$15, Smolder Kohl is a bit expensive for an eyeliner, but in this case you get what you pay for.

Update-I'm wearing this right now and it will fade slightly through the day and will require a light touchup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peggyc on 4/14/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by peggyc

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is a true black, but smudges like crazy, even right after you put it on. I somehow got smudges in my undereye area, and I know I didn't touch that area while applying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeborahTsai on 3/29/2014 11:50:00 PM more reviews by DeborahTsai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best pencil is definitely this one from MAC or Urban Decay 24/7. They are unbeatable as compared to 50 other ones that I have used in the past years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maryel18 on 2/21/2014 1:24:00 PM more reviews by maryel18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

average eyeliner, nothing special, it does smudges in hot weather. for the price i rather buy too faced perfect eyes or urban decay perversion, compared with these, this eyeliner is not that black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GraceyKentera on 2/16/2014 10:25:00 PM more reviews by GraceyKentera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this eyeliner! It's my go-to liner, I've repurchased it time and time again. It's a little pricey considering how cheap you can get drugstore eyeliners, but I've tried both expensive and cheap and you can really tell the difference!
This eyeliner is the most beautiful sultry colour, and goes on so so smooth. It lasts all day on a lid that has been primed with eye primer!
I would recommend this to everyone, you'll really be able to tell the difference!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yesimadancer on 2/5/2014 2:35:00 AM more reviews by yesimadancer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Relaxed   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color of this eyeliner. JET BLACK all the way. Its the darkest eyeliner I own and absolutely love that.
It does smear and smudge around after a while though...If you're going for a clean eyeliner look this probably isn't the best eyeliner for you, but a kind of grunge, smoldering look? Yes.
If i put this on my waterline it looks nice for a while but starts melting down. I just reapply and still like the look of the liner on both waterline and through the lashes.

Overall, im not sure if I'd repurchase. I hear great things about the Rimmel liners but cant try because they dont sell them where I live...I'll probably try a Nars one next but I dont regret this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bearpause on 12/30/2013 10:38:00 PM more reviews by bearpause

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Wasn't what I wanted it to be. I was looking for a good, budge proof, very black eyeliner for the waterline and this wasn't it. It was more of a soft black, and it disappeared on my waterline in about an hour. You also have to sharpen it, which I don't prefer for my waterline but that's not a dealbreaker. I found what I was looking for in NARS Via Veneto.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ccorticchia on 12/7/2013 10:20:00 PM more reviews by ccorticchia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

My holy grail eye liner! I have been using this product since I was 16 years old and it's perfect ! It's long lasting and does not smudge ! Definitely a recommended investment !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Makeupmafia90 on 12/3/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Makeupmafia90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The only good thing about this product is it USA true black. Other than that it sucks. Fades within an hr and smudges on bottom water line. I'm now using Bobbi Browns long wear black liner on my waterline & it works great. I won't be purchasing Macs Smolder again. I probably won't even use the first one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiki94x on 11/30/2013 6:43:00 PM more reviews by kiki94x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My absolute favourite eye pencil. Stays on no matter what, even on the waterline and doesn't have a sharp point. It is quite expensive, but the pencil is very large and it lasts for a long time. Has a lot of color and is really deep black instead of some dark gray-ish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products