Unlisted Brand • Acne Treatment: Epiduo (USA) / TactuPump (Canada) • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(198 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bbmeep on 1/30/2015 12:49:00 AM more reviews by bbmeep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I struggle to give this a bad review because I can see how it has helped so many others. But I will share my experience. I've never really had super sensitive skin but as I've gotten older, I have noticed that I get more irritation acne rather then hormonal acne. I went on epiduo not because I had severe acne but because I've ALWAYS had acne. I mean for the last 10 years it has been a struggle and it only seemed to be getting worse. I would say my acne was moderate to sometimes (with the blow of a wind) light. Before Epiduo, my skin could tolerate 10% bp like a champ. My skin never gets ice pick scars but does get acne marks (hyper pigmentation) really easy BUT they always heal very quickly....except when I was on Epiduo. Which is the reason I stopped. 3 months into it I noticed how poorly my skin was healing. It was red, acne everywhere that lingered forever and acne marks not healing and I even noticed some very slight ice pick marks. This, along with the fact that my skin was clearly broken looking, like all of its natural defenses were gone and it was no longer human skin, was why I had to quit. I tried slowing it down, applying less and less, but then I realized, that it never helped me skin at all, it only made it worse, and it made it hurt, so why was I putting myself through this?

Anyway it has now been 3 whole weeks since I've stopped and my skin, although still breaking out, is much better now. It's back to being almost human skin again, and even though I do break out, its a lot easier to deal with when your skin doesn't look like its supposed to be a halloween costume of an acne'd burn victim.

The thing that stinks most thought is that I now have SUPER sensitive skin. I had to stop using face wash and can only tolerate water. I can't use BP anymore not even 2.5% and salicylic acid leaves my face SO dry. I can only use really simple organic stuff, nothing active what so ever.

So now that my options for pretty much all skin care items are gone, I have to go on Accutane starting in a few weeks, which has always been a heck no for me because of the possible side effects. But now I honestly see no other way and neither does my derm.

My acne marks and even those tiny ice pick scars are gone now thought (thank you cocoa butter) so I guess once you give your skin some time to heal the effects of Epiduo are not all permanent. Though I'm not sure if my skin will ever stop being sensitive.

I guess my verdict is that you may be able to do really well on this if you have a certain type of skin that can handle the sensitizing effects.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thatjapanesegirl09 on 1/25/2015 3:54:00 PM more reviews by thatjapanesegirl09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Do I recommend Epiduo? Yes - if you don't have sensitive skin.

Beginning - 9 weeks: It burned to the point where I'd struggle to not scream for about 1-1.5 hours after the application. I would put my face against a wall to cool the burn. This is how harsh the ingredients are. Make up stung. It'd look flake-y and putting anything on my face strung. My skin was raw, shiny and red. Everybody commented. It was that bad.

Post 9 weeks - It began to get better. No more intense pain. My skin cleared up 80% and has stayed that way since with daily application of Epiduo. Definitely not as pain free and as effective as Duac which I was previously on before becoming immune to its antibiotics.

Now - It has thinned my skin to the point where my face is and looks flushed at the slight increase of temperature. This is quite embarrassing at it is very noticeable. I don't like how it is not entirely effective and is particularly hopeless against monthly skin imperfections.

Overall, a mixed review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brimarie6 on 1/14/2015 10:21:00 PM more reviews by Brimarie6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using Epiduo for five months now. I took Solodyn 80mg with the Epiduo for the first three months,but not sure if it helped. I began with moderate inflammatory/cystic acne on my cheeks and jawline. My skin's very sensitive so I took a slow approach to beginning Epiduo. For the first two weeks, I used it every 3rd night. Then I continued to use it every other night. I applied Cerave PM each night and that really helped. In the mornings I used gentle cleanser and moisturizer. At times my skin was a little pink and irritated when I woke up, but I didn't experience dry patches and peeling. It took me four months to be able to use it every night without any irritation.

As far as my acne clearing...it was a very rocky road. Some weeks my skin would look mostly clear, and other weeks it seemed as though I had no improvement. After two months, my Dermatologist said he could still see a lot of acne rising to the surface (Purging). He added Sodium Sulfacetamide as a night-time wash to speed up the process and help fade my hyper-pigmentation.

After a total of four months, I finally had at least 90% improvement. Since then I've had at most one or two small bumps on my face at a time. If I would of given up because I was still breaking out at the two month mark, and even the three month mark, I wouldn't be enjoying my clear skin right now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessshar on 1/10/2015 10:51:00 AM more reviews by princessshar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started this stuff last year for congested skin (lots of bumps under the skin) after doing the oil cleansing method which I really don't recommend btw- worst decision. I wrote a weekly journal while taking this medication and just warning you that at the 4-5 week mark you're going to be worse than you were initially- all those bumps under the skin started surfacing into pimples that I could now easily extract. This is the purging process and it is necessary. It is a very scary and depressing few weeks but stick to it and write a journal like I did trust me it helps. I did have to use this every other day at one point, but now tolerating it daily. This stuff saved my skin guys. It took about 3 months to clear off majority of the junk and now 8 months later my skin is completely smooth and free of scars (I recommend using a good serum such as the c15 from paulas choice which greatly helped with my scars). One word of advice: do NOT OVERLY SQUEEZE/PICK your skin while using this! It causes you to scar very quickly (ie dark spots) and you will greatly regret it - only use proper technique to extract your pimples ie using a sterile needle on a clean face and gently extracting pimples with a white bump on them, with clean fingers/qtips. I am going to keep this stuff as a staple in my skin care regimen, and eventually just switch to benzoyl peroxide only when I ever get pregnant because the adapalene shouldn't be used in pregnancy. Guys please go to your doctor and ask for this. It saved my skin and I look amazing now. I am So much more confident now, I take less time to get ready in the mornings because I'm not working on covering those scars with makeup, and im just happier and comfortable in myself. It is worth the money to try it. Ask your doctor for samples because sometimes they have them. Good luck lovelies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 1/5/2015 3:08:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I actually had very clear skin, until I hit my 20s, and began experiencing mild-to-moderate acne, along with hyperpigmentation issues as well. I had originally been prescribed Differin Gel 0.1% by my dermatologist many years ago, when I first began getting treatment for my acne. Later on, I began being treated for my acne by my general practitioner at the time and I was put on Retin-A. I have used Retin A 0.025% in both the gel and cream form. I had used such for 7+ years, before deciding to go back to seeing a dermatologist for treatment with my skin. Retin A is very strong in even the lowest strength, and using the gel version is even worse because it contains Isopropyl Alcohol in it, which is super drying to the skin. I had decided that I wanted to switch to another anti acne product, but that also has anti aging benefits to it like Retin A. Unfortunately, afer being on Retin -A for so long, my skin had basically gone to a place in which I didn't see where the Retin-A was being as effective in helping my skin as much as it used to anymore atall. I had begun to develop areas of hyperpigmentation again, my pores didn't look as clear, I started developing problems with on and off recurring blackheads, plus, my skin didn't have the same level of luminosity that I had once had while on Retin-A either. After seeing and speaking with the dermatologist, Epiduo was recommended as a better alternative for me to use. So, the dermatologist gave me samples of Epiduo, plus i was provided with a prescription for a 45 gram pump of Epiduo, and I was recommended to use a fade cream, which I purchased directly through my dermatologist's office. I know that Epiduo is expensive, but with my insurance and a special savings through the manufacturer (Galderma) that was provided, I only had to pay $25 for my first bottle, which will likely last me for 2-3 months or quite possibly longer.

I was actually recommended to rotate between either Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser or Oxy Face Wash to cleanse my skin with. I bought Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser and Oxy Maximum Strength Face Wash (Sensitive Skin Version) to start off with. I will continue to use and buy the Cetaphil Cleanser due to it being soothing to my skin and it also never leaves my face dried out afterwards at all. However, the Oxy Face Wash is quite drying and after I use up the two tubes that I bought, I will not be re-purchasing it ever again. I do also use Olay's Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash as well, which I happen to like the most out of all three cleansers.

I do apply a thin layer of Epiduo on my forehead, cheeks, and chin every night. I use a prescription strength fade cream at night on the hyperpimented areas only on my face and upper neck area. I do not apply anything over the Epiduo Gel. I was also given samples of a prescription corticosteroid cream to apply to irritated areas of my face either in the am or pm. Also, I only moisturize my face when needed (I am not exactly partial to one brand- So I do rotate moisturizers). In my opinion, Epiduo is just as effective as Retin A, but without the very harsh side effects. Yes, Epiduo is drying and irritating to my skin, and does cause flaking, but certainly not as drying or irritating as Retin-A ever was. I also don't experience the massive flaking, I eperienced, while on Retin A either. I only wish that I had switched over to Epiduo sooner.

There is no prescription acne product that won't cause some type of side effect to your skin, whether it's dryness, irritation, burning, redness, etc. Also, I can say that for best results, it does take time and continued usage in order to achieve such. Also, it is highly recommended that you stick to the skincare regimen recommended to you by either your dermatologist or general practitioner, while using any prescription acne treatment. If the acne treatment ends up being too strong for you to handle or you do not get the expected achieved results, then it is always best to talk to your dermatologist or general practitioner, so that they can provide you with a better solution for treating your acne.

The acne that I have experienced as ranged from either mild to moderate.As, I have never had cystic acne. Also one thing that I do not recommend is piling on alot of makeup to hide ones acne, as makeup itself has the ability to be very pore clogging and make one acne situation worse. I only use cream or liquid foundations on my face for special occasions only. Otherwise, I simply use a little bit of concealer and powder for cover up. I never sleep in my makeup anymore, as doing so would only break me out, so I always use a makeup remover beforehand and then proceed to thoroughly cleanse my face and neck thereafter. Because I do believe that when cleansing one's face, the front of one's neck should be thoroughly cleansed right along with it.

No, I do not use creams or lotions on my face that contain SPF in them as they break my skin out. I have tried many of them, and always end up with breakouts as result.Plus, they end up running jnto my eyes, and leave my eyes stinging and blurry. I do not feel that my skin has suffered from not using such on a daily basis. As, I still look very youthful due to long term use of prescription retinoids. I do try to be careful with how much sun exposure that I get, but that is of course something that we all shouldd be mindful of anyways.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msmaryam95 on 1/4/2015 9:41:00 AM more reviews by msmaryam95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THIS PRODUCT COMPLETELY CURED MY ACNE. In July of last year, I made the massive mistake of using coconut oil as a cleanser/moisturiser through the OCM method. This resulted in the worst of acne of my life; cysts, pustules, papules which were huge in size and almost covering both of my cheeks. I waited until the end of September, hoping the acne would subside on its own. Upon realising it wasn't, I gave up and finally saw my GP who prescribed me erythromycin and epiduo. I didn't get any major initial breakouts but there would be at least one or two large cysts popping up every 2 weeks or so. 3 months in and I can safely say my acne is finally over. I haven't had a breakout in a month, even during TTOM. My scars are lightening at a rapid rate and now it only takes me 15 minutes to do my makeup, whereas pre-epiduo I needed a good 45 minutes to cover up the acne. I highly recommend you see your GP as soon as your acne starts to bother you, it will save you so much time, money and heartache :) Best of luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 safa93 on 1/3/2015 8:38:00 PM more reviews by safa93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this product is great. it does take a long time though..I started seeing results maybe at week 6 and at week 8 my face was clear. my acne cleared up and I'm not getting any new pimples at the moment. it dries your face like craaazy so u need a good moisturiser. it did irritate my face and sting when I first used it but I got results so I guess its just a part of how it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CynicalCind on 1/1/2015 10:18:00 PM more reviews by CynicalCind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product saved my face from total acne apocalypse lol. When getting off of proactiv, I tried everything to get rid of my acne and NOTHING worked. As a last result, I went to a dermatologist and she gave me sample sizes of this product and told me to use two drops every night after washing my face. This product changed my life! Within two months, all of the acne that I developed was gone. Now after almost 4 years of use, this product has not only helped to control my acne it also dries out any new breakouts that pop out (due to hormones, etc) within a matter of days. The only downsides I have about epiduo is that a full sized product costs too much and I've had issues getting insurances to cover it and that it does dry out your face a little an hour or two after immediate application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makingwaves983 on 12/27/2014 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Makingwaves983

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received samples from my dermatologist and I'm about to start week three of Tactupump (Canada) and my experience has been pretty good so far. I did not experience any of the initial burning or peeling and described, so if your skin isn't sensitive then you shouldn't be afraid. My skin has definitely gotten drier, but not by a marginal amount. In addition, I have noticed that my nose is not nearly as oily as it used to be, even though I don't apply the product there. This will make your skin a bit itchy when it's dry. Over the past two weeks my acne has changed, the pimples come to a whitehead very fast and in a way they have never looked before. The pimples definitely develop and leave faster and I am getting few pimples daily than before. I have noticed that scars became more prominent this past week but at least the texture of my skin is flatter than before. Applying liquid coverage/concealer to the blemishes was not a struggle until yesterday. I'll update as my progress continues, fingers crossed that everything goes well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 franjipany on 12/14/2014 12:19:00 AM more reviews by franjipany

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This year I developed mild-moderate acne, I'm in my mid-twentieis, moved cities and started another degree. I think it was stress related - I could not control it with non-medicated products so I went to the doctor. The GP wrote me a script for epiduo, and I changed my pill. At first, epiduo didn't seem to be doing anything. Then at about a week to two weeks my acne started getting worse. At four weeks, my face was the worst it's ever been. Then at 6 weeks I was so red, inflamed and sore - I actually cried about my face to a friend. It was mainly around my eyes and mouth. I thought about stopping but I was determined to continue and get better skin. I changed a few things and fast track to 6 months and my skin is totally clear - I'm still healing a few marks and dark spots, but I havent had an actual pimple in two months. I feel there are a few things I wish I was told that could have helped me avoid my reaction.

ABSOLUTE MUSTS WHILE USING EPIDUO
1. Use your heavy moisturiser as a barrier on your eyes and around your mouth before applying epiduo - this is an absolute god send for me as these were where my inflamed skin patches were
2. Use a heavy moisturiser (I like cetaphil for dry/very dry skin) in the mornings
3. Really only put a small amount on - if you're having troubles speading leave your face a little wet so the product can glide
4. Do not continue to use your normal face washes and NO abrasive or exfoliant materials ( I like cetaphil)
5. When your skin starts getting better you can take a day off or use it only on certain areas
6. Mix epiduo with a moisturiser and apply it if you're having a sensitive time

It was a rough few months in the middle there, but i feel like my skin quality is the best it's ever been, the texture is so good, and I can control my skin with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products