Acne Treatment: Epiduo (USA) / TactuPump (Canada)

4.0

209 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

adapalene (0.1%) and benzoyl peroxide (2.5%)


on 4/11/2015 9:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am making myself write this to hopefully help other women. I had beautiful, glowing skin up until about September of last year. I began to break out on my cheeks and on my chin below my mouth (in that particular spot I always had, so I didn't think too much of it). I chalked it up to picking up smoking again, drinking too much coffee, and stress. I focused on washing every night with my summer product, alba coconut milk deep cleansing which had worked for my fairly trouble free but slightly oily skin in the summer months. It didn't make a dent and the cysts were forming more and now clustering and therefore forming some hyperpigmentation scars. It became noticeable to everyone around me. I couldn't get away without wearing makeup like i had if i was going anywhere where i cared about what people thought about my looks. I started making decisions on going out or staying in based on my face. At this time I visited my mother and she repurchased Arbonne smoothing cleanser for me- a wonderful plant based line that had really worked for me in the past. I saw a slight improvement but as soon as I hit ovulation or menstruated my face was a battle zone. My cheeks and chin were covered on cystic acne and whiteheads. I started taking burdock root and vitex berry for my hormones. I began trying steaming everyday with eucalyptus and lavender oil, apple cider vinegar toner, followed by a coconut oil rub. I saw beautiful skin on my forehead and below my eyes, however my skin on my cheeks became really horrible. It felt hydrated and beautiful but looked disgusting. I thought I would never see clear skin again. I thought all I had to do was make it through the purge stage and I'd be okay- no way. I switched back to Arbonne and saw slight improvement at some points in the month. My friends all commented on my skin and felt terrible. I hated being the ugly one. I had to go to the doctor. She prescribed me birth control, Reclipsen, and doxycycyline and gave me a referral to the dermatologist, also commenting that I may have to do Accutane- which completely freaked me out. I stay away from pharmaceuticals as much as I can and I heard nightmares about Accutane. Thankfully the derma could fit me in the next day. I hadn't picked up the doxy because it was far too expensive (almost $160) so he prescribed me minocyclyne and Epiduo. He also gave me a coupon. I saw with the minocycline in the first week that I was breaking out less and inflammation decreased. I plan on ceasing minocycline after I start on my second packet of Reclipsen. I used Epiduo in conjunction with my Arbonne wash with a magnaminty face mask from Lush once a week or so. I am in week three and my face is 70% better. There was a purging stage that I chalked up to ovulation, but I realize it could have been all of the blocked pores coming up after reading all of these reviews. I see a marked difference after using Epiduo at night now. Pimples will be reduced the next morning. If they are whiteheads, I do help them along a little with a clean pair of tweezers and then rub Epiduo gel right on it at night. The next morning, it is either gone or the whitehead is much smaller. In week three I am SO glad I went to the dermatologist. Running every day to sweat and drinking at least 1.5 liters of water every day has helped as well. I don't smoke as often and have coffee 3-4 times a week, and only one or two small cups at a time. Keep with the Epiduo- it may burn but it's killing off all of the p. acnes bacteria in your face. Hope this review helped someone..



on 4/3/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I can't believe I'm writing a review. After Almost 7 years of struggling with my skin and reading what feels like millions of reviews and trying many products to clear my skin I am hoping (fingers crossed) that I have finally found THE cure. This feels a bit surreal to be honest, I can't tell you how many times I have read peoples success stories and just wished so badly that one day it would be me. Don't get me wrong, if you're struggling with bad skin these forums are a GODSEND when you need hope to keep searching for answers and to remind yourself you aren't alone, cause sometimes you feel like you're the only person with bad skin. When my skin took a turn for the worst a few months ago (the most horrible breakout I'd ever experienced) I promised myself that when i found something that would work, that I would make the most detailed review possible in hopes that I could help even just ONE person out there that has a similar struggle to mine. So apologies for the length but it has been a long road for me and I want to help someone else. Acne sucks. When I felt really disgusted over my skin I would try so hard to remind myself that things could be so much worse. I have my health, all my limbs, my eyesight, everything that a human needs to function properly. But damn no matter how hard I tried my bad skin just took over my ilfe.... I refused to be seen without makeup, constantly cancelled plans, could never enjoy being outdoors or going to the lake because I didn't want people to see my pimples/scars. My acne was mild (developed into moderate) and hormonal but left HORRIBLE pigmentation that left bright red marks that lasted forever.. I was even embarrassed to let my family see me without makeup with is pathetic but I was just embarrassed at how gross my skin looked. My breakouts were always hormonal (forehead and chin) but then my acne type changed and I was also developing DEEP blackheads that stayed there forever, and tons of clogged pores around my chin that eventually one by one turn into cysts (so painful and embarassing) I NEVER had acne growing up. My first pimple was at age 22. I've been the derm dozens of times in the last two years. Summer of 2013 I started Aczone and Atralin. Worked WONDERS for a few months and I felt relieved my battle with acne was over. Unfortunately though, those meds stopped working and my acne slowly creeped back and then it was worse than ever. I'll admit that I had a heightened level of stress recently that may have contributed to this horrible breakout but regardless, I was beyond over it and at the end of my rope and on the verge of losing my sanity. I was so tired of being self conscious and spending EVERY waking hour worrying about my face. It was exhausting. So In January of 2015 I went BACK to the derm to start over. He put me on duac. I cried because benzoyl peroxide had dried my face before and I knew it wouldn't work. Well, duac worked SOMEWHAT, removed a few blackheads but I was breaking out horribly around my chin while on it. Felt super discouraged. Then he put me on Finacea (for rosacea), which helped slightly at first, but my chin continued to breakout in horrible huge painful inflamed pimples. One would clear up then two-three more would pop up. I couldn't catch a break. I was in the derm what felt like every other day for cortisone injections. Finally he said well let's try epiduo since you had success at first with Atralin (a retin-a , and epiduo has bp AND a retinoid combined) I went home crying, knowing it wouldn't work. But realized I had no other option but to at least TRY it. I was scared, I was skeptical, I was a pessimist and knew it wouldn't work. I knew i was going to suffer more breakouts but I had to give it a shot. So I did. And let me tell you, all the reviews you read (try and only read 5 star reviews) are so true. IT COMPLETELY SUCKS AT FIRST. I wish it didn't have to, but it just does. But pleaaase remember it is TEMPORARY. The first couple days I used it I had several of those red inflamed cystic pimples flare up on my chin. I wanted to cry (oh wait, I DID cry, a lot), but I decided to trust what people were saying and power through it. If you are able to go in for cortisone shots while you first start this product it at least helps the pain and for them to subside faster. And also pleaaaase don't let this discourage you because you may not purge in big inflamed pimples like I did but I think this happened to me because some of my pores on my chin had such large and deep clogs that it was almost unavoidable having them surface without getting inflammed. Your purging may not even be that bad! But OMG. slowly but surely, I think I found what is going to work for me... blackheads on my forehead are slowly coming to the surface (I have been able to literally pluck some of them out) and know that with consistent and persistent use they rest of them will clear up as well... It sucks purging but I can really tell it is clearing out all my gross clogged pores around my chin as well. It's only been a week, and I still have pimples purging and I know there is more to come, but I am SO much more hopeful realizing that this WILL pass and soon my skin will be clear.. My skin is dry and slightly peeling, but again, I'M PUSHING THROUGH IT AND YOU SHOULD TOO!!!. Fight through it!!!! I plan on updating every week or so with my progress. My skin is far from clear, but I can tell this is working. Give it a shot. OH and use it everyday, I didn't at first because I was scared of the dryness but every day is KEY. attack attack attack that bacteria!!

MORNING:

cetaphil gentle cleanser

finacea

oil of olay oiil-free fragrance free moisturizer

NIGHT:

oil of olay cleansing cloths- fragrance free/sensitive skin

epiduo (SMALL amount on affected area)

30 min later oil of olay oil free fragrance free moisturizer

DON'T GIVE UP HOPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! all my fellow acne sufferers, YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL AND I LOVE YOU!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 5:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was breaking out very bad on my forehead and chin and my doctor prescribed me this. At first it didn't work at all, then it slightely started to improve my skin before everything went sour and my skin ended up worse than it was beforehand. It then got so dry and itchy for a few weeks it was almost unbearable. But in saying that, eventually my skin got over all that and now the cream works like a dream! I have little to no pimples, I haven't had a breakout since and it's also helped with my blackheads. I think it was worth the trouble at the start.


on 3/23/2015 7:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My journey:

Before starting (9.12.14):
Skin has had the worst cystic breakout ever, around 8 cysts on shoulders upper back, 2 cysts near waist line, a lot of clogged pores and small red pimples/ whiteheads. Before I start I just want to say that I apply 3 pie sized drops all over my upper middle back and only apply moisturizer 2-3 times a week. I apply the medication at least 15 minutes after my shower otherwise my skin becomes very irritated and itchy.


Week 1 (16.12.14):
Have alternated days so that I can ease myself into epiduo rather then using it everyday and becoming overall irritated and raw. So far I have around 4 cysts on each shoulder and 2 cysts in-between so around 10 altogether on the upper back. Waist cysts are gone, still a lot of clogged pores/ sebum plugs in the middle and upper back. A lot of small red pimples and blackheads on shoulders. So far not much changed.

Week 2 (23.12.14):
Forgot to update but pretty much identical to week 1.

Week 3 (30.12.14):
Have been breaking out more than usual on my shoulders and center of middle/lower back. Scabs have formed in 2 palm sized sections on my back from scratching my back. Spots are healing faster than normal and leaving quite a lot of pigmentation. Right shoulder went from 2 dark spots to around 8. Lower/ middle center back has been getting worse and feels much more coarse. Can feel the texture and pimples that are under the skin and about to come out. Roughly around 8 cysts on each shoulder per week, and tend to vanish within 2-3 days. Most pimples come to a head. I have taken a couple of photos of my back to see what my back looked like before entering 2015. I also have a bad breakout on my chest along with maybe a yeast overgrowth (folliculitis), which I have been washing with cetaphil daily and treating with benzac 2.5%, cetaphil moisturizing lotion and tea tree oil.

Week 4 (06.01.15)
All the hard sebum plugs and most clogged pores on my back are gone. I still have a lot of dark marks on my shoulders and currently have around 3 cysts on each shoulder and 2 in the middle. Can feel a lot of hard sebum plugs and clogged pores on my lower middle back, I have started applying epiduo there as well. I am currently about 90% done with my first bottle (30g) and am trying to ride it out for another week or so. Still washing with cetaphil daily and have just started exfoliating gently with the body shop exfoliating gloves around twice a week.

Week 5 (13.01.15)
Just had another breakout all over the shoulders. Back isnít that itchy anymore, now I exfoliate around 3 times a week. Pretty much the same as week 4. In 2 days it will be a month since I started using it every day.

Week 6 (20.01.15)
The breakouts on my back have started to calm down. The cream has caused immense hyperpigmentation and scabbing all across my upper back and I have started to half my epiduo size and double my moisturizer to help them heal. I have broken out in 4 big pimples on my lower back but those are probably gonna go away in a few days. Still washing with cetaphil and exfoliating twice a week. Some scabs have started to peel off and burnnnnn when I apply epiduo.

Week 7 (27.01.15)
Forgot to update

Week 8 (3. 02. 15)
Breaking out in mass amounts has stopped but I still have pimples, about 2 on each shoulder sand 2 on the lower neck. Lower back is still purging but I feel like it is starting to get a bit better. My main concern now is the mass amounts of hyperpigmentation and scabs I have. I donít know if itís a chemical burn or something else but it is all over my upper half of my back and has literally shredded my self esteem. Thinking about asking for tretinoin from a dermatologist that im seeing on the 17th. Iím going to start applying only 2 pea sized amounts of epiduo every other day to help heal scabs.


23.03/15 (switched to tretinoin, after giving up on epiduo)
Summary:
NEVER LEAVE EPIDUO ON FOR A FULL 24 HOURS, I HAD SEVERE CHEMICAL BURNS AND SCABBING BECAUSE OF IT. Best moisturser to combat dryness- cetaphil moisturizer cream


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My regular GP recommended that I try this product. I have horrible - as I would personally describe it as- closed comedonal acne. From afar, it appears that there is nothing wrong with my skin, but as you get close you'll see that both my cheeks are covered in teeny little bumps under my skin. occasionally, these will surface into a pimple. They are awful, and when I put makeup on it makes it look like I have disgusting, lumpy skin. I can't even hide it.

Anyways, as preparation, I exfoliated my skin on the first day, moisturized, and applied this product. It seemed to be doing nothing. With Proactiv, you can feel it burning immediately, but with this I felt nothing. I thought it was because I was wearing lotion, so the next day I tried it on bare skin. Still nothing, and it hasn't made my skin dry, change, get better or worse. its been two weeks, still looks the same. I'm very confused, I've never had a product, especially over the counter do absolutely nothing, not even cause redness or side effects. Wondering if this is even working at all? Has anyone else experienced this? I find this very strange.

With Proactiv, it seemed as though it was working and when I discontinued use due to insane dryness, it came back 10 times worse than when I had started.

Not sure what this Tactupump stuff is going to do, but I will report back with results....


on 3/21/2015 9:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've struggled with acne since I was a teen. I've tried a ton of products, and a lot of them worked, but they were cumbersome. Proactiv stopped working. Antibiotics are absolutely horrible for your system (your stomach especially) and nothing organic or natural could touch my cysts.

I started using epiduo and gradually my skin is absolutely glowing. Not a single blemish left. I don't even have to wear makeup anymore. For a girl who's learned how to perfect her makeup to cover up huge, painful cysts, I could not be more pleased.

Give this medicine a chance! Try it for a few months. It changed my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I get this 15g gel from my GP for USD 22 (SGD 30). It is resonable for presciption acne product and I can claim insurance.

Today I am on my 9th day of using this acne gel, it works pretty well, in fact much better than Retin-A. I see no dryness now, no pain no tightness, I guess this gel together with my Clinique 3 steps works well together. There are still some cystics pimples around my chin and cheeks area, I should see how this gel will kill all these badies and I will stop my oral medication.

My routines are follows:-

AM: Clinique Liquid Facial Soap - Clinique Clarifying Toner 2 - Clinique DDML+ - Clinique Even Better Whitening serum -Clinique Super City Sunblock SPF 40 - ZA Whitening 2 way cake

PM: Clinique Take the day off Cleansing Balm - Clinique Liquid Facial Soap with Clinique Sonic Cleansing Brush - Clinique Clarifying Toner 2 - Clinique DDML+ Epiduo Gel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2015 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Review as at Week 5 of treatment;
I figured now was the time to right a quick review (which I plan to edit when this product solves all my problems!).

Im 32 and have never really suffered from acne in the past, but 6months ago I started to get a few spots, which I disregarded as a result of general lifestyle changes (food/exercise/travel/stress etc etc). I went to see one of the best regarded beauticians in Sydney who gave me a long list of new skincare products and I started regular (monthly) Omnilux and microderm. 5months later I have lovely skin except for the acne around my chin/neck which has not improved but in fact got worse.

A few months ago I mentioned it to my GP who wrote me a prescription for EpiDuo, but after reading all these reviews I was too scared to try it. But this year Ė I felt like nothing I was doing was helping in anyway so 5 weeks ago I started EpiDuo.

I started slowly like the instructions suggest, every second night and just used a small amount on the problem areas; after a week I felt like my skin could handle it daily so for the last 4weeks I have been using EpiDuo daily. For the first 2 weeks I put my moisturiser (SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream) on before EpiDuo as a buffer and I really recommend this as to date I have had no issue with skin dryness. The last two weeks I have been applying EpiDuo first and then an hour later I add my moisturiser over the top.

Many of the reviews I have read mention the extreme dryness, but thankfully I havenít experienced this (and I generally have quite dry skin so im surprised). I have however experienced this purging everyone mentioned!!! Looking back at some of the photos ive taken (download the epitracker app to take and compare photos every few days) im astounded to see my skin in such horrible shape Ė its mortifying!

Im 5 weeks in and starting to (almost) see a light at the end of the tunnel Ė my skin seems to be improving (though still worse than it was when before I started using the product) Ė I know everyone says to give it 12weeks so I have every intention of doing that Ė having come this far through the horrible first 4 weeks there is no way im giving up now!!

I will also say that ive experienced only a small amount of pain (more annoyance than actual pain) in the areas im using this, but during the day I do find that I get itchy in the areas I use the product. Nothing too bad and certainly not enough to stop using it Ė but just a warning for others.

Thatís all for now Ė stay tuned for an update in another month or so.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2015 3:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Before using this product I had struggled with acne, I used to get a new pimple everyday. I tried many different types of products (Pro-active, Clinique Acne Solutions line, and multiple drugstore products) all drying out my usual oily skin. Once my doctor prescribed this product my skin cleared up immediately and my skin never looked better, it cleared my acne and faded all my acne scars. I have used this product religiously for a year and a half and only get pimples before my time of the month but they go away within a few days. This is the only product that has kept my skin clear, I can even go a few day without using it and not worrying about breaking out. I use this product with the Cetaphil Oily Skin cleanser (which was recommended by my doctor). I will continue to use this product and have recommended it to friends and family who also have fallen in love this this acne clearing miracle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ATTENTION: this is a must read!
Hey guys so I used to suffer from acne on and off in high school but it comes back every winter and I am 24!
I have tired soooo many products and nothing really worked for me until now.

I went on the Tactu pump on Jan.1 and am now on week 6.

The first month on this was brutal for me. new and old acne and redness.

week 6 is when a miracle happened.

on week 5 I was purging soooo badly. The worst it has ever been and one morning I woke up and all my acne had gone down and all that was left were scars. I am not on week 6 and my face has looked the best it has in two months. Please Please Please stick to this product! I also suggest you MUST MUST MUST go on doxycycline to also calm your face down! You can get a prescription with your doctor. Both using the tactuo and doxycycline will truely save you!

In a nut shell I know how frustrating it is to have acne but you need to eat healthy, get good sleeps, wear No makeup or (Bare minerals acne powder) and Avoid stress! If you are a woman you should consider going on birth control as well!

Good luck


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top