Unlisted Brand • Galderma - Epiduo (aka Tactuo in Canada) • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(173 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 IamnotWhatIam on 9/14/2014 9:26:00 PM more reviews by IamnotWhatIam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this about 3-4 days ago.
I was having one of the worst breakouts of my life with huge pimples filled with pus forming mountains on my forehead that were so painful and greasy. Initially, I had tried to buy Duac for my acne, as it had worked previously, but to my dismay, they weren't selling their product anymore. I was hesitant to buy Epiduo because I've used it before when I was in high school and the results were non-existent, and to some extent had worsened my mild acne so I was scared to buy it and try it again this time around. Luckily, I had decided to go through with it and the results are great so far! The pimples on my forehead have gone down dramatically, they're not as red, they're a lot smaller and they aren't painful to touch anymore! I have extremely oily skin too so after a few days of using this product it dried out my cheeks immediately, which is a little painful, but the results are great none the less :) I still have a few pimples on my forehead and cheeks but they've reduced in size dramatically and it's only been a couple of days so hopefully by next week most of the pimples will be gone :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anadgirl on 9/11/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Anadgirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a miracle in a tube. I have suffered with acne, late in life, for the last 10 years or so...nothing would straighten my skin out. Back in April, I started Accutane after many failed treatments, which did help, but the side effects were so unpleasant...I am currently dealing with vision problems that coincided with the Accutane course, so my doc stopped it and put me on Epiduo in early August....6 weeks in, my skin hasn't been this clear in years...its doing a better job, in a shorter period of time, than the Accutane.

The best part is I have virtually no side effects...my derm asked me to start slowly, 3x the first week, then add a day the next week if my skin was handling it, etc. I quickly worked up to 6x a week with no problem other than a bit of redness at first.

I also have been using CeraVe PM lotion 2x a day, which I believe has helped my skin tremendously...I also just added a 40% lactic acid peel 1x a week.

I finally am getting clear smooth skin, after all these years...wish I had tried this sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gurpreetbola on 9/10/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by gurpreetbola

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just say I an in Love with this product. Nothing else has ever worked for my acne so I finally went to a dermatologist and this is my first prescription medication. I started using Epiduo on the 8th of July and have been using it for about 10 weeks. My face in 100% clear now. I logged my progress on a secret board on pinterest with picrured and captions which I will be copy-pasting onto this review. I have only ever had acne on my forehead and that is the only place I have been using epiduo. I have also been using Minocycline-but I don't that that has helped at all. It did not burn my skin as it did with most people. .

July 9, 2014. DAY TWO. Redness of pimples went down the first night with Tactuo. I took the capsule the next morning and had 7 new breakouts that night. 3 of them forming a small triangle on my cheek which is unusual since I rarely ever break out on my cheeks. Usually only one large pimple, not 3 small ones.

July 14, 2014. DAY SEVEN. 1 week update. Skin looks and feels very bad. I have had pizza 5 times in under 2 weeks. That might be the reason why.

July 16, 2014. DAY NINE. Pimples don't last very long. They are gone within about 3 days (except the 3 pimples on my cheek. Forehead seems much clearer than last night. Woke up with a popped pimple with dried up blood on it, and a few white heads came out while washing my face this morning. I think the initial purging phase is over. Its the first day my skin has been is flaky because of the Tactuo. UPDATE: This picture was taken at around noon. It is now midnight 12 hours later and my forehead already looks better than it does in this picture. The Tactuo burned for the first time tonight when I put it on.

July 17, 2014. DAY TEN. I've noticed that over half of the small flesh colored under the skin bumps visible in the July 9th picture are gone. Skin was flaky this morning but it is now oily at 4:00 pm. Ended the day with no whiteheads, 6 red pimples on my forehead, and a 7th inflamed pimple in my sideburn area, the second one in this area since I started on the treatment.

July 20th, 2014. DAY THIRTEEN. About 1/3 of the bottom of my forehead has cleared up. I haven't been drinking much water, barely a glass each day. I am going to work on drinking more.

July 24, 2014. DAY SEVENTEEN. My skin looks so bad. I think the initial breakout has actually just started.

July 25th, 2014. DAY EIGHTEEN. Gross. So many whiteheads (over 7).

September 6th, 2014. DAY SIXTY TWO. Not the best quality picture. For the first time in about 3 years I happy with the texture of my skin, but the tone still needs to improve. I have 3 small visible bumps from pimples that have already popped. I see 1 more small bump, but am not sure if it's going to turn into a pimple of not. Other than that, I expect to have no new pimples anytime soon-maybe around my hairline because that area does not feel as smooth at the rest of my forehead. I have LOTS of scars, but I expect them to fade within 2 months because I am using Epiduo which speeds up the skin cell turnover, and the scar from the pimple I had on my upper lip on June 18, is almost completely gone and it hasn't even been 3 months yet. It has healed naturally, so I expect the scars on my forehead to heal even sooner with the help of Epiduo. Also, I had pizza about 5 times a week, and wore make up about 2 times a week (usually only wear it once every 1-2 months) during all of August and it had no effect on my acne since I was using Epiduo and Minocycline. TIP: don't stop using this medication once your skin has cleared. It works by unclogging your pored and preventing clogged pores so you have to keep using it. It's kind of like exercising to lose weight, once you stop, you will gain it back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PoonSqaud on 9/8/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by PoonSqaud

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Hi,
I started using this product over 3 months ago to treat my moderate acne which severely effects my confidence. Before this product i was on oral antibiotics and have tried numerous cosmetic creams and natural remedies to cure my acne. Unfortunately, none of these previous methods were successful.
After reading the positive reviews of this product, I had high hopes for this. However, my hopes quickly diminished. I initially had a bad reaction to the cream and broke out, with peeling skin, and my face was red. My dermatologist said it would start to work between 4-8 weeks. Im now past my 12th week and am still breaking out, however the peeling skin has stopped. I've booked another appointment with a dermatologist however I have to wait another 8 weeks for the appointment. Until then I guess I will have to suffer.
I hope this product works for you but for me it has been a total disaster and has prevented me from finding another cure to my acne problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 9/7/2014 11:48:00 AM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The single greatest $35 (with my insurance) I have ever spent in my life. I don't know if there is something above HG, but if there is, this is it for me. This product completely changed my life.

SHORT SUMMARY: I have been on Epiduo for 3 months. I'm going to break down my whole experience below, because I think that it is especially important for this product, but the bottom line is that this works. It is an incredible product, and you WILL go through hell for a few weeks, but if you use it as directed, it does have the ability to work miracles.

Now, onto my experience. First, I had decent skin as a teenager, but the second I turned 22, BAM. Cystic acne all over my cheeks. It was horrible, painful, and demeaning - anyone who has ever had problems with acne knows the incredible hit your self-esteem takes. I literally have not worn my hair up in public or gone out without foundation for three years. I got the breakouts somewhat under control a year in with Mario Badescu products, but I still consistently had flare ups at all times on at least one part of my face. It was awful. I don't really know why it took me three years to get to a dermatologist - part of it originally was lack of insurance, but then it turned into something that I felt like I could fix myself if I just got the right products. I finally broke down (literally) three months ago and decided to just get myself to a derm. She took one look at my face and prescribed Epiduo and three months of the oral antibiotic minocycline (solodyn is its brand name). She basically described it as the minocycline would help the Epiduo work faster, so my timeline below might be a bit different from yours because my skin had that extra push. However, just based on the changes that I saw on my skin, I STRONGLY believe that the majority of skin-clearing happened because of the Epiduo.

Basically, Epiduo is prescription-only (so I feel a little weird recommending it, since it should come from your doctor). It's from the makers of Cetaphil, which is weirdly comforting to me. Mine came in a tube, although I've seen online that some people get it in pump form. It looks and feels like a typical BP cream, as it is a combination of BP and a retinol, adapalene. That combination is what really sets Epiduo apart - most topicals are one or the other. I've had my one tube for three months, and it is not close to running out yet. So it's not cheap, especially if you don't have insurance, but you do get a lot of product for your money.

The most important thing I learned about Epiduo is that it may look like your friendly, familiar OTC BP cream, but it is not. DO NOT PLAY AROUND with this stuff. It's the last stop before the skincare train goes to Accutane-land, meaning it is STRONG. My doctor had me start by applying it twice a week and gradually building up. For my skin type, personally, that felt a bit slow to me and I started building up usage quicker, but that was just me knowing my skin really well after years of experimenting with treatments on my own. I have read online about people using this twice a day - PLEASE DO NOT DO THAT. My skin hurts just thinking about it. I put it on at night, after cleansing my face. I use just a pea sized amount on my finger - you don't need any more than that - and apply it ONLY to the areas that need it. I then wait twenty minutes for it to dry and sink it before I apply moisturizer.

Even starting slow, my skin got INCREDIBLY dry and cracked a few days in. Some days, it was actually painful. I basically had to throw out my old skincare regimen and find the most mild one I could get - a lot of people use a very basic Cetaphil routine with this (again, same company). I personally prefer CeraVe products - I used their Hydrating Cleanser and then their cream at night (I felt I needed something thicker than the lotion), and then a Clinique moisturizer with SPF during theday. The SPF is very important, because Epiduo has a retinol and makes your skin sensitive to sunlight. I used my Clarisonic less with this, because I was afraid of irritating my skin even more. There were points where even putting moisturizer on stung badly. Know that if this happens to you, it is normal.

And then the purging. I've always been skeptical of the science behind purging, but I totally believe it now. About two weeks in, my skin went a bit nuts. Awful, huge red pimples, even in areas I hadn't broken out in before. This is awful and demoralizing and it sucks, but you just have to wait it out. If this is happening to you, DO NOT STOP EPIDUO. Keep going. You just have to power through it. Because of this phase of treatment, I really recommend thoroughly doing your online research before you start Epiduo. Read forums, Makeup Alley reviews, articles - everything so that you have a bit of support to fall back on.

A little over a month it, things started changing. The purging breakouts started to go away and left clear, healthy skin behind. The extreme dry skin had gone away. Yes, there is scarring and discoloration that I am still dealing with, but three months out, my skin is SMOOTH for the first time in THREE YEARS. I literally cannot put into words what this means to me. Now that the retinol is kicking in, my skin just feels so silky and nice.

Seriously, if you are prescribed this, it's scary at first, but you just need to wait it out. Know that adapalene, the retinol in Epiduo, takes EIGHT TO TWELVE WEEKS to start showing results (your skin's cycle is a full 6 weeks, too). This is not an overnight miracle and you end up earning that clear skin, but there IS a light at the end of the tunnel. I highly, HIGHLY recommend asking your doctor about this product if breakouts are doing anything to hurt your self-esteem or starting to affect your day-to-day life. This product changed my life, and that is no exaggeration.

ETA: I also recommend not getting your brows waxed while you're on this. Just don't.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 franneh on 9/2/2014 1:17:00 PM more reviews by franneh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Here's my experience on using TactuPump thus far:

1st week: Tightness, dryness, burning, flaking... you name it. The first week is by far the worst. On some nights, I had troubles sleeping because I was in such discomfort. Started to get discouraged because my skin looked and felt worse than ever, but the doc warned me that this would happened at the start. Power through! It gets better. You have to be patient.

2nd week: This is the week where I started to break out like CRAZY... in places I rarely even break out! Mainly on my cheeks and chin. I could tell that all the bacteria / whiteheads were almost drawn out of my skin. The side effects still persisted, with the addition of redness. On some days, I could barely wear any makeup.

3rd week: Horray! Some side effects have subsided. Less burning, dryness, and tightness, but the redness and breakouts are still happening. I have to say though, my old acne / scars have flattened out. Feeling much more encouraged each day I use it. Will update again soon.

Tips:
*Use a gentle cleanser + moisturizer with this. I use Cetaphil oi-free cleanser (they send you a free kit if you sign up on the website with your DIN code), and Cetaphil Restoraderm Moisturizer --> this is essential, IMO. very moisturizing, which is what you need, because Tactupump is very drying!
*Do not, I repeat, do NOT apply the gel anywhere close to your eyes! It WILL make your eyes swell up and it's not pretty. I use one pump for my whole face. Trust me when I say this is plenty. It's a very strong medication. I apply only to my forehead, cheeks, and chin. Avoid the hairlines as well.
*Don't apply Tactupump under your makeup. I tried this once and it just made my skin very tight and dry throughout the day. Just apply once before you goto bed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oosagi on 8/31/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by oosagi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this for three weeks now. It's amazing. My skin hasn't looked this good since I was twelve. I had acne as a teenager, and it just never went away as an adult. I've tried Retin-A twice, the second time in my late twenties, and it was just too irritating for me, I had to stop after a year and a half because no amount of tweaking my regimen would calm the redness and burning. I was using Acne.org's benzoyl peroxide regimen for a few years, but recently it just wasn't cutting it. I went to my doctor and reluctantly asked for a retinoid, with no great hope it would help because I'd had such a hard time with Retin-A. He prescribed this, and I couldn't be happier. The first week I had some irritation, a bit of a worsening of my acne, and some peeling. I started out applying every other night. Since the second week, my skin has just been looking better and better every day, with barely any irritation despite using it every night. Recall though that I was already using benzoyl peroxide every night, so my skin was already toughened up to that medication. Currently I only have rapidly fading pigmented scars left now, and the texture of my skin is soft and amazing. I practically glow. I did not believe there was a product out there that could give me this great of a result.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katy2404 on 8/24/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Katy2404

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Since coming off birth control pill in January, my skin has hone crazy with acne. I had really painful large bumps on my skin, as well as a lot of clogged pores and blackheads. I had tried. Number of things and was getting very depressed with the state of my face. I went to see my doctor who prescribed this. Thank God she warned me about what would happen to my skin at first otherwise I would have given up on this after a week! First day it stung a bit but felt fine, 2nd and 3rd day pretty similar. By day 4 my skin turned really red and sore, by the end of the week my skin was a mess! Thank god I was off work, my skin was so red raw and literally peeling off. I persevered as I hoped I would get past it, and I did! By week 2 my skin was a lot better, redness and drying reduced and acne about 60% better. I have now been using this for a month and my skin feels so good! Smooth as a baby's bum and only get the odd little pimple, which clear up really quickly. I am so pleased and would urge anyone with acne to use this. You must follow this up with a good moisturiser or it will dry your skin out. I use cetaphil on particularly dry days or on dry patches, but most of the time (once my skin had settled) I use clinique dramatically different oil free gel, which I also love, and also think this has contributed to my skin being so much better.

Will never stop using this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 em1991ma on 8/20/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by em1991ma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After continuous years of searching for a miracle product and years of being disappointed by products failing I have finally found one I am extremely satisfied with. I have to admit that I didn't want to have to deal with any of the side effects like the dry skin or itchy face and would do my best to avoid products that would cause those things. However, with the right products you can manage all of the awful side effects that come with using products that actually work.

I started using Tactuo 2 years ago but because it was causing my skin to become so painfully dry I just stopped using it. This was after I tried to scrape all of the dry skin off my face with a dry towel and then load on some random $4 moisturizer. I was torn between having clear skin in the long run and covering up all of my dry skin and pimples in the short run. So after a couple weeks I just gave up. I decided the product wasn't for me and I didn't want to deal with the dry skin.

Then this summer my skin got progressively worse. There wasn't a day that would go by where I felt comfortable without wearing any make up. There was always SOMETHING I wanted to cover up. I tried washing my face every night with regular soap and it worked for about a week and then everything came back and nothing could get rid of it. I would have days where I would say "oh my god my skin looks so clear today" because I only had 10 pimples and not 25. I would get everything from the small tiny pimples around the sides of my face to the large, ingrown and painful pimples, primarily on my chin.

Then recently I just had enough of feeling self conscious and decided to give Tactuo another chance. I still had so many refills on my prescription since I stopped after using my first bottle. The first week was everything I expected. Painfully dry skin and impossible to cover up. I had planned to go to a concert on the first Saturday since I started using it again (6 days later). On Wednesday I woke up with three massive pimples on the right side of my chin. I was panicking and didn't know what to do. When Saturday rolled around, it had only gotten worse. The pimples were so red and obvious that it made me want to cancel my plans and skip the concert. I tried powder and liquid cover up and NOTHING worked. It only agitated my dry skin more and I looked like a fish (from all of the scales of dry skin). That was one of the worst concerts I have ever been to. I tried dropping my hair in front of my face a lot so no one could see the unavoidable pimples, I tried standing only on the left side of people so they couldn't see the left side of my face (where all those horrendous pimples were), I tried sneaking off the bathroom to "recover-up" the pimples. Nothing worked, and it was hands down a terrible night. I couldn't enjoy myself because I just felt like everyone that passed me was staring me down.

On Sunday I was extremely upset that I let my skin get in the way of my having what was suppose to be an amazing night. It sounds ridiculous to people that have never had skin this bad, but to people that know what I am talking about, you know how frustrating it is to skip plans or hide out at home because your face is breaking out so bad. I was ready to give up on Tactuo yet again, but I figured if I just gave it more than a month I would see some real results. That day I went to Shopper's Drug Mart and started searching for things I should have purchased when I first started using Tactuo.

I made three purchases that completely changed the reaction my skin had from Tactuo
1. Neostrata Infusion Hydrating Cream
2. Cetaphil Face Wash
3. Professional Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System

My nightly routine consists of all three of these products as follows:
1. Slash water on my face
2. Put one pump of cetaphil on the head of the cleanser and dab it on my cheeks, chin, and on both sides of my forehead.
3. I turn on the OLAY cleanser and gently start moving it around my face - head spins in a circular motion and has two speeds.
4. After about a minute of cleansing my face, I turn off the electric cleanser
5. Splash more water on my face to remove the face wash.
6. DAB face with clean, gentle towel
8. Pump Tactuo bottle ONCE and spread the small amount all over your face - avoid going really close to your eye area as this area tends to dry out relatively easily
9. Let Tactuo set for about a minute
10. Put on moisturizer - I dab my finger in once and dab across my forehead three times, my nose, and cheek. Then dab my finger in a second time and dab along cheek bones and jaw line. Your face shouldn't feel heavy when you're done rubbing it all in.

In the morning I follow the exact same steps except number 8 and 9 because I do not put it on before I go to work and you shouldn't either. Once a day is more than enough.

After a week of religiously following this procedure I have noticed a dramatic change in my skin. Its not perfect, but I am starting to feel a lot better about it. I have noticed I am not really getting any new pimples and the ones I have are starting to disappear very quickly. My skin is not dry at all except from some minor areas around the edge of my eyes, but barely noticeable.

I have attached links for all of the product I purchased so you know what they look like and can search for other possible places you can get them (if there aren't Shoppers Drug Mart's in your area). I am aware that people's skin reacts differently to every product so if you have a moisturizer that works for you then keep using that one. Mine is specifically for acne prone and naturally oily skin. The face wash generally works for everyone because it doesn't include ingredients that agitate the skin.

1. http://www.cetaphil.com/cleansers
2. http://www1.shoppersdrugmart.ca/en/health-and-pharmacy/personal-care/skin-and-acne-care/details/075609037047
3. http://www1.shoppersdrugmart.ca/en/health-and-pharmacy/personal-care/skin-and-acne-

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theah89 on 8/9/2014 6:39:00 PM more reviews by theah89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is hands down the best acne/scar treatment and anti-ageing cream. Having used benzac, differan, contraceptives, proactive etc....nothing tops this! I suffered acne from the age 13-21. It was never bad enough to go on Roaccutane, but was still bad enough for me to constantly be worried about my skin and be self conscious. It is a prescription product, and can be used along with a three month course of antibioitcs to get things moving and clearing up at the start.

I honestly wish I had used this from the beginning! With all acne treatments, I started off using it second daily in the evening and did have some redness, flaky skin and itching for the first few weeks. The cream has vitamin A (a no no if you're pregnant or trying to conceive) which speeds up skin cell growth and renewal, hence the flaking skin. This was mostly around my neck, lips and chin, but I used rosehip oil/sorbolene cream on top every night and it settled. I soon graduated to using it every night with a heavy moisturiser/oil and my skin adjusted easily.
It changed the entire texture of my skin. Beforehand I had a constant sheen, red acne marks and scars with active pimples daily. After a month or two, these completely cleared up and when I did get the sporadic pimple they resolved much much faster. My skin felt tight, with even tone and best yet, no pimples or scars!! I do think this also helped break the cycle of my acne issues as I do not use it as regularly now.

Several months after starting this product, I had what anyone suffering bad skin would count as a miracle. To this day, I still remember I was in a pharmacists looking for make up. I was on the way to the beach, had absolutely no make up on but regular 30+ suncream all over my body and face. Needless to say I felt oily and greasy at that time. A woman walked past me, stopped in her tracks and tapped me on the shoulder to tell me she thought I had the most beautiful skin she had ever seen. I phoned my Mum straight afterwards nearly in tears and could not believe what had happened. This product literally changed my entire perception of my skin for the better and I still recommend it to friends and family.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products