Acne Treatment: Epiduo (USA) / TactuPump (Canada)

4.0

202 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

adapalene (0.1%) and benzoyl peroxide (2.5%)


on 2/25/2015 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Review as at Week 5 of treatment;
I figured now was the time to right a quick review (which I plan to edit when this product solves all my problems!).

Im 32 and have never really suffered from acne in the past, but 6months ago I started to get a few spots, which I disregarded as a result of general lifestyle changes (food/exercise/travel/stress etc etc). I went to see one of the best regarded beauticians in Sydney who gave me a long list of new skincare products and I started regular (monthly) Omnilux and microderm. 5months later I have lovely skin except for the acne around my chin/neck which has not improved but in fact got worse.

A few months ago I mentioned it to my GP who wrote me a prescription for EpiDuo, but after reading all these reviews I was too scared to try it. But this year – I felt like nothing I was doing was helping in anyway so 5 weeks ago I started EpiDuo.

I started slowly like the instructions suggest, every second night and just used a small amount on the problem areas; after a week I felt like my skin could handle it daily so for the last 4weeks I have been using EpiDuo daily. For the first 2 weeks I put my moisturiser (SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream) on before EpiDuo as a buffer and I really recommend this as to date I have had no issue with skin dryness. The last two weeks I have been applying EpiDuo first and then an hour later I add my moisturiser over the top.

Many of the reviews I have read mention the extreme dryness, but thankfully I haven’t experienced this (and I generally have quite dry skin so im surprised). I have however experienced this purging everyone mentioned!!! Looking back at some of the photos ive taken (download the epitracker app to take and compare photos every few days) im astounded to see my skin in such horrible shape – its mortifying!

Im 5 weeks in and starting to (almost) see a light at the end of the tunnel – my skin seems to be improving (though still worse than it was when before I started using the product) – I know everyone says to give it 12weeks so I have every intention of doing that – having come this far through the horrible first 4 weeks there is no way im giving up now!!

I will also say that ive experienced only a small amount of pain (more annoyance than actual pain) in the areas im using this, but during the day I do find that I get itchy in the areas I use the product. Nothing too bad and certainly not enough to stop using it – but just a warning for others.

That’s all for now – stay tuned for an update in another month or so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/14/2015 3:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Before using this product I had struggled with acne, I used to get a new pimple everyday. I tried many different types of products (Pro-active, Clinique Acne Solutions line, and multiple drugstore products) all drying out my usual oily skin. Once my doctor prescribed this product my skin cleared up immediately and my skin never looked better, it cleared my acne and faded all my acne scars. I have used this product religiously for a year and a half and only get pimples before my time of the month but they go away within a few days. This is the only product that has kept my skin clear, I can even go a few day without using it and not worrying about breaking out. I use this product with the Cetaphil Oily Skin cleanser (which was recommended by my doctor). I will continue to use this product and have recommended it to friends and family who also have fallen in love this this acne clearing miracle.


on 2/10/2015 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ATTENTION: this is a must read!
Hey guys so I used to suffer from acne on and off in high school but it comes back every winter and I am 24!
I have tired soooo many products and nothing really worked for me until now.

I went on the Tactu pump on Jan.1 and am now on week 6.

The first month on this was brutal for me. new and old acne and redness.

week 6 is when a miracle happened.

on week 5 I was purging soooo badly. The worst it has ever been and one morning I woke up and all my acne had gone down and all that was left were scars. I am not on week 6 and my face has looked the best it has in two months. Please Please Please stick to this product! I also suggest you MUST MUST MUST go on doxycycline to also calm your face down! You can get a prescription with your doctor. Both using the tactuo and doxycycline will truely save you!

In a nut shell I know how frustrating it is to have acne but you need to eat healthy, get good sleeps, wear No makeup or (Bare minerals acne powder) and Avoid stress! If you are a woman you should consider going on birth control as well!

Good luck


on 2/4/2015 12:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So I've been struggling with awful acne for years and basically as long as I can remember. I woke up one day with a pimple and the war started. I always prefer natural products, and I tried everything. I hated the girls who flipped out when the had one zit while I had zillions. I am a dancer, so I sweat a lot and I stopped wearing hairspray to try to help it. I had awful blackheads and cystic bumps. It was painful and embarrassing. I was so self conscious but I refused to go to the dermatologist because I am stubborn. I tried every expensive product, natural healing remedy, and cheap drugstore. My skin was really oily. I could go on and on. My mom took my sister to the dermatologist and asked me if I wanted to go, but of course I refused because I don't agree with modern medicine most of the time. So, my sister got prescribed on this and I watched her and noticed how clear her skin was getting. She had worse skin than mine, all of a sudden hers was clearing up. it was BEAUTIFUL. I was so jealous of her. So one night, I decided I had enough of my acne and I swore to get rid of it. My mom said I could try the EpiDuo if I wanted, so I did. Gradually, my skin started to get clearer. At first, my skin was super dry, but I changed my face wash to Cetaphil and I got an extremely heavy moisturizer. It has helped so much! I still have blackheads, but they easily come out. I only get a pimple every few weeks, and most of the time it's small and not noticeable. This product has truly changed my skin, it's finally beautiful! It's not oily, it's barely breaks out, and I am confident for ONCE in my life. I couldn't be happier with it. NOTE - DO NOT APPLY AT THE BEACH IF YOU HAVENT BEEN IN A WHILE. MY SKIN CREMATED EVEN WHEN I WORE 100+ SPF. BE CAREFUL AND CAUTIOUS!


on 2/3/2015 1:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Speaking purely from my own experience with Epiduo, I don't have many kind words to write. My acne was never really severe or covered my whole face, it was mild but at my worst it was very bad and my forehead was covered in blister-like pimples at 14 years of age. My doctor first prescribed Duac (which is probably the best product I've used so far) and my forehead pimples were practically gone. However, 30g doesn't last you long, and I had to return to the doctors. As the pimples had targeted my cheeks and tiny dots were reappearing on my forehead, my doctor decided to prescribe a stronger product, Epiduo. I was always very careful when applying, read the instruction manual I was provided with and always cleansed my face and I don't have sensitive skin. However, after applying Epiduo the burning sensation was unbearable. I made the silly mistake of applying a liquid eye makeup remover (literally the tiniest amount) around my eyes and my skins reaction to the chemicals in both products resulted in burning was so bad I was in tears. There were so many times I wanted to avoid putting it on my skin. I continued "treatment" for around two months and there was no sign of improvement whatsoever! My skin was just red, dry, itchy and burned. (Mind you, make-up didn't burn my skin as others have said, nor a cleanser, but moisturiser was excruciating for me). I think I'm better off with Duac or trying a new product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So to start off I have combination, acne-prone, sensitive skin. Great combo I know. I first heard of this gel when I got a sample from my GP for cystic acne on my chin and jawline, which really helped at the time. Recently I've been dealing with hormonal acne around my jawline and cheeks, and I"ve tried everything to get rid of it. I changed my diet, I changed the products I was using, but nothing helped. So I went to my doctor and he recommended Tactuo. I got a prescription, picked it up that day, and I've been using it every day since. It's been about a month now so I think I can give a fair review. I went through one major breakout during the second week, and one this past week. Aside from that, my pores have shrunk (especially on and around my nose and forehead), the hormonal acne on my cheeks disappeared, and the acne along my jawline improved. I'm dealing with some scarring right now but I'm patiently waiting for it to all heal without picking at it!! Everything is looking great otherwise, I'm not getting any new pimples. I'm still seeing blackheads though, and I'm hoping with further use those will disappear.


on 1/30/2015 12:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I struggle to give this a bad review because I can see how it has helped so many others. But I will share my experience. I've never really had super sensitive skin but as I've gotten older, I have noticed that I get more irritation acne rather then hormonal acne. I went on epiduo not because I had severe acne but because I've ALWAYS had acne. I mean for the last 10 years it has been a struggle and it only seemed to be getting worse. I would say my acne was moderate to sometimes (with the blow of a wind) light. Before Epiduo, my skin could tolerate 10% bp like a champ. My skin never gets ice pick scars but does get acne marks (hyper pigmentation) really easy BUT they always heal very quickly....except when I was on Epiduo. Which is the reason I stopped. 3 months into it I noticed how poorly my skin was healing. It was red, acne everywhere that lingered forever and acne marks not healing and I even noticed some very slight ice pick marks. This, along with the fact that my skin was clearly broken looking, like all of its natural defenses were gone and it was no longer human skin, was why I had to quit. I tried slowing it down, applying less and less, but then I realized, that it never helped me skin at all, it only made it worse, and it made it hurt, so why was I putting myself through this?

Anyway it has now been 3 whole weeks since I've stopped and my skin, although still breaking out, is much better now. It's back to being almost human skin again, and even though I do break out, its a lot easier to deal with when your skin doesn't look like its supposed to be a halloween costume of an acne'd burn victim.

The thing that stinks most thought is that I now have SUPER sensitive skin. I had to stop using face wash and can only tolerate water. I can't use BP anymore not even 2.5% and salicylic acid leaves my face SO dry. I can only use really simple organic stuff, nothing active what so ever.

So now that my options for pretty much all skin care items are gone, I have to go on Accutane starting in a few weeks, which has always been a heck no for me because of the possible side effects. But now I honestly see no other way and neither does my derm.

My acne marks and even those tiny ice pick scars are gone now thought (thank you cocoa butter) so I guess once you give your skin some time to heal the effects of Epiduo are not all permanent. Though I'm not sure if my skin will ever stop being sensitive.

I guess my verdict is that you may be able to do really well on this if you have a certain type of skin that can handle the sensitizing effects.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Do I recommend Epiduo? Yes - if you don't have sensitive skin.

Beginning - 9 weeks: It burned to the point where I'd struggle to not scream for about 1-1.5 hours after the application. I would put my face against a wall to cool the burn. This is how harsh the ingredients are. Make up stung. It'd look flake-y and putting anything on my face strung. My skin was raw, shiny and red. Everybody commented. It was that bad.

Post 9 weeks - It began to get better. No more intense pain. My skin cleared up 80% and has stayed that way since with daily application of Epiduo. Definitely not as pain free and as effective as Duac which I was previously on before becoming immune to its antibiotics.

Now - It has thinned my skin to the point where my face is and looks flushed at the slight increase of temperature. This is quite embarrassing at it is very noticeable. I don't like how it is not entirely effective and is particularly hopeless against monthly skin imperfections.

Overall, a mixed review.


on 1/14/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using Epiduo for five months now. I took Solodyn 80mg with the Epiduo for the first three months,but not sure if it helped. I began with moderate inflammatory/cystic acne on my cheeks and jawline. My skin's very sensitive so I took a slow approach to beginning Epiduo. For the first two weeks, I used it every 3rd night. Then I continued to use it every other night. I applied Cerave PM each night and that really helped. In the mornings I used gentle cleanser and moisturizer. At times my skin was a little pink and irritated when I woke up, but I didn't experience dry patches and peeling. It took me four months to be able to use it every night without any irritation.

As far as my acne clearing...it was a very rocky road. Some weeks my skin would look mostly clear, and other weeks it seemed as though I had no improvement. After two months, my Dermatologist said he could still see a lot of acne rising to the surface (Purging). He added Sodium Sulfacetamide as a night-time wash to speed up the process and help fade my hyper-pigmentation.

After a total of four months, I finally had at least 90% improvement. Since then I've had at most one or two small bumps on my face at a time. If I would of given up because I was still breaking out at the two month mark, and even the three month mark, I wouldn't be enjoying my clear skin right now!


on 1/10/2015 10:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I started this stuff last year for congested skin (lots of bumps under the skin) after doing the oil cleansing method which I really don't recommend btw- worst decision. I wrote a weekly journal while taking this medication and just warning you that at the 4-5 week mark you're going to be worse than you were initially- all those bumps under the skin started surfacing into pimples that I could now easily extract. This is the purging process and it is necessary. It is a very scary and depressing few weeks but stick to it and write a journal like I did trust me it helps. I did have to use this every other day at one point, but now tolerating it daily. This stuff saved my skin guys. It took about 3 months to clear off majority of the junk and now 8 months later my skin is completely smooth and free of scars (I recommend using a good serum such as the c15 from paulas choice which greatly helped with my scars). One word of advice: do NOT OVERLY SQUEEZE/PICK your skin while using this! It causes you to scar very quickly (ie dark spots) and you will greatly regret it - only use proper technique to extract your pimples ie using a sterile needle on a clean face and gently extracting pimples with a white bump on them, with clean fingers/qtips. I am going to keep this stuff as a staple in my skin care regimen, and eventually just switch to benzoyl peroxide only when I ever get pregnant because the adapalene shouldn't be used in pregnancy. Guys please go to your doctor and ask for this. It saved my skin and I look amazing now. I am So much more confident now, I take less time to get ready in the mornings because I'm not working on covering those scars with makeup, and im just happier and comfortable in myself. It is worth the money to try it. Ask your doctor for samples because sometimes they have them. Good luck lovelies!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
523 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews

Top Rated Treatments (Face)

Back to Top