E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

842 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 7/30/2015 11:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Not bad, especially for the price point!
This makes my eyeshadows 'pop' more. I still get creasing, but only after about 8 hours (I just can't wear makeup like I used to where everything lasted on me all day, even without primers, things just change sometimes, esp as we get older), and I do not think this makes my eyeshadows last longer. HOWEVER, I do see potential with this, especially if you are budget-minded and want an eye primer.

One final note is, this takes a long time to dry, for me, anyway.

Not a bad primer, but certainly not the greatest. I appreciate that it makes certain eyeshadows 'pop' more for me. One other note, I really have to be careful not to get this in my eyes, because for me, it stings/burns. I know you should be careful with any eye product, but at the same time, I feel a liquid-type product such as this that goes near the eyes should be gentler. For me, getting this in the eyes can not only burn/sting, but sometimes makes my eyes water..and if I've started my makeup, that can be a pain to re-apply or touch-up.

Not holy grail but would not be opposed to re-purchasing at some time in the future. I find I just have to be uber-careful and use super-sparingly. And also helpful to apply first-thing, so it can dry!!!! ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

A great eye base. I love ELF and this is another hit from them. No creasing and it cancels out any discoloration. Makes shadows POP


on 7/23/2015 5:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite eye primers in the drugstore! It's SUPER cheap! It's only $2 and it works great for me! My eyelids usually get oily throughout the day and if I don't have a primer underneath my eyeshadow, it turns into a hot mess! This E.L.F one works wonders for me and for super cheap as well! If you can't afford the Urban Decay Primer Potion, I highly recommend that you try this one! It compares to the Primer Potion but it's a lot cheaper and I think it works just as well! It blends onto the eyelids very easily and it doesn't feel sticky, but it still has a dewy kind of texture that will make your eyeshadow stick to it.
My only complaint is, just like a lot of people have been saying on the reviews, it does dry out easily and it feels like there's not as much product in the tube. However, for me, mine was pretty dried up from not using it for a while and I was still able to use it.
I also dance and I ALWAYS use this during my dance performances and my eyeshadow rarely gets messed up!


on 7/12/2015 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Works pretty well by itself to cover the veins on my eyelids and to keep them matte. It works well with most of my eyeshadows but I have noticed it can crease depending on which formula different brands of eyeshadows I use. Still for such a good price I will definitely continue to repurchase! Wish it had more in the tube though, but I guess you pay for what you get


on 7/4/2015 7:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a few months at least.

Pros:
- No artificial scent.
- Cheap.
- Only a little is needed.
- Does keep eyeshadow from fading.

Cons:
- Not much product in tube.
- Drys out (faulty packaging, not airtight?)

I got this with the Disney Cruella and Ursula palettes that I just had to buy because of the artwork. I wasn't super impressed with the eyeshadows but the primer actually became my go-to for everyday. Disclaimer: I'm not somebody who has a lot of trouble keeping eyeshadow on, but that might be because I mainly only ever use LORAC (call me a snob, but I just can't be arsed to mess around with poor quality eyeshadow. My eyes get red and water easily so I try to subject them to as little poking, tugging, and prodding as possible.) I do experience a little fading at the end of the day and this works great to prevent that.

I also like that it has a little pigment in it, although I feel sorry for the darker skinned users who probably don't appreciate the bright cream color it comes in. Having super whitey-white Asian skin, it saves me time so that I don't have to put as much or any concealer on my lids. I like the doe-foot applicator too, it always has the right amount on it because you only really need a tiny bit.

Downsides: Of the two tubes I got, one is completely congealed. I guess it wasn't airtight because the cap was screwed all the way on. I can't really complain for $2(?) but that's something to be aware of if you really like it -- buy two and avoid disaster!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2015 9:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm giving this product a high rating because it's dirt cheap and works wonderfully (as good as the Urban Decay eye primer).

HOWEVER, I have to agree with Dollief's review below, it is dry and it feels like there's no product in the tube. This is the reason I would never repurchase.

I am currently using e.l.f. Cosmetic's Mineral Eyeshadow Primer and it's much better! It's more opaque than either the Urban Decay or the e.l.f.'s Essential Eyelid Primer without being cakey and it lasts all day. Also when I use it I don't feel like I have to scrape the bottom of the tube to get some product (like the Essential Eyelid Primer).

Love this.


on 6/27/2015 7:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Black

This did nothing for my eyeshadow. My eyeshadows creased, they didn't look vibrant and didn't increase lasting power at all. It's better to just put on a moisturizer on your eye. it'll do the same thing as this

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2015 3:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This Primer is amazing! its cheap price is a plus! I have been using this for the past 3 weeks daily, this really holds the eyeshadow longer without creasing. I have a hooded eyelid, which makes my eyeshadow creased, without using eyelid primer, I can see those eyeshadow build up like cake on my lid maybe after 4 to 5 hours? and the eyeliner also smudge..
But after using this primer my creasing problem ends! a little of this goes a long way.. it holds up the whole day :) I use to apply my eyeshadow at 9:00AM and its still intact until 9:00PM after work..my eyes were still fresh..no touch up!
Yeah, its not quite good like urban decay eye primer that says it can pick up more product than Elf Primer, but Girls, I promise this is a must try.. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This primer works great for oil lids. I can't wear eye shadow without primer and I use this primer every time I wear eye shadow. It lasts from morning til night with only minimal creasing towards the end of the night. If I swipe a little shadow on halfway through the day there is no creasing. For only a dollar it is definitely worth it.


on 6/21/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Brilliant product especially considering the price.


Back to Top