Bobbi Brown • Pale Mauve Lip Color • Lipstick

rated 4.3(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 noreenmalik on 4/21/2014 2:44:00 AM more reviews by noreenmalik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as pale pink was a bit peachy on my NC25 skintone and thought it is a blue pink but it is more chalky and nude against my skintone than pale pink.since i like the formulation of the original lip colour formula by BB i am cherishing it at the moment and can always enhance the colur with a lipliner like Mac Soar.I have Mac Angel but the consistency of this lipcolour is much better than Angel, which did start to look too ashy against my skin tone.After initial application the colour sets to a beautiful sheer lip colour and on full face of make up it works as an ideal nude.Have to work carefully with this colour when wearing minimal makeup but on a full face of makeup, i think i can carry it easily.so overall not disappointed but it is lighter than my natural lip colour.pale pink was a perfect match , not nude but more warm toned.It is meant for light/cool skin tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Raphaelachka on 3/13/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by Raphaelachka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say I am loving this lipstick color. My original favorite lipstick was mac angel, as I like how it works with my tan olive skin tone, but the consistency of the mac lipstick always bugged me. It dried out my lips every time i used it and the color was starting to look chalky and tacky on me. I already love bobby brown foundation and concealer and decided to give their lipsticks a try and I am glad I did. SUCH a great color and the consistency is much better than what I am used to. Not only that, but nudes are very very popular for this spring and I will be using pale mauve as an every day lipstick for any occasion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 puttay on 4/15/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by puttay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite "nude" lipstick at the moment. (I am the palest pale person, with pink undertones)


Bobbi brown never seem to fail me when it comes to lipsticks, they always have a lot of great natural hues (which I love) and the consistency of the lipsticks are always smooth and creamy!

The color of this shade is pretty pigmented, however still opaque enough to blend with the natural shade underneath. - I love it!

The creaminess unfortunately also cause less lasting power, which is a bummer :/ But it still stay on for quite some time though!


BB have a pretty wide range for really pale skin tones, and this one in particular do very well on pale skin!

When I wear it, I get a very ballerina feel because the color is so light and neutral pink. It goes with both light plummy, pink and coral blushes and even look nice on tan/bronzed skin! I think that it due to the neutral shade, it it neither blueish or orangy.


Finding good looking nudes are always a struggle for me! (Mac's "nude" lipsticks fx often look wrong on me, they are either too pink or white, making me look either washed out or like a clown - and usually too thick in consistency for my taste! A lot of them also tend to make my lips look cakey and dry - However I do own a few Mackies I really like!)


Anyway.. Back to subject!


4/5 stars! Thank YOU Bobbi Brown!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/16/2013 1:51:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This is an amazing product line. I love how creamy yet long wearing these lipsticks are. Pale Mauve is literally the closest thing I have found to a true MLBB swatch. It is perfect for the no make up look for me. And I am in love with the formula! HG status!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 1/5/2012 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the only BB lippie colors I can wear...I was told the line concentrated on warmer skin tones, which I believe based on all the colors I've tried in the past. Pale Mauve is an almost perfect nude on me. I tend to wear cooler colors..and this has enough blue in it to work on me. I like the creamy texture, and we all know they don't last. It's not glossy or matte...just a nice moisturized look with no shimmer. Looks great with a smoky eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StilettoVixen on 11/3/2011 1:26:00 PM more reviews by StilettoVixen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this color. I'm smack dab in between NC 45 & NC 50 and this is the perfect pale pink without looking ashy or crackhead pink lol. It also lasts a very long time it is a creamy consistency not glossy which I like because I don't have to reapply it 1,000 times a day. Its a fresh way to wear a nude look without it being too pink or too washed out. LOVE LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xoxokris on 4/24/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by xoxokris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color in the tube but on me, it is wayyyy too cool toned. I have cool skin and yet this washes me out like no other The texture is really drying but I moisturize a lot and I usually wear gloss so it's not noticable on me. Staying power is good. I am definitely willing to try another color but this one just did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coolbabe377 on 2/18/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by coolbabe377

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Yes...I will be buying this lip color again, because (like the BB colors that I love)...this one is gone. I've been taking my lip brush and getting the last little bit out. So sad when that happens.

I'm surprised that I never reviewed this lipstick on Makeup Alley. It is one of my favorites.

When it came out (quite a while back)...I tried it on at Nordstrom, and looked in the mirror. It looked horrible...just horrible (like I had put that sixties white lipstick on with a little pink/violet), so I walked out of the store without it.

When I went out to my car, I thought I'd look at it again, and...wow!...the most beautiful innocent color. I usually can't wear light lipsticks (and this is light) on my pigmented lips, but this one is sheer, pulls no browns (thank goodness...a lot of hers do), and looks just right. My own natural lip color shows through, so I look polished but it's that "no makeup look".

And...even though I always write that most of the Creamy Lip Colors are creamy...that doesn't mean that I don't put lip balm under them. They have balm-like qualities, but I really need a lip balm underneath (I use Burt's Bees). I've always used one...since my teenage years...a long time ago;) Guess my lips have always been dry.

The only thing about this lipstick that I didn't like was that it was extremely soft, and a part of it broke off...awwwww!

When I wear it under fluorescent lighting...I wear something darker and more colorful with it (I remember what it looked like under the store lights), so it's also a great mixer...to lighten things up a bit.

HTH's

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 9/27/2010 1:07:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Because my lips are so naturally pigmented, and the fact my mouth isn't as youthful as it was some years ago, I tend to lean toward the more neutral pinky shades. Nudes are hard for me b/c they turn orange--actually, a lot of shades turn orange. That said, I picked this up on a trip to the outlets. It was one of the few BB purchases I've made during the course of many years.
Pros: LOVE the color!! As I stated, my lips are naturally pigmented. This shade went on nice and pale, but not TOO pale so I didn't look like a worn-out dupe of Dusty Springfield. Didn't look purple-y or bluish either.
Cons: Not long-wearing. Within fifteen minutes of wearing this, I end up retouchnig. I've basically given up.
Dry. Dry. Dry. I realize that some reviewers did not have this issue, but on my mature, dry lips, I really need to use a balm over this.
You know, this is an issue that really drives me nuts. BB is what--50-ish? She should be making her lipsticks more moist and creamier.

Although I love the color, I would not repurchase this lip color. I will stick with my tried and true YSL lipstick. Creamier.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luckyhipo on 9/19/2010 8:39:00 AM more reviews by luckyhipo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely my favorite lipstick at the moment. I am not a lipstick fan and have been stop using it for a while since my lip is in such bad/dry condition due to dry weather. But this is really nice and doesn't make my lips flake. Texture is creamy and not much fragrance in it, which is great. Color is nude pink with a hint of cool undertone, looks fantastic on with my Asian skin-tone. Will repurchase this item and it really worth the price!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Lipstick products