TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer


398 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$


Mica, Isoeicosane, Polyethylene, Boron Nitride, Polyisobutene, PTFE, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491.

on 10/5/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

A great highlighter, and honestly it's a pretty good price tag compared to others. I own 3 of the Becca highlighters and it's significantly cheaper. While I do prefer my Becca highlighters because they have smaller shimmers in them, this is still a great addition to your makeup collection. I'd rate this a 4.5/5 mostly because I wish the shimmers were a tinyy bit smaller and less chunky. I am not too much of a fan of the packaging though, it's kinda cute but I like my makeup collection to look sleek. However it's a good quality package, doesn't feel breakable or weak which is more important. Still that's with me being very critical; this is still a beautiful highlighter.

As for the colour, it's like a pale gold, which I can see would be suitable for almost every skin tone except my super deep gals. It's right between Becca Moonstone and Becca Champagne Pop.

It's quite a strong highlight, so if you're not into that I'd stay away from this one and go with something like lightscapade from Mac because that one is very much so a 'glow from within' and not glam.

on 10/5/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This highlighter is nothing short of amazing. The Balm's Mary Lou Manizer was my first highlighter to enter the many in my collection, but it continues to be one of my favourites. Whether you are looking for a dramatic "can be seen from outer space" highlight, or a subtle, luminous glow, this highlight will do that for you! Using a fan or stipple brush, this product can be built up to pretty much any level, and due to its overall softness, blending it out is very easy, making it IMO ideal for almost any skin tone.

While, many people may stray away from this highlighter due to the ~$30 price tag, this product will last you years, even with daily use. Also, if you are patient, The Balm can frequently be found on sale making down the overall cost to only a little higher than drugstore alternatives. I really think that if you are on the market for a highlighter this is the one to get. In contrast to some other highlighters, I feel this one is truly universal and there is little to no risk that someone would be unable to pull it off.

ALSO! As previously mentioned, I have a number of other highlighters including Wet 'n Wild's "Reserve Your Cabana" and Hard Candy's "Tiki", which are often toted as being dupes. In my opinion however, both of those highlights are much more sheer than Mary-Lou Manizer, and require quite a bit of building to even obtain any sort of glow. This is problematic in comparison to The Balm's highlight because I find that when building these products up the highlight can look very cakey and accentuate pores. In addition, while all three highlighters are golden-champagne, I find both "Tiki" and "Reserve Your Cabana" to be just a little bit darker, which consequently limits the audience in which they are suitable towards.

on 10/4/2015 7:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

At first I didn't even think that there was a need to write a review because of all of the amazing reviews already on here but, yeah this stuff really is as amazing as everyone says. Period.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/25/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Holy smokes this stuff lives up to its hype.
It is insanely pigmented: tap your brush once for a subtle, pretty look , tap your brush in twice for a more dramatic look and so on. Be careful how much you put on your brush because you can very easily overdo it. Start small and build it.
The colour is a platinum, champagne, gold, with glimmery shimmery glow. Beautiful and it has that wet look; perfect for strobing.
I put this on in the morning and use a setting spray either fix + or skindinavia and it lasts all day through work.
Took off a lippy for the packaging because you have to really dig your nail in to open it and (don't hate me) but I'm not a fan of the artwork on the lid I think it looks tacky. This is just me being really picky though, the product itself is excellent. The price is good especially compared to Becca which I can't justify buying because it's so expensive. But now there's no need since I've got my holy grail high lighter. Will repurchase mary lou manizer, again and again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 9/20/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The Mary Lou-Manizer has been in my make-up arsenal for YEARS... I discovered it at 15 and still love it now (when TheBalm had giveaways on their Facebook page, they even gave me a free full-sized one for comment-of-the-day!). A little goes a long way, a compact can last me 1-3 years.

Mary Lou is a wonderful nude champagne that looks great on all skintones - I'd say it's neutral since it's neither too gold or too silvery. In the daytime it's very obvious that you're wearing shimmer because the sunlight will catch on the microglitter - but looks ULTRAFAB in the evenings and nights if you go clubbing or want to look glowy and polished for dinner. Another thing that's great is that it avoids being powdery, as most highlighters can be.

What I like to do is lightly pat some highlighter onto the area underneath my eyes (I don't do the "C") to make my cheeks POP, onto my forehead closer to my brows, chin, and the strip down my nose. I don't have a flat face, but there's something refreshing about nicely placed highlighter.

If you like a more subtle glow, reach for MAC's Lightscapade. I can buff on as much of Lightscapade onto my cheeks and it'll never look overdone - and they're both the same price. However, Mary Lou-Manizer is definitely an old-faithful. ;)

EDIT: I also like to take a flat eyeshadow brush and smooth a little bit into the inner corners of my eyes, with the end result being something that looks exquisite. It makes a really great multi-dimensional eyeshadow and brow highlighter as well. Play around with Mary Lou!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 9/3/2015 5:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My go-to powder highlighter. The colour is beautiful and like others have said, you only need a little to achieve a gorgeous glow. It isn't the most natural highlight so if you're going for a highlight that isn't obvious this might not be your thing, but for anyone else I'd recommend it.

What I also love about this is that for me it's a multipurpose product. I also use this as an eyeshadow paired with a brown grease colour, gives me that perfect everyday eye makeup look that brightens my eyes, especially the inner corners.

Will definitely repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 8/27/2015 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

-Gives you a LOT of glow! Totally changes the look of the face. Gives a wet shine look
-Very beautiful warm champagne with a little bit of gold shade: suits every skin color
-Very smooth texture!
-A little bit goes a long way
-Cant deny the very cute packaging!
-Definitely long lasting: I can still see it at the end of the day
- I think the price is reasonable

-For a very natural makeup/ no makeup makeup, this might not be the highlight to wear...It definitley doesnt give a natural gives BAMMM GLOWW. (it is detectable on the face)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 8/22/2015 11:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

so gladddd i purchased this even though the price was a bitt over my budget.. gives me that glow ive been wanting for so long now.. i have purchase a few of the balm products and they were all superbb!!! will continue to purchase in the future!!

on 8/18/2015 10:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i debated buying this for so long and i'm glad i did. i purchased off of amazon as it was constantly out of stock at rexall here in canada, and was $10 cheaper online.
the packaging is fun, just like the rest of the brand, but it is also quite sturdy. the colour is a champagne sheen. one swatch is very pigmented. i have to admit that it doesn't look like anything special in pan - just a nice champagne colour, but it translates beautifully on the face. it is so glowy and gorgeous without being gilttery. it's not what i would describe as a subtle highlighter but probably can be if applied very lightly. i like gleaming, sheeny highlights so this is perfect for me. it can easily be built up to give that super-lit look that is very popular now. some people like to rock highlights visible from outer space, so this is a great product for that. i suspect it would lovely over cream highlights like my benefit watts up as well. this is a stellar product from thebalm.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this highlighter, a little goes a long way so even though it's pricey it will last a long time. For folks on a budget wet n wild reserve your cabana is a beautiful highlighter also.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated TheBalm Products


Mary-Lou Manizer

398 reviews

Frat Boy

54 reviews

Down Boy

65 reviews

Hot Mama

213 reviews
Back to Top