E.L.F. • Studio High Definition Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.2(556 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sarahashleymac on 1/19/2015 3:59:00 PM more reviews by sarahashleymac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I have super dry skin, but my foundation tends t wear off throughout the day and cling to dry patches. I just needed powder to set foundation on my nose, jawline and forehead so that foundation would stay put and avoid transferring onto my cell phone, glasses and and scarves. Omg this powder is awesome. It is so finely milled and leaves your skin incredibly soft. It blurred pores and imperfections while preventing shine, transferring, clinging to dry patches and oxidation. It's amazing and soon much cheaper than my MAC powder! My only complaint is that it can be a little hard to find in Canada, and sometimes the packaging is messy. But I would absolutely recommend this to anyone with dry skin or oily skin. Btw I used this with the Wayne Goss method and it worked great too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 randers on 1/13/2015 2:40:00 PM more reviews by randers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

A complete dupe for MUFE HD powder. Nice packaging, great product, low price. The powder is completely transparent on your skin and does a great job of mattifying and blurring. It doesn't get any better than this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicanp on 1/7/2015 7:59:00 PM more reviews by jessicanp

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't expecting to be so surprised by this powder, but I was! I'm way oilier than most people who identify as "very oily" and have pretty much accepted my fate as an unavoidable grease spill, but this stuff controls shine beauuutifully. I touch up twice in a span of about 8 hours (unfortunately that can't change but whatever), and I noticed that each time I blotted off significantly less oil than usual. When I got home, not only was my face almost matte, but the makeup underneath had stayed on strong all day; even my undereye concealer looked presentable. As long as you only lift off a part of the seal and keep the puff in the (quite large and clunky) container, application is not that messy. But seriously, I can't complain considering the price and quality of the product. As a bonus, this powder doesn't have high toxicity like a lot of other makeup, and that's amazing. My Rimmel Stay Matte has met its last days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alishai66 on 1/5/2015 10:54:00 AM more reviews by Alishai66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Brilliant affordable product, you cannot go wrong with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharkah on 12/31/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by sharkah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this stuff! I use a liquid Foundation then this powder and a foundation powder. Makes my makeup stay longer, brightens my face and helps keep my face less shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 astr323 on 12/15/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by astr323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do like this powder, it's pretty finely milled and does an okay job of setting makeup. makes ur skin feel hella smooth and soft. to be honest I'm not really sure what the point of powder is beyond mattifying foundation/concealer so I can't really tell you how good this product is vs competitors' products simply because it doesn't do much. keeps makeup matte for an okay amount of time, you should expect to have to reapply after two or three hours. also - not a ton of product! I know it's only $5 but I feel like this stuff doesn't even last a month. I'm probably just gonna end up popping the container open when I run out and refilling it with cornstarch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 puffybubblezz on 12/14/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by puffybubblezz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was really curious about the good reviews on this product, as I'm kind of a powder junkie. I have this in the original and the yellow. I wanted this product for oil control, but it's pretty bad at it. I'm oily within 3 hours. Rimmel Stay Matte does a better job, for less money and with less mess.

However, the powder is extremely silky. It has a good slip and makes the skin very smooth. It's a bit too pale and doesn't serve my purposes so I only give it 2 stars. Someone with dry or normal skin will probably like this better. But I think there are better powders out there, like Mac Prep & Prime or Coastal Scents silica powder.

I will credit it for having a yellow tone. I always want yellow powders since my neck is so yellow but I've since discovered Meow Cosmetics and now I'll never go back to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elektraza86 on 12/14/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Elektraza86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have super dry skin, but sometimes my foundation slides around and emphasizes dry areas. I never dare use powder for fear of totally over exposing this issue and looking like the ultimate, hot messed cake face.

In fact, what I experienced using this powder over my foundation or even on bare skin alone was something very different from other experiences. This is a clear, unscented, non lightening, non shimmering, perfectly matte and perfectly soft powder. It actually sets the foundation and it doesn't move. The soft little puff it comes with is really great too. You know for a brand like elf, they really do have nice packaging. You get a lot and it's 6 dollars. This would easily compare to any high end setting powder. I even used a light brushing on my under eye concealer. Works like a charm. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babycat1973 on 12/4/2014 2:23:00 PM more reviews by babycat1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a while and I still can't make my mind up! When I first put it on, I hate it, as my face looks so pale (I apply with the puff that it comes with and then dust off any excess with a fan brush). By the time that I've driven to work though, my skin looks good and very even and even my pores seem to have disappeared. The best bit is that it lasts all day. I have quite greasy skin and while wearing this my face doesn't turn into an oil slick, even when I'm in the car all day with the heater on. My fiancé loves it and says it looks great, if only it wasn't for that initial look like I've seen a ghost...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deviationize on 11/25/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Deviationize

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is simply AMAZING!

I purchased it on a whim when I was browsing through Target. I was running out of my Rimmel Stay Matte and wanted something new to try and keep me matte/set my makeup for the day. For around $8 I figured I'd give this powder a try.

At first, I just kind of dusted a very tiny amount on my face and saw no dramatic difference. I did notice, however, that I wasn't as oily throughout the day, so I continued using it. After a while I started packing more powder on my t-zone and under-eye area. I cannot describe how velvety soft my skin feels when this is on my face! I notice an absolutely dramatic difference when I put more product to set the concealer under my eyes, and it stays stunningly soft all day long. When I concentrate it more around my t-zone, I don't have to touch up even once throughout the day.

I've also started using it as a highlight, believe it or not. I simply pack a lot of powder where I normally would highlight (high on my cheekbones, under the eyes), then I let it sit like that while I do my eye makeup. I dust the powder away with a brush and it leaves the most gorgeous highlight on my skin!

The powder itself is incredibly soft and light. The way it feels between your fingers is, I kid you not, how it makes your skin feel. For someone like me, who has terribly uneven skin, it's really a game changer. I do recommend using a brush and not the powder sponge it comes with, because I find the sponge packs too much product on places where you may not want as much.

The only downfall to this product is the packaging. It's not terrible, mind you, but it can get messy. I know that mess is hard to avoid with loose powders, which is why for what it is it's not horridly bad. In fact, for $8 it's more than what I would expect. And of course, E.L.F. is cruelty free, which is always a plus.

All in all, I cannot rave about this product enough. I'll actually be repurchasing it because I've been using it so much! Absolutely love!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Loose Powders products