E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder

4.2

566 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica Amorphous. (ONLY 2 INGREDIENTS.) (RATED LOWEST TOXIC FACE POWDER ON EWG)


on 4/25/2015 2:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Right now, i'm in love... When my bf saw me on Friday (the first day i tried this powder), he said "Ohohooo good makeup day! Looking gorgeous!" I used primer, bb and this HD powder (and nude eyeshadow and a nice pink lipstick) - i looked spotless for 10 hours, and it gave me a really natural finish! The packaging is really bulky (seriously, elf, is that much plastic necessary? it can survive an atomic bomb...), but kinda nice looking, i like looking at it on my drawer. The white furry thingy coming with it is worthless, but at least stops the powder from spilling out. So, apply it with a brush instead. If i don't get zits of it, this product is HG!



on 4/24/2015 3:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily/combination/acne prone skin. I bought this powder in translucent.

PROS:
- Very light powder, not heavy or cakey at all
- Helped keep my oil under control
- Decent price (around $6)
- Didn't gather around my dry spots
- Didn't clog my pores or break me out
- No talc
CONS:
- I got oily again after about 3 hours
- Can leave a white cast, but only if you use a heavy hand
- Bad packaging

I would recommend this for all skin types, but would warn ladies with very oily skin that you won't stay matte for a very long period of time. Good product overall, I only suggest that when you use this powder, you leave the puff (it comes with a puff) inside the container and only remove it when you use this powder. Otherwise, this stuff will go all over the place.


on 4/19/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

Got this at a sale a few months back and have been using it quite often on my tzone. It's a very fine powder, but I wouldn't say it's a dupe for the MUFE HD powder, it can leave quite a white cast if you don't blend or buff it in. The amount of product that comes with it seems quite little, but then again you get what you pay for. I like the packaging design but it's a pain to get the powder out, there's quite a wastage of product there. Other than that, I quite like this powder, it sets, it's mattifying, looks great in pictures. I have read reviews that it's difficult to pick the product up with a brush cos of the silicone content/it's better to use the puff that comes with it, but I prefer using a brush. Overall a 3.5/5!


on 4/17/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this about 2 years ago - in my first and last ELF tryout - I had the translucent (no pigment) version. I can't understand how anyone can compare this to MUFE, when you put MUFE loose powder on bare skin, it immediately sets and creates this beautiful area of silk splendor, when you put ELF powder on your bare skin it's very much like flour. They are a mile away from each other.
The container was almost full when I threw it away.
Yes, the price is unbeatable, but I wouldn't pay 1 cent for a product I won't use :)

So, I guess, if you're happy with overall quality of ELF products (which I am most definitely not) this might be a good choice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Amazing product! Have repurchase about 3-4 times already. Gives a great silky feel to the skin, and is a great setting powder.

The only issue i have with this is the packaging, very bulky and the powder tends to get everywhere if you don't leave the little powder puff inside.


on 4/9/2015 9:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just got this yesterday because I had read it was a great dupe for the NARS translucent setting powder. While I haven't purchased an HD setting powder before for reference, I was pleasantly surprised when I applied it over my concealer and foundation. It did give a nice airbrushed look and didn't take much. It also leaves a matte finish but didn't look dry on me. For $6 USD at Target, you can't go wrong with this purchase. I used it on top of Kat von D tattoo concealer and Lock - It Tattoo foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 9:56:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a great high def powder for the price. I was using MUFE hd powder and liked it very much. I spotted this Elf powder for cheap and decided to give it a try. I don't think most people would be able to tell the difference between the two. So, I'm very pleased. I will definitely buy again though this is a large container that will last for a long time as I rarely reapply it. I don't have oily skin or shine issues. My skin is normal. This powder gives a nice matte finish without using much. The container isn't bad. I don't toss mine around so it doesn't spill out of the sifter. The powder puff is nice. It's just bulky and the plastic seems cheap compared to other packages but no biggie since it is cheap! Anyway, good stuff!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 1:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal skin and I got this as an extra in an exchange and decided to try it out. I thought it was excellent at drying up my skin. It could have been more finely milled but for the price it is a great deal. Although I'm still not sure what possessed me to try it as my skin doesn't exactly need help with becoming a desert.

I may have used a tad too much as I could see a slight white cast but it's not something I would have noticed if I weren't looking for it. I do think the packaging is a bit bulky and as it's a loose powder it may not be the most convenient for someone who travels frequently.

I passed it along to my oily skinned sister who enjoys it. I wouldn't personally repurchase it since it doesn't suit my skin type (I didn't knock down points on the rating for this as this is entirely my fault) but for anyone with oily skin looking for a powder to help control it may be a good fit.


on 1/28/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think this powder is great if you can wear it. You can't beat the price, and I love the look it gives over tinted moisturizer and concealer since I don't like to wear foundation if I don't have to. The problem is that it seems to break me out. The breakouts aren't bad, but every time I use this powder, I get a new zit. These seem to go away quickly when I stop using it, but sadly, I think I'll have to search for something else.

I suspect that my skin just may not like the high dimethicone content in this powder as I sometimes but not always breakout if I use primers with dimethicone. i wonder if it might be a matter of concentration.

Takeaway: This is definitely worth a try for the price. I wish I could use it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 6:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first ever HD powder i have brought and i must say it has really been quite useful especially for those days you don't feel like putting a heavy powder on over your already foundationed (i know this isn't a proper word hehe) face so this is great for just giving you a nice matte/light coverage.

When im doing a proper job of my make up ill applying this over my rimmel stay matte powder and it looks really nice, it just blurs out my imperfections and almost gives an airbrushed look to your skin.

Price: Great!
Quality: Fantastic (you don't have to skimp on quality for the price of this product like some other products)
Application: easy! i apply mine with the powder puff given (although id suggest buying a better quality one) and then i just lightly dust off the excess with a powder brush.
Packaging: it can be a little annoying when your trying to get the powder out.

Any hoo! if your wanting a good hd powder for an extremely affordable price id go for this one.
x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top