Joico • K-Pak Color Therapy • Shampoo

rated 4.2(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ntapia on 3/8/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by ntapia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so i hadn't really given salon shampoos a shot. I tried them here n there but didn't find anything too special about them. I figured that drug store shampoo and conditioner worked just as well. Well, I found a new favorite. I tried the Joico K-Pak Color Therapy shamp/cond. and loved them. My hair feels so clean and the 'feel' seems to last a couple of days. My hair feels lightweight but well conditioned. I will definitely keep buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 giggles292 on 7/15/2013 7:20:00 PM more reviews by giggles292

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for a week now and my previously bleached wavy hair is so much softer and not as frizzy. I bought this since it was on sale so cheap; a liter of this from ULTA for $15.99! Luckily I only bought one set (shampoo and conditioner) since after reading the reviews here on MUA about these bottles going bad after 8 months due to the breakdown of the proteins. After I finish these bottles if there is another sale at ULTA I will definitely repurchase since I love the smell, the way my hair feels clean, and the high lathering properties of this shampoo which are the most important qualities I look for in a shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shandwork on 6/24/2013 6:04:00 PM more reviews by shandwork

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first tried this shampoo I was disappointed and put it away at the back of my vanity. I decided to give it another go because I just really couldn't believe it wasn't any good.
I put my glasses on and read the tiny print on the back of the bottle which said " Apply to wet hair and lather. Rinse. REPEAT."
Maybe that's what I had been doing wrong, only shampooing once. I didn't think that could be it because my hair was dry and frizzy, so washing it twice made no sense. But I thought I would use exactly as directed and see what would happen.
Well, believe it or not it made a huge difference to shampoo twice and then use the matching conditioner. My hair was beautifully soft and manageable. I only used a little curl cream on ends of hair and that was it. Perfect.
So if you have this shampoo and it didn't quite perform as would have liked, try washing with it twice. It made a huge difference on my frizzy hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mariaodowd on 6/18/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by mariaodowd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Thankfully I only bought this shampoo in a sample size, along with the conditioner and treatment oil. My hair is a bit dry from colouring but not very bad. This shampoo did no better than a bottle of 2 euro shampoo from the supermarket. It was alright but definitely does not justify the price. For the price of this stuff I would expect to get a 'wow' result, it only gives a 'meh'. Will not be buying the full size bottle. If only I could find somewhere that sells Colet products, best shampoo ever but I can't find it any more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SleepIsTheCousin on 2/21/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by SleepIsTheCousin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For hair color staying power, this shampoo did its job. For just a shampoo, overall cleanliness, moisture, and how it made my hair feel, it was so average. I'm an every-other-day hair washing kind of girl, but this made my hair greasy quickly, especially if I styled it. I am a fan of Joico products generally, but this just didn't do it for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 2/16/2013 8:44:00 AM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So I ruined my hair with cheap dye :( I can't afford to have my color put in at a nice salon every 8 weeks, so I started using box color. Switched to a brand of color I thought I really liked, but realized after a few uses that the stuff was frying my hair - which I'd been coloring for years with no issues :(

I tried baking soda and vinegar, which made my hair wonderfully manageable but pulled out the color. I tried drugstore stuff, which made my hair tangled and so that it quickly got greasy.I tried natural brands and didn't care for several of them. Finally, I sucked it up, went in for a haircut and asked the girl what color-protecting shampoo she'd recommend.

She raved about this one and I walked away with the gift pack of the small bottles, to try it. The price isn't terrible - I honestly expected worse for high-end stuff, and I don't shampoo every day so I figure it will last. After just one use, the texture of my hair was SO improved. Silky, soft, snarl-free and light/not weighted down. I waited a few days before using again to see if it would get super greasy in between washes like it used to, but it doesn't! My hair feels wonderful and looks great. I will keep using and probably go back for bigger bottles next time. I find the smell pleasant, fruity and not offensive at all, and I'm sensitive to a lot of fragrances so that's saying something. I'm excited to keep using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 1/7/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This smells wonderful and has a pearlescent color. It gave a creamy lather but left my hair feeling clean after I rinsed it out. For reference, I have curly and medium textured hair that is prone to frizziness and can get dry during the winter months. The regular K-pak shampoo left my hair feeling brittle and flyaway even though my hair adores products with protein in them. This is more pleasurable to use. My hair comes out soft with more defined curls and shine. Bought the gift pack at my local beauty supply and very happy I took the risk. Paired with the matching conditioner, it does a good job. I see less shedding in the shower.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mirrkat on 1/7/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by mirrkat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I am a bit torn....My biggest con is the smell. It has the scent of those sunless tanner lotions. Its too much at first, but I guess you get use to it. I'm going to be honest, its way overpriced ! For something that costs so much you should be saying "WOW my hair is amazing!!" I just expected a bit more of quality.

My biggest pro is the shine it has added to my hair and it has definitely made my blonde streaks sparkle.
I got this on sale and I use it when I get my hair highlighted. It lasts you a long time.

Unless its on sale, I am not sure I would buy it again. Again its not awful, but I wouldn't jump to say its spectacular just yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 1/2/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up on a whim at Marshalls for $10. 16 oz bottle with a pump.

It cleans nicely, without stripping or overdrying.

It does contain amodimethicone, which for now is OK for my hair, but in different weather or if used as my sole shampoo would give the dry hair, greasy scalp, and other negative effects noted by other reviewers here.

ETA: After using this 3 consecutive days, instead of sporadically, my scalp began to get greasy and itch like crazy. For me, I know this is due to the amodimethicone content being too much for my scalp. I missed it when I first read the ingredients, because it was all the way at the very end. So if you are 'cone -sensitive, beware.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Starjazzmine on 11/11/2012 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Starjazzmine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have been using the K-Pak Color Therapy for about 2 weeks now and love it, although I noticed a difference after the first use. Very high quality, silky, lathers nicely and smells wonderful, like apples. I also use the accompanying conditioner, but I find I don't have to use it every time. Love this stuff! I should note that I bought my stuff from a salon not off ebay or Amazon.

For reference, I have fine highlighted and low-lighted hair. I blow dry and flat iron everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products