FairyDrops • FAIRYDROPS Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 atlantis804 on 7/5/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by atlantis804

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this mascara!! Let me say that I am no Newbie to mascara. In the last 2 years I have actually been on a mission to find the perfect mascara. I have even owned and used Chanel, Benefit's 'They're Real' mascara as well as other top line cosmetic counter and drug store brands. For Christmas last year I got a gift set of mascara from Sephora that had something like 8 different top brands as well.

I love the shape of the brush, which may even be the key to this mascara. It goes on nicely, and not just the few times after you open it, but right until it's finished. No clumping, smudging, flaking or undesirable effects. I just grabbed another one on-line!

My very close second choice to this one is L'Oreal's Voluminious in black. Which I was really surprised by. Each time I tried a new mascara I would use the Voluminious on my left eye and the new mascara on my right for comparison. My goal was to find one better than Voluminous, which Fairydrops did.

Had this not come in my gift set I doubt I would have ever tried it as the exterior packaging of the container itself looked to hippy-like and not something I would take seriously. So you just need to get over the packaging and embrace this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 winghin on 6/27/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by winghin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm quite attracted to the packaging at first and did a lot of researches before purchasing. I've got oily eyelids and quite easy to have smudges for the eyeliners or mascara if I don't use the "right" or waterproof kinds.

I've tried many drugstore brands that are waterproof and unfortunately, they all smudge on me. quite embarrassing. my first mascara's a japanese brand called heroine and it never ever smudges on me. this is the second mascara that i've tried and works wonderfully well. I've purchased the waterproof one. Of course though, it's not for those that wants to remove their makeup easily. I normally get the "good" makeup removers to have them removed. not all japanese brands work well though, I've tried the MJ brand and unfortunately smudges on me in an hour or two. yup, not good when you have to hang out with your friends your bf.

as for results, this makes my lashes look full and long. i always get compliments and sometimes get asked if i'm wearing falsies.

will definitely repurchase. unfortunately, sephora don't have this anymore...but i'll purchase it online from sasa.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 5/29/2013 10:04:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was one of the mascaras in Sephora's Lash Stash a year or so ago. I no longer see it listed on their website, and it's a shame, because I love this mascara. It fans my lashes out beautifully while giving me plump volume and separated length. It's the fanning out effect I get that really makes this mascara stand out to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ProductJunkieneedsherfix on 5/4/2013 12:09:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkieneedsherfix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to love this mascara because it magically (ok, they are little fibers that attach to the ends of lashed, not magic) lengthens lashes. It can be a little difficult to prevent clumps with this mascara, but it really does create dramatic, long lashes. Recently, however, various drugstore brands have caught on to the fiber trend and created their own versions which are just as good and MUCH cheaper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vagabondking on 1/2/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by vagabondking

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

firstly, i think i need to set some things straight. there is a difference between the Original Fairy Drops mascara, and the Fairy Drops Scandal Queen mascara. a lot of the reviews seem to be for the FD Scandal Queen mascara, and not the original one, even though the main picture is for the original formula.

the original formula comes in a bright pink tube with white and blue artwork. it does not contain any fibres. it can only be found in Asia or online (and is actually inexpensive). actually, it has also been discontinued.

the one sold at Sephora is the Scandal Queen version (and is totally overpriced). it comes in a metallic tube with red artwork, and is formulated with fibres.

so they are actually not the same. same brand, yes, but not the same formula. that being said, i'm going to talk about the Original Fairy Drops mascara, which, yes, has been discontinued, but i felt i must do its memory some justice.

the packaging for the original one says this: "FAIRY DROPS Mascara’s brush is particularly designed. Lumpy brush ensures perfect contact with every lash for volume, curly and no clump eyelash look.
Water-proof formula works to resist water, sweat and sebum. Long-lasting wear is guaranteed. "

lofty claims, but it lived up to them all. this mascara was my HG (i use past tense, because as i mentioned before, it has sadly been discontinued). i got a tube while i was living in Hong Kong where the climate is hot and humid pretty much the whole year. this mascara thickened, lengthened, and defined my lashes beautifully. all without the use of fibres. it also held my curl and lasted with no smudging or smearing whatsoever. it was also surprisingly easy to remove (with eye makeup remover, of course). i also never experienced any irritation when i wore it (and i only wear mascara when i'm wearing contacts/circle lenses).

i had tried countless other mascaras, but none were able to stack up to my Original Fairy Drops. i even tried the FD Platinum mascara and the FD Volume Burst Waterproof mascara, but it just wasn't the same and the fibres bugged the hell out of me. it just makes me so sad to see it go.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* azmuslima on 12/11/2012 9:10:00 AM more reviews by azmuslima

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The MA at Sephora recommended this mascara since I mentioned I was looking for a mascara that would give volume and hold a curl.

Firt Impressions: Hate the cheap chintzy looking packaging and was skeptical about the brush.

Application: The brush makes it hard to get an even application even when applying as the MA suggested with the curved part of the brush. Some of the mascara gets to the root and then some does not because of the bumpy brush. The fibers in this mascara are not apparent and I would not have known they were there if the MA had not told me. I really hated the application and it took 3 coats to make it appear that my eyelashes had any thickness. NOT a volume producing mascara. Mascara does not add volume or length and barely holds a curl after curling my eyelashes...terrible product for the price - Maybelline has beeter mascaras!

Wear: It wears okay throughout the day with no smudging and minimal flaking.

Removal: The only thing I did like about this mascara was the easy removal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ricksgirl32 on 9/20/2012 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Ricksgirl32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received a mini version of this from a friend,and the packaging is very cute and the brush design very cool looking however the product itself was not so great for me,my lashes are med-long length naturally curled,application was difficult,it was clumped and sparse in areas I found applying it to my lower lash line nearly impossible :(
After application,one of my eyes immediately began watering and was irritated when I checked it in the mirror there was fibers under my eye,it had barely dried and was already flaking off.
i immediately removed it but eye irritation continued for at least 30 mins.I had also noticed that 2 of my lashes fell out,whether it was the mascara or not I can't be sure.
I do like the brush and may try it w/a diff mascara but would not purchase a full size of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebemdee on 8/7/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by rebemdee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It took some messing with this product to get it to look right. At first I just got spider eyes. I figured out I had to really curl my lashes, do a light coat, use a lash brush to separate, and then add multiple layers on the outer lashes, with some drying time in between each layer. It's more work but it does give good definition and length, and it stays put with no flaking all day. It's a decent product.


Edited now that I've used it for two weeks: It's a pain in the ass. It's too much trouble to apply without getting clumps or my lashes all stuck together, and I hate that even with makeup remover I always wake up with smudges under my eyes and little mascara tubules all over my face and pillow. It's pretty and the ultimate look is great, but it's too much effort and mess.


Final Edit: I threw it away. It was such a mess to clean up at night, and even with eye makeup remover, I still woke up to racoon eyes and little mascara tubules all over my face. Just not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meertiger on 7/16/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by meertiger

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My HG mascara! Gives my lashes a lengthened and volumized look, lasts through incredibly humid and sweaty days without smudging or flaking, and is amazingly easy to remove with makeup wipes. After using this, I can't use anything else!! I highly recommend for people living in humid environments.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladytr0uble on 6/24/2012 3:25:00 AM more reviews by ladytr0uble

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

NEW HG mascara!! I've got the typical Asian lashes: sparse and straight. My mascara routine: curl lashes, Shiseido Nourishing Mascara Base, then Fairy Drops mascara. When I bought this on my sister's recommendation, I was not wow-ed. My sister swears by it, and says it even makes it through jujitsu. I liked it, it wasn't any much *better* than my HG mascara: Fiberwig. It applies a tiny bit thicker than the Fiberwig so yes, my lashes are thicker but it is also more obvious that I have mascara on. While the Fiberwig looks so natural that it can fool my mother. My lashes are longer and it holds the curl. And since it's $2 more for the Fairy Drops, Fiberwig still wins.

But then....
I got caught in a down-pour. No exaggeration, the skies opened up and dumped sheets of rain on NYC and here I was: no umbrella. I found my way to my destination and looked at myself in the mirror: my eye makeup (Fairy drops Mascara, Milani Liquifeye) was exactly where it was before Mother Nature dumped 10 gallons on water on me. I had a tiny bit of smudge on the outer corner of my eyes, but that is normal on any evening as I have very oily lids. I expected some fibers on my cheeks, etc. but found none.

Fairy Drops for $2 more is now my HG mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More FairyDrops products

More Mascara products