Illamasqua • Matt Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 summerbluejay on 7/1/2014 10:30:00 AM more reviews by summerbluejay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Normally my foundation will melt and disappear during the day. But this one helps my face less oily. But i use this one with matte veil though. If u have an extremely oily face like me you should check it out. It really helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sharnnaxo on 8/3/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Sharnnaxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is amazing! My skin is so oily and shinny and really hard to control, this has now become my holy grail! Every girl needs this, its goos for those summer days when you need to control the shine

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharonsevea on 6/17/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by sharonsevea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this with my illamaqua skin base foundation. It has uva and uvb filters which is a bonus and keeps my skin matt for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 6/16/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was convinced I should buy it since I have oily skin and have bought the Skin Base fnd. I think it doesn't make anything except the fnd glides nicer. I wouldn't buy it nor recommend it. The good thing it is silicone free, and no silicone derivatives: I haven't found a not silicone based primer at other brands.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katieeholliday on 5/19/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by katieeholliday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this to mix with my skin base foundation to thin it out, and it's okay. Not the best primer I have tried, I have oily skin around my t zone and this primer feels quite greasy on my face and doesnt seem to dry at all. The bottle is great though because it's squeezy, but it coems out more like a liquid so you've got to be careful not to squeeze too much! I'm 50/50, sometimes I like it sometimes I don't! although it smells like caramel, lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Brid1 on 4/5/2013 5:42:00 AM more reviews by Brid1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was impressed overall with the the SA at Selfridges in Birmingham and very impressed with her make up and her overall knowledge about the products. I am a primer junkie - having tried so many and always on the look out for the HG product. The first problem I noticed was that my foundation changed to an orange colour and took about 5 minutes to tone down again! Very odd and slightly disconcerting as it changed the overall colour without a doubt. I noticed that one other reviewer mentions the same problem! This is not a problem I have ever noticed before with other primers such as MAC, Urban Decay, Lancome, Daniel Sandler, Estee Lauder etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jlbre5 on 10/2/2012 3:42:00 AM more reviews by jlbre5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

So far my favourite primer. No silicone, non-slick, non-greasy. I use it under Skin Base.
Pros: Says Matt finish, but has a nice subtle sheen to it still. Makes make-up last ALL day. Smells lovely (vanilla), doesnt break me out. Great container that will allow you to use up all the product. Made in Germany.
Cons: Its got the consistency of glu (-1 lippie)
VERDICT: Love it, holding out the title of HG (just in case) but will definitely buy again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 COCO792 on 8/30/2012 11:19:00 AM more reviews by COCO792

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a new primer after my Urban Decay pore perfecting one ran out. and since I knew Illamasqua is a great brand with great products, I decided to give this a try.

I chose the matte primer because I want my primer to make my makeup last longer, rather than look luminous (plus I have slightly oily skin).

this feels quite light and runny when you apply it, but if you put too much on it can feel heavy. it also doesn't spread too great either so you have to be careful and try to make it spread as far as you can with as little product as you can get away with.

this primer makes my foundation (Illamasqua skin base) last the whole day when teamed with Illamasqua's matte loose powder. it also makes makeup go on smoother. it doesn't give you an absolute no shine matte finish, which I love, you still have your natural glow, even with matte powder on top. but then again, skin base has a semi-matte finish so that might be why. but if you wear this on its own, it will give you a no shine matte finish.

it also has a nice vanilla scent, like all Illamasqua products. though the scent in the primer is stronger than other products, but I don't mind because I like the smell :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mskittynoir on 8/7/2012 12:06:00 AM more reviews by mskittynoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love illamasqua! hate this primer... The texture/ the results... Greasy for my skin. Yuck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KaziaV on 7/28/2012 8:17:00 AM more reviews by KaziaV

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am very disappointed with this product.
.
The worst thing about it though is that it makes my makeup oxidize within seconds.
I tried this under my MAC Studio Fix Fluid NW20. Normally this is the perfect shade for me but when I apply this makeup over the Illamasqua primer it oxidizes almost immediately and changes from fresh and flawless looking to muddy and orange. It seems to highlight any areas of pigmentation too.

It does, however, maintain a matte finish throughout the day and really helps control oil. This would be ok if you don't mind being orange.

I might try this one more time under my Illamasqua Skinbase foundation, which is a bit light for me, before chucking it in the bin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Primer/ Corrector products