Tarte • emphasEYES Brow high definition brow pencil • Brows

rated 4.3(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 anishayunus on 7/11/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by anishayunus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Rich Brown (I can't locate this colour on the Tarte website though, maybe it's region-specific, as here in Singapore people tend to have darker hair in general). My eyebrows are a soft black, meaning even the darkest brown (like Rimmel's eyebrow pencil in black-brown) will sadly appear unnatural and obviously mismatched. The day I got this, I had my brows waxed for the first time at BeneFit's browbar, and so my eyebrows appeared slightly different, and polished! Anyways, when I got home and filled in my brows with this, my brows instantly appeared fuller and more.. consistent? I have somewhat full brows, however they do have those slight gaps where a hair or two has fallen out. This product was a perfect match! The colour, though it is (supposedly) a brown, it is a perfect match! My eyebrows looked perfect! It had the perfect amount of pigmentation and went on super smooth.
After a while I forgot about it, and whenever I saw my brows in the mirror I only thought that having them done had made all the difference. They looked very full and NATURAL. When I washed my face in the morning the next day and looked into the mirror, I was like.. WHAT?! What happened to my brows? They were perfect but now.. the usual uneven-ness has returned.. And that's when I realised, oh my god, that it was this product which was working its magic! It is a very thin pencil, perfect for hair-like strokes and has a very useful spoolie at the other end. You barely feel it going on and it certainly does not budge all day long. It leaves me with brows so natural looking (that even I forgot was because of this product, lol!) It is an amazing product, slightly pricey but may be worth it especially if you have black brows and have a hard time finding a match!
My sister-in-law recommended this to me, as she uses it herself (in Medium Brown) and she has much sparser eyebrows than I do, but with this they look good! She works at Sephora so she has tested out everything there (ah, the perks) and she swears by this. She claims it's better than BeneFit's too, for her sparse brows! Tbh, I had asked her to get me BeneFit's BrowZings (for the discount, haha) but she gave me this, and said ''Anisha, you are now holding the world's best brow product!!''. I'm not sure about that, but it sure is good!
The price is okay for a HE product, but I admit that there are good DS alternatives too. This product is worth a try, but test the samples for a good match, otherwise it's a waste (as with all brow products). Hope I helped :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Keegs272 on 1/6/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Keegs272

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this everyday and it lasts all day long. I have super light eyebrows so I have to define that brows just so you can see them. This product is worth it just for the fact it lasts. I do put brow gel on after I apply but even when I forget it still lasts all day. The best buy I have found so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 11/30/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Taupe is a nice color for blondes that isnt weirdly red or yellow like LeClerc's is. Im on my 3rd one and its a definite staple for me. The pencil itself is thin and easy to work with and has a spoolie at the other end. It does seem to run out fast tho. Stays on well unless I rub my brows during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 2/4/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in Medium Brown which is a bit dark but still workable. This is the best eyebrow product I have found so far. Its soft enough that blending is easy and the spoolie is so much better than those little brushes some eyebrow pencils have. I like that it requires no sharpening. To those of you who are having issues with it lasting, put your eyeshadow primer or foundation primer (I use classic UDPP) into the brows as well and it will last a lot longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 12/15/2012 12:23:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I did a thick swatch at ULTA before I attempted to purchase this and I'm glad I did. I walked around for at least an hour making sure that the top of my hand didnt come in contact with anything. After an hour I looked at the top of my hand and most of the product had disappeared. I understand that the brow area is different than the top of my hand but just imagine how long the pencil would stick around on my oily skin vs the dry cracked skin of the top of my hand?! I was pretty bummed out about this considering I was seriously wanting this pencil due to the awesome reviews. I'm happy that others have received a positive outcome with this...just didnt happen for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 samanthaweldon on 12/13/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by samanthaweldon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I over-plucked my eyebrows in highschool and am paying the price now. I've been growing them in for months but there are still sparse area's and thinner than I would like. This pencil is natural looking, glides on easily and lasts all day. It can be used to fill in sparse area's as well it's not like most pencils that leave your brows looking like stencils. The texture seems too waxy at first but surprisingly even on my oily skin it isn't. My only complaint considering I am using this product daily is the price (26$ Sephora) for how quickly it uses up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheetah7 on 7/26/2012 6:10:00 PM more reviews by cheetah7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite brow pencil. I like that it isn't too waxy or too soft and smudgy, is waterproof and it last almost all day on me in this very humid weather. Comes in a twist-up slim pen that needs no sharpening and has a spoolie on the other end to brush the product out. The product itself is very thin/narrow and makes it easier to draw hairlike strokes without pulling or tugging. I use it mainly to fill in occasional little gaps in the brows and also to extend the tail just a bit. I have the color in "medium brown" and the only minor gripe I have is I wish the tone was a little cooler. I have very dark, almost soft black color brow hairs and I find it's still a teeny bit too warm. It isn't as bad as other brown pencils I've tried and I can work around this issue by applying it with a very light hand. I might try the color "taupe" next time instead since I heard the shade is cooler and suits those with dark brows and hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupbybeks on 7/21/2012 5:24:00 AM more reviews by makeupbybeks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for about a year now. So far, it's the best brow product I've come across. I have thick, dark eyebrows, but their shape and color consistency leave something to be desired.

After I started using Tarte's emphasEyes brow pencil, I began to get compliments on my eyebrows. All. The. Time. I worked at a day spa selling two lines of mineral make-up at the time, but I couldn't help but recommend clients to Tarte instead for their brow pencils. It makes shaping and filling in eyebrows so easy, when before I used to curse at myself in the mirror. Also, this product is very water-resistant, so don't worry about sweating it off in the summer heat!

Love, love, love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 berrybellajoy on 1/2/2012 9:50:00 PM more reviews by berrybellajoy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this pencil, even if it is pricey. I lost this pencil and bought maybelline define-a-brow as an alternative. I really miss my tarte after using this. The tarte didn't have to be twisted out as often as maybelline's so for the amount you get alone I say it's worth it. I was also afraid to try the dark brown b/c although I have black hair most dark browns look too dark and unatural or have a red tone. After many weeks of going to sephora and never seeing a taupe or medium brown I decided to purchase. (I'm really trying to go with products with less chemicals). The colour was great and natural looking. It filled in where it needed to and although the thiness of the pencil made me weary, I also like that I can pencil in a guideline precisely. I don't use too much as I use the spoolie on the other end to distribute the colour evenly. As others have mentioned, my only complaint is that the lids don't stay as tightly as they should. Once I have enough money I will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ymakeup55 on 12/19/2011 5:47:00 PM more reviews by ymakeup55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok so my review on this pencill is a little mixed feeling.I will start with what i did like: i liked the color, packaging, precision size...
What i didnt like also the reason why i would not repurchase this pencil again is it breaks every time i use it. Considering had payed over $20 for it i expected quality to be a little higher.Was very "dissapointed".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Brows products