Tarte • emphasEYES Brow high definition brow pencil • Brows

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 8/30/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For the past five years, I have had a brow plucking addiction. Totally obsessive about it. And suddenly this year people starting commenting on how thin they were. Not good. So here's the story of how I overrode my OCD.

I tried repeatedly to go on "plucking fasts." You know how when you grow out a short haircut, you go through that awkward stage where nothing looks good, and you cave and cut your hair again just to feel like a human? I went through that with my eyebrows. Most definitely. It took me months to actually quit. And this pencil is the reason I managed.

I was screwing around in Ulta one day this summer and on a whim, used the Tarte pencil to fill in and comb my newly-attacked brows. Then I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror from a slight distance. WOW. Every single feature on my face looked better from having that bolder, darker, heavier frame. The difference was amazing. I felt stunning. I even took a few car selfies later to see if I was imagining things. Then I compared them to older pictures. The difference was HUGE. What had I been thinking?!

Motivated, I bought the pencil. Since then, I've been filling in the natural shape of my brows every day right over the sparse hairs that grew in. It looks INCREDIBLY natural and allowed me to let the sparse spots go long enough for them to fill in. The application is precise and looks like eyebrow hair - it doesn't look like i did anything, just like I have fantastic eyebrows all on my own. Amazing. Thanks, Tarte!

It should also be added that this makeup is quality. I wore this to the beach this summer. A lot. Yes, I was that self-conscious about my sparse brows. And you know what? After a pile of sunscreen and three swims in a day, my brows still looked full. Did NOT expect that. But that's how you know you bought good stuff, I guess.

It's expensive and I find it slightly annoying to twist up the pencil - is it just me or is that needlessly difficult? But I'll deal with it. I love the spoolie on the end; this thing is truly grab-and-go.This product has finally enabled me to grow in my brows. There are a couple tiny areas where I'm hoping for more hairs (and am fairly sure I'll get them in another month or two), but overall, my brows are fixed. Cycle broken. Yes, it's a bit of a saga, but I'm proud of myself and grateful for this product. Recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 8/4/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Neume

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have dark, fairly thick and long haired Asian brows with absolutely no patience to really shape them with a pencil (I opt to invest time tweezing and making a better "foundation" for my brows), so I'm always looking for a great automatic pencil with a spoolie at the end because I'm really just that lazy. Although this was a pretty good product, I think it's definitely for those who get a little more artistic with their brows or need a more precise application. Since my brow are full, I just need something that evens out their shape a bit and keeps the hairs from sticking out everywhere. This pencil is very thin (for more "hair like" strokes), but I already have enough hair! Thus, it would take me forever to do my brows just to get the color in place.

Something that I could not tolerate was the fact that the tip would dry up and break off about once every 3 uses. For a $20 product, this was pretty unacceptable. I tried to take a lighter hand on my application too, which didn't help much. I ended up using the whole thing because I kept trying to like it, and especially because the color match was perfect for my dark brown/black hair. After I was finished, I found myself longing to try something else.

Overall, this is a more "high maintenance" brow product. If you are in the market for a VERY thin applicator and a drier formula, this may be for you. Especially if you are looking to actually add fullness or the appearance of more brow hairs I would say this would be great. For my needs however, I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anishayunus on 7/11/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by anishayunus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Rich Brown (I can't locate this colour on the Tarte website though, maybe it's region-specific, as here in Singapore people tend to have darker hair in general). My eyebrows are a soft black, meaning even the darkest brown (like Rimmel's eyebrow pencil in black-brown) will sadly appear unnatural and obviously mismatched. The day I got this, I had my brows waxed for the first time at BeneFit's browbar, and so my eyebrows appeared slightly different, and polished! Anyways, when I got home and filled in my brows with this, my brows instantly appeared fuller and more.. consistent? I have somewhat full brows, however they do have those slight gaps where a hair or two has fallen out. This product was a perfect match! The colour, though it is (supposedly) a brown, it is a perfect match! My eyebrows looked perfect! It had the perfect amount of pigmentation and went on super smooth.
After a while I forgot about it, and whenever I saw my brows in the mirror I only thought that having them done had made all the difference. They looked very full and NATURAL. When I washed my face in the morning the next day and looked into the mirror, I was like.. WHAT?! What happened to my brows? They were perfect but now.. the usual uneven-ness has returned.. And that's when I realised, oh my god, that it was this product which was working its magic! It is a very thin pencil, perfect for hair-like strokes and has a very useful spoolie at the other end. You barely feel it going on and it certainly does not budge all day long. It leaves me with brows so natural looking (that even I forgot was because of this product, lol!) It is an amazing product, slightly pricey but may be worth it especially if you have black brows and have a hard time finding a match!
My sister-in-law recommended this to me, as she uses it herself (in Medium Brown) and she has much sparser eyebrows than I do, but with this they look good! She works at Sephora so she has tested out everything there (ah, the perks) and she swears by this. She claims it's better than BeneFit's too, for her sparse brows! Tbh, I had asked her to get me BeneFit's BrowZings (for the discount, haha) but she gave me this, and said ''Anisha, you are now holding the world's best brow product!!''. I'm not sure about that, but it sure is good!
The price is okay for a HE product, but I admit that there are good DS alternatives too. This product is worth a try, but test the samples for a good match, otherwise it's a waste (as with all brow products). Hope I helped :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Keegs272 on 1/6/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Keegs272

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this everyday and it lasts all day long. I have super light eyebrows so I have to define that brows just so you can see them. This product is worth it just for the fact it lasts. I do put brow gel on after I apply but even when I forget it still lasts all day. The best buy I have found so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 11/30/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Taupe is a nice color for blondes that isnt weirdly red or yellow like LeClerc's is. Im on my 3rd one and its a definite staple for me. The pencil itself is thin and easy to work with and has a spoolie at the other end. It does seem to run out fast tho. Stays on well unless I rub my brows during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 2/4/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in Medium Brown which is a bit dark but still workable. This is the best eyebrow product I have found so far. Its soft enough that blending is easy and the spoolie is so much better than those little brushes some eyebrow pencils have. I like that it requires no sharpening. To those of you who are having issues with it lasting, put your eyeshadow primer or foundation primer (I use classic UDPP) into the brows as well and it will last a lot longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 12/15/2012 12:23:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I did a thick swatch at ULTA before I attempted to purchase this and I'm glad I did. I walked around for at least an hour making sure that the top of my hand didnt come in contact with anything. After an hour I looked at the top of my hand and most of the product had disappeared. I understand that the brow area is different than the top of my hand but just imagine how long the pencil would stick around on my oily skin vs the dry cracked skin of the top of my hand?! I was pretty bummed out about this considering I was seriously wanting this pencil due to the awesome reviews. I'm happy that others have received a positive outcome with this...just didnt happen for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 samanthaweldon on 12/13/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by samanthaweldon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I over-plucked my eyebrows in highschool and am paying the price now. I've been growing them in for months but there are still sparse area's and thinner than I would like. This pencil is natural looking, glides on easily and lasts all day. It can be used to fill in sparse area's as well it's not like most pencils that leave your brows looking like stencils. The texture seems too waxy at first but surprisingly even on my oily skin it isn't. My only complaint considering I am using this product daily is the price (26$ Sephora) for how quickly it uses up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheetah7 on 7/26/2012 6:10:00 PM more reviews by cheetah7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite brow pencil. I like that it isn't too waxy or too soft and smudgy, is waterproof and it last almost all day on me in this very humid weather. Comes in a twist-up slim pen that needs no sharpening and has a spoolie on the other end to brush the product out. The product itself is very thin/narrow and makes it easier to draw hairlike strokes without pulling or tugging. I use it mainly to fill in occasional little gaps in the brows and also to extend the tail just a bit. I have the color in "medium brown" and the only minor gripe I have is I wish the tone was a little cooler. I have very dark, almost soft black color brow hairs and I find it's still a teeny bit too warm. It isn't as bad as other brown pencils I've tried and I can work around this issue by applying it with a very light hand. I might try the color "taupe" next time instead since I heard the shade is cooler and suits those with dark brows and hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupbybeks on 7/21/2012 5:24:00 AM more reviews by makeupbybeks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for about a year now. So far, it's the best brow product I've come across. I have thick, dark eyebrows, but their shape and color consistency leave something to be desired.

After I started using Tarte's emphasEyes brow pencil, I began to get compliments on my eyebrows. All. The. Time. I worked at a day spa selling two lines of mineral make-up at the time, but I couldn't help but recommend clients to Tarte instead for their brow pencils. It makes shaping and filling in eyebrows so easy, when before I used to curse at myself in the mirror. Also, this product is very water-resistant, so don't worry about sweating it off in the summer heat!

Love, love, love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Brows products