DHC Acerola Gel

4.1

81 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water, butylene glycol, malpighia glabra (acerola) fruit extract, carbomer, yeast extract, potassium hydroxide, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, acetyl tyrosine, paeonia suffruticosa root extract, pueraria lobata root extract 6/8/09


on 9/6/2013 4:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

one of the best moisturizer that I've ever tried,not heavy and yet very hydrating it works well for my dull combo skin,the extra benefit is the brightening effect,I use all acerola set (toner,lotion and gel) I want to try acerola cream but since one of the ingredients is animal (pig)placenta ,I am just too put off with it,just can't wear something like that on my face without thinking that 'thing'.



on 3/23/2013 7:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This gel didn't really work for me. I bought it with the intentions of using it as a pre-makeup moisturiser but I realised the gel balls up against my skin if i were to apply foundation on it. This was really disappointing. Since i can't use it as a pre-makeup moisturiser, I thought it would be better for night time usage. Didn't like it either cos it was sticky/balmy, yet it did not provide much moisturising either. I am very surprise it got such a high rating on MUA, but I'm not a fan of it. Not purchasing it again.


on 8/10/2011 12:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love that this gel moisturizer does not break me out. My skin isn't as oily during the day and it really does brighten up my face. I use retin-a and the vitamin c in this acerola line helps my skin look it's best. With that being said I do have to comment on how it isn't very moisturizing. It is fine for summertime but come winter I need a heavy duty moisturizer to combat the dry skin my sensitive/oily/acne prone/slight rosacea skin tends to have. It's a little pricey for the amount you get but overall this is a great product. I will definitely be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2011 11:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a fan of the Acerola Lotion and Acerola Cream but the gel leaves me cold. It irritated and dried out my face (perhaps it was the alcohol?) even in a hot, humid Hong Kong summer. It also made my skin blotchy and red....not good at all! Definitely stick with the other products in the line, especially if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2010 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i thought i like it in the beginning but i wish it didn't have this alcohol smell that scares me a bit since my skin is very sensitive. i don't feel like it moisturize well enough.


on 7/11/2009 3:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a swap without reading the review but I generally like DHC items but I should've read the reviews! My face can't tolerate vitamin C and I didn't know this had it so now I have bumps along my jawline and bumps everywhere. :(


on 5/30/2009 2:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this product from DHC with the main goal of clearing up some discoloration and dullness that I had left over from some awful high-school acne and the harsh products I used to treat it. I had never tried a gel moisturizer before, and with summer right around the corner, I hoped it would help with the inevitable shine (which drives me bananas!!).
HOLY GRAIL!!
I use all the DHC Acerola products, and the combination has definitely improved my skin. My favorite is definitely the gel moisturizer though! For the first time in a long time, I feel okay without makeup.
The moisturizer is easy to apply, doesn't sting or smell bad, leaves no residue, and a little goes a looong way. Using it both morning and night, it has taken me 3 months to get through an entire tube. I found that it not only moisturizes my skin perfectly, but it helps control the oil situation and has really, truly brightened my complexion. It takes probably 2-3 minutes max to soak in, and makeup application is no problem afterwards (whether powder, mousse, or liquid). The packaging is a small plastic tube, which is great for travel, throwing into your purse, or sitting on the bathroom shelf.
DHC sells this for $17.00 US, and to me that is a great value for something that has improved my skin so much and lasts such a long time. My only caution is not to use this on your eyes! It's not meant for moisturizing or treating discoloration around the eyes. Also, please note before trying it that it is not meant for intense moisturizing. The gel formula gives light moisture (although more than I expected I would get). Other than that, I am in LOVE with this product!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very average product.
It moisturizses - but not that much, I had my cheeks feeling uncomfortable after application. .
I cannot tell about results on the long run as I only had some samples. But all in all i do not find anyhting exceptional in this gel.
A common gel - moisturizer with nothing realy noticeable in it.


on 10/2/2008 7:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The BEST moisturizer for oily acne prones!! This is a clear, water based gel with arceola berry extract thats supposed to brighten the complexion. I use it with my retin a and it helps fight the flakies and doesn't clog pores, and its practically odorless. No oily residue and it wont make you look oilier. Im almost done with my first tube. DHC makes great simple skincare. Love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At first, I loved this product, the cute box and packaging, and the fact that it was a gel sounded great for my oily skin. This felt really nice on and absorbed quickly. But I guess my skin just could not handle the Vitamin C in this, and the next day I woke up to horrendous, giant red bumps all along the sides of my face.
I guess it's another no-go for me. :(


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
180 Reviews
Fix+
1279 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
278 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
143 Reviews
Back to Top