NARS • Sheer Matte • Liquid

rated 3.2(288 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 VictoriaNatalie on 10/1/2014 7:02:00 AM more reviews by VictoriaNatalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was colour matched for Santa Fe in Nars Sheer Matte and I paid £31. I'm usually NC20-25 in Mac but have been colour matched to NW20 too. I've wanted a Nars foundation for ages but I don't live near to a counter so when I eventually found myself at a Nars counter I was so excited. I really really love the look of Sheer Glow but I have oily skin and figured that there's no point in buying a foundation that would quite possibly make me look more oily so I purchased the Sheer Matte. Well, for starters, I don't think the shade is correct for me. It just doesn't look quite right, I can't put my finger on it. I'm really not impressed with the foundation AT ALL. I hate the way it looks on my skin, powdery yet hardly any coverage at all. I have some freckles and some redness around my nose but nothing major and it just doesn't cover anything. I've tried to build the coverage up but it just looks cakey. I've tried using a primer and without, I've tried applying it with my fingers, brush and beauty blender, still looks horrible. As for the mattifying properties, well, I've had it on for 3 hours and I just checked in the mirror and my nose was shiny as can be, that's with primer, powder and setting spray. My Estee Lauder Double Wear Light which I was using before did a much better job at controlling oil. I wish I'd just bought the Sheer Glow and I could have dealt with the oiliness in my t-zone but still had the lovely coverage. Really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 edmineralsgirl on 9/28/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by edmineralsgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a medium coverage foundation for my oily/combo, acne-prone skin. I have been using a sample of Syracuse/Barcelona for a few weeks now. This foundation covered up my acne scars nicely. The dark circles around my eyes were also concealed nicely. I love that it looks so natural. No cakeyness! It almost looks like I'm wearing no foundation. Also love that it has buildable coverage for those pesky acne scarred spots. With primer + loose powder, I get about 8 hour wear plus oil control, which is perfect for me. I love that this foundation is one that I can wear daily, but can also wear it for fancy occasions. While I wouldn't call this my HG just yet, it is pretty close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nazmin93 on 9/27/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Nazmin93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I read a lot of good reviews about this foundation so I just had to give it a try.
I bought the sheer matte instead if sheer glow because my skin can get quite oily throughout the day. This foundation did nothing what so ever to keep it matte! I had to constantly get out my blot powder as it felt like the foundation is was just sliding off. The second time I used it I applied a mattifying moisturiser along with an oil free primer and again this made no difference. Overall I think the foundation has a wet like feeling on the face but does feel light on the skin which is the only positive thing I can say about it right now. I don't think I'll be purchasing such a high maintenance foundation like this again lol :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lexi913 on 9/24/2014 9:24:00 PM more reviews by lexi913

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've finally found my HG foundation!!! I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and this foundation is amazing at its job. The color match is incredible and I feel and look like I don't have any makeup on, only a natural flawless complexion. I get compliments on my skin all the time and this has actually somehow stopped my skin from forming pimples..not sure how that is. I wear this on top of a primer and under Benefit's Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow pressed powder and it lasts me a whole school day (7 hours). It takes away redness and keeps you matte and shine free. I have medium skin with yellow undertones, and my color is Santa Fe. Love this foundation, and will definitely be buying again when I run out!!

Only con is that this foundation doesn't have a pump so you have to tap it on your hand until it comes out, but this hasn't been much of a problem so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babieedoll on 9/15/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by babieedoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Skin: Oily-combo
Tone: Around NC30
Shade in Nars: Stromboli

This foundation seems to be working well with my skin type. I've used it for about 2 months and I'm still loving it. This has a nice satin finish but because I tend to get an oily t-zone I do set it with a light dusting of setting powder. I find it last pretty much a whole working day. I haven't noticed any separation or it getting blotchy. If by midday I get a little shiny around the t-zone area I just blot with a tissue. This foundation won't keep me shine free all day but to be realistic I haven't tried a foundation that can actually do that. Overall I like the satin finish, it looks natural on the skin with one layer, you can layer it in certain areas if needed, I like that I can wear this sheer to basically medium full coverage. I highly recommend this if you you have normal-oily skin. I'm not sure how it would for dry skin but you can always get a sample at Sephora and tested it out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlyGirl05 on 9/11/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by GirlyGirl05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely looooove this foundation! I have been at Sephora too many times trying to find my holy grail foundation, and this has everything I am looking for. It has the perfect match to my medium skin, with a yellow golden undertone, my match was Barcelona.
This foundation is for you if you have:
Combo to oily skin, not too oily.
Little to no imperfections (a few small discolorations and white heads)
Slight redness around nose area
Like a matte face

I have tried YSL Touche' Eclat, Perricone No foundation foundation, YSL Fusion Ink, Dior Nude, Make Up Forever HD, MAC Studio Fix, and this is the one that works on my skin!

I did wear it with the Benefit Porefessional Primer and did not set with any powder! A little goes a long way so be careful when putting this on. I also used a synthetic packed foundation brush as it is a thicker formula and would not be best to apply with the beauty blender. I wore this for about 6-8 hours and it looked beautiful even after the day is over, even after gym!!!1
If you like a more mattified and long-wearing foundation (I am talking 12-15 hours) where your oil does not seep through, see my review on the Marc Jacobs Genius Gel foundation, another great one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 11hoerta on 9/5/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by 11hoerta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product! it's the most amazing foundation for my skin....is there a dupe for this foundation? I would love to find one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nobelle on 9/1/2014 8:51:00 AM more reviews by nobelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Sephora to purchase this foundation. Although I wish the price was much cheaper, I find myself returning back to this foundation. The main reason is that it is the best colour match EVER!!! its perfect! I am currently using the colour Stromboli, love it. In terms of the matte finish, it does help with my oiliness in comparison to other foundations that I have tried. The foundation is buildable coverage. I tend; however, to use a single sheer layer. personally, I don't like a lot of make up on my face. I do feel a powder is necessary to set the face and further aid with oiliness, I'm still on the hunt for a good matte powder OR primer. I do believe that it lasts all day. I have it on for about 12 hours from 7am to 7 pm. In that time I may need to blot or powder once which I believe is good. Oil does tend to poke through around the end of the day however it is nothing compared to not wearing any foundation. I wish that it had a pump, much easier to control the amount of product. I have been dying to find a comparable product with a cheaper price tag, I cannot! This is what works for me until I find a better colour match. my only issue is the PRICE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Msritajanay on 8/26/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by Msritajanay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin.
This is supposed to be matte and given my skin type, I didn't go into this expecting a consistently matte finish throughout the day. The coverage is great! It must be used with a decent primer to stay closer to a satin finish. For some reason this didn't seem to be so sheer on me. Covered my darks spots so well with the use of a beauty blender. I love it, more than the sheer glow (since I'm so oily). I would buy again….maybe. This stuff is kind of expensive for what you get and doesn't come with a pump :|

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Missfancyfootwork on 8/14/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Missfancyfootwork

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation doesn't get the love it deserves! NO it's not runny like most foundations and yes it takes a little more effort to blend but the outcome is worth it! I personally think this foundation is a solid satin. . Not too matte at all. I'm in love with the finish. I seriously can't stop looking at my face when I wear this. My skin is normal and usually go for more luminous foundations (I have sheer glow too) and I can honestly say I like the sheer matte more! Better finish, longer wear and I don't look oily half wat though my day!
Tip: pour and warm on the top of your g and then apply with fingers. A little goes a long way.
you can also apply with a sigma f80 but spray with mac fix +.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products