John Masters • Organic Hair Pomade • Hair

rated 4.1(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 almost on 1/21/2013 1:48:00 PM more reviews by almost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I would very loosely call this a pomade. It is basically a tin of beeswax with some other oils, so it is rather hard. The smell is quite strong and long lasting. I don't particularly care for the smell.

I certainly would not recommend this for short hair as one might traditionally use a pomade. It will just make you look oily. It is better for longer hair.

Not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Skybeam on 3/22/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Skybeam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have curly hair and wanted to define my curls. This product is full of good ingredients and smells awesome, but it is, indeed, too sticky. So, I mix it in my hand with my Beautiful Curls Shea Butter curls activating cream, and use it this way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scazza on 11/27/2011 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Scazza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm no-poo and all heat protectors have silicones in them. I've found about 5 or so products that are cone-free and silicone free and so are healthy to leave in your hair. This completely works! They recommend this product in their line for heat protecting, probably bc of the beeswax. 3 straight days of full on flat iron curling and my hair is so so soft. I find myself just petting my hair to feel how nice it is.
- Really smooths hair. Hair is totally smooth rather than jumpy going through the iron, especially at the ends which I've never had before w jojoba or any spray
- Don't put on scalp - greasy, though it can add some volume there. Depends on what you're going for.
- Product is so good for my hair & I can actually leave it in
- I gave it a 5 for price because despite the expense it will last a long time since I used only a pea sized amount for my long hair; maybe 40 applications?
- Easy to apply, not messy and the smell is so subtle and really awesome that it's very pleasant to use. Light, smooth, easy.
- I didn't have to use any hairspray afterwards which is amazing--though flat iron curls don't need hairspray really.
- I love that I can just find it at Whole Foods rather than hunting it down in specialty beauty stores.
If you're in a pinch it also works as lip balm since it's just oils!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elisajessica on 11/26/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by elisajessica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I love this Hair Pomade, it works wonders on my thick and dry hair. First I found the smell kind of strange and I didn't like it that much, but now I've got used to the smell and it doesn't bother me any more.
The most important thing when you apply this hair pomade is that you don't take too much of it, a little goes a very long way, if you take too much of it your hair will start to look greasy, but if you take the proper amount your hair will look wonderful!
I take a little bit of the hair pomade and rub it between my palms, after that I apply it to my hair. I get the best results with the hair pomade when I apply it to wet/moist hair, it brings out my natural waves and tames my frizzy and dry hair very good. My hair feels and looks very soft and healthy, plus it gives shine to the hair.
This hair pomade also protects my hair against heat and I take some of it in my hair before I flat iron it.

I really recommend this hair pomade, at first I thought it was very pricy but it lasts for ages so in the long run it isn't that pricy. Love this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shannonannagins on 8/19/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by shannonannagins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love the scent. Love that it's mostly organic. However, this made my fine, wavy hair greasy like no other. I'm no stranger to pomades or waxes, but this particular one is unfortunately not for me. I can imagine it would be very good for anyone with damaged ends or frizzy hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Milana on 2/21/2010 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Milana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This hair pomade does a great job of bringing moisture to the hair, but it is incredibly sticky and doesn't make my hair shine. I must admit that the incredible moisture kept breakage at bay, but it also made my hair very frizzy, sticky, and dull. It was very expensive and in my opinion nowhere near worth the price. I'm sure there are better moisturizing pomades out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nocturnefata on 4/8/2009 4:17:00 AM more reviews by Nocturnefata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is great for anyone with normal to very dry hair. I your hair is very oily or super fine, I would avoid it. I have fine long hair and just a little goes a long way. It seems to work on a variety of types and textures. Everyone in my house uses it and it works for them all. It also smells like a redwood grove which I love. It doesn't give too much hold, but it gives great definition and shine to hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* footballove on 1/22/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by footballove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is nothing special in my opinion.Yes,it adds a lot of shine to my fine hair,but also made my hair look greasy and already ironed hair a bit wavy.I do bealive this pomade nourish my dry/damaged hair ends,but spoil my ironing effect.So,this is useless on my hair.
Smell..at first,I didn't like it at all,because it is something like woody,rainforrest-freshly scent,but with time it turned to be so pleased to my nose.Also,You can use this to nourish your nail cutticle { John Masters suggestions }, and that's telling me how this product natural is and really has nourishing properties.So I use it as a pre-shampoo treatment for my dry ends and hope it works little something to nourish my ends.All in all,not worth the money You spent on it,and will not repurchase after I finish this jar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyNo5 on 5/4/2008 12:33:00 PM more reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is what I've been looking for for a long time, something that could replace my beloved Matrix Glossifier. This pomade give excellent shine, and just like Glossifier just a very small amount is required, or else my hair looks like an oil slick. What I love about this pomade, beside the fact that it contains only natural ingredients and that it smells wonderful and fresh, is that it conditions while it gives really glossy hair. So from time to time I do a heavy application an hour or so before shampooing, which makes my hair super soft after I've washed it. My only complaint is the metal tin, which opens quite easily and is not ideal for travel. But apart from that, this is my new HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lueta on 9/1/2007 1:42:00 PM more reviews by lueta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

well.. for what I paid for this product (which is around crazy 54$, guess cause of the shipping costs) I feel robbed. It's not bad and is nice to have but I would never repurchase, also because it seems this will last for ages. I use it after blowdry to calm down the ends. works well, but is also quite a bit stickey and I keep thinking that this stickiness might attract some dirt. Anyways, this works the best for me on the second day after washing when my hair tends to get curlier - adds definition and lissom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Hair products