MAC • Violet Trance • Eye Shadow

rated 2.5(27 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UWMsGirl on 9/9/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by UWMsGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this e/s color, it is gorgeous. I use it with GroundWork PP and it goes on true to color and very bright like I want it. I gave it 4 lippies because it is difficult to blend, it takes alot of work trying to get it to blend out evenly atleast for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 concon1496 on 9/8/2010 3:02:00 AM more reviews by concon1496

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at one of those outlet stores so it was pretty cheap only $12
the colour in the pan is beautiful but the colour pay off is not as good...it's hard to get the bright blue purple it looks like in the pan. On my skin it doesn't seem vibrant it's almost seems like a dark purple that has hardly any colour pay off. However I do like wearing more neutral colours so I still like this shadow

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chimera59 on 6/30/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by chimera59

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure why this e/s is getting such low reviews. I used this today over UDPP along with Lancome Light Violine liner, Parfait Amour and Filament to highlight and thought it was beautiful. I touched it up once when I got home, but other than that I was still pretty happy with the way it looked after eight hours. I think if you want more color, try packing it on with a 213 brush or using it wet or with Fix+. I love purples and would buy this one again. Just keep trying to work with it, ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 barbius on 5/25/2010 11:20:00 PM more reviews by barbius

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

okay so I'm definitely a sucker for purple, so I swapped with a girl for this e/s even though I was hesitating a little bit from all the bad reviews I had read. I'M SO GLAD I got it anyways, the colour could not be more perfect, I absolutely love it , but I do have to say , that for a mac eyeshadow , it could be a lot more pigmented and a whole lot smoother

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simera2371 on 3/24/2010 12:46:00 AM more reviews by simera2371

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As soon as this was released i went to Mac to grab this eyeshadow. It is a beautiful color. But horrible pigmentation, no color pay off what so ever, does not blend well, also very chalky. Would not repurchase,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lgooding on 12/10/2009 7:54:00 PM more reviews by lgooding

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! What?! Nobody likes this shadow?! I do admit that you have to swirl a bit in the color, but it shows up fine on my lids...I use Groundwork as a base and my 239 to apply it and it goes on fine. I do wish that the formula was a matte2 like tete-a-tint or handwritten (they are much smoother), but i won't complain b/c the color is like nothing else that MAC has. If your counter has sold out by this time, then try to swap with some of the reviewers that hated it or find it at the CCO...if that's not possible, then this shadow will probably be hard to find and expensive to purchase (if buying on ebay or something)...

Give it another try..with a base, a good brush, and some packing...With Groundwork, I must say, that I only had to pack color on my lids 2x (and the second time was just for me..the color went on fine the first time).

Reference: MAC NC50/NW45...Bobbi Brown Almond 7

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leiakrystine on 12/2/2009 1:53:00 AM more reviews by leiakrystine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I suppose I'm the minority since I absolutely love this e/s. I found my pandamonium quad (I thought I had swapped it away or lost it since I couldn't find it), but there it was in my traincase. I thought I'd give Violet Trance a chance since I usually love what everyone hates. This eyeshadow shows up a gorgeous blue violet- indigo on my eyelids. I use soft ochre as a base and my 224 brush- you really have to pack it on to make it work, but the results are gorgeous.. I like to wear violet trance on the lids with pandamonium in the crease. This shadow is worth trying- try working with it before you swap it away....you never know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mhoskin on 11/19/2009 11:58:00 AM more reviews by mhoskin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I was so disappointed with this color. It was one of the two colors from MAC MAC collection that I really wanted (the other be Haunting). But the color payoff is TERRIBLE. Also, I can't find a suitable, wearable way to use it. Most MAC mattes have much better payoff after the top layer is gone, so I had hope for it after swatching in the store. But this color doesn't.

On the plus side, if you have enough time in the morning, or if you are just playing with your makeup, it's an absolutely beautiful color. It just needs a really good purple base and a lot of building.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SophieLunar on 11/9/2009 2:45:00 PM more reviews by SophieLunar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bad..Bad..Bad ... hardly any colour payOff takes ages to build even the swatch had no if any payoff.
People that show good results have used a base underneeth like a purple gel liner then say what a good colour it is on youtube.

I give up with mac matte colours Carbon is great but 95% of mac matte colours have hardly any colour payoff i like the satin shadows more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DazedDamzel on 10/11/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by DazedDamzel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited about this color because so many people were raving about it on youtube. I went to the MAC counter as soon as this was released and to my disappointment, I was unable to pick up any color with my fingers. I passed on it and got "off the page" and "haunting" instead. I do not regret either of those purchases.


However, I visited another MAC counter several weeks later and found the shadow to swatch remarkably different. I saw brilliant pay off. I really should have purchased the shadow there but instead bought it from the MAC counter I had initially went to. It might not have made a difference but when I came home to swatch this purple mess, and to my dismay AGAIN, it was not at all what I had had it mind. I immediately put it up for swaps on here.


This color plain sucks for finger swatches and takes effort to build up with an eyeshadow brush. It is capable of build up though. And it is a gorgeous purple. And although I do agree that is different enough from MUFE #92 that it can hold its own as a unique and beautiful purple BUT as you can see for yourself in the pictures below, worn on the eyes, you can barely see a difference between the two. MUFE's #92 is technically more expensive but you get more product with much less hassle. 92 is definitely a red based purple (you can actually see minuscule nuggets of red pigment in the pot) and vt is blue based.


I am hesitant to return this because I do adore the color and picky about swapping it. I identify with the "love hate relationship" other MUA reviews have associated with this shadow. What were you thinking MAC? As if you couldn't do any better...



T to B: MAC Violet trance, MUFE #92
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v228/StrangerWayz/makeupalley/Photo-0228-2.jpg

R to L: MUFE #92, MAC Violet trance
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v228/StrangerWayz/makeupalley/Photo-0251.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v228/StrangerWayz/makeupalley/Photo-0249.jpg


enjoy the pictures!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products