John Masters • SPF 30 Natural Mineral Sunscreen • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 8/8/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

At this point, I do not think that I would repurchase this product. This product is just a bit too heavy and greasy for my liking. It does not allow my makeup to sit on during the day and requires blotting pretty much from the get-go. I will stick to some of my other favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 worrly on 7/8/2014 1:28:00 AM more reviews by worrly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the idea of John Masters products, the containers are recyclable (I reuse them for my DIY serums), the package is simple and clean looking, there are no parabens, ingredients are quite natural and not too many irritating essential oils. And that he doesn't offer colour dyes and perms in his salon due to health reasons. Oh and he brings his dog to work!

I loved his stuff though to be honest I'm not sure if they worked for me back then because I wasn't exfoliating my skin due to being fearful of irritation. So my face was pretty thick with dead skin then so nothing was working for me anyways. But he had a really decent non paraben preservative made of Japanese honeysuckle extract but since has switched to something else not that natural. I don't fault him too much as he gets more popular he has to ship more stable products cross country.

He also has a Vitamin C serum that is one of the more reasonably priced ones out there though I'm not sure how good it is when I was not removing my dead skin cells then but I digress.

I thought because it was a pure mineral sunscreen with TD and ZO that the physical barrier would be enough to prevent any tanning at all. Sadly, this sunscreen was very hard to apply, it was thick and greasy. I didn't mind the pastiness as it's the nature of mineral sunscreen but I was not happy that I got dark anyways and got some more spots. I thought I applied a thick enough layer, it felt greasy enough but I think this is too expensive for a product that didn't work how I hoped. I paid $35 CDN for this. If it performed well, then I think the cost would be fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glitteringstar on 3/20/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by glitteringstar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I normally don't write reviews but felt compelled to warn other buyers. This sunscreen doesn't do what a sunscreen is supposed to do, that is it doesn't protect from the UV rays. I've gotten multiple new sun spots since I've started using this. Very disappointed.
Also, this sunscreen feels heavy on my face. I keep feeling the weight of the sunscreen on my skin. It also leaves a white residue on my face. As a result, my foundation ends up being a shade lighter. Wouldn't recommend this sunscreen to anyone at all!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nada12 on 7/22/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Nada12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have dry skin but still found this quite oily/rich texture wise. I took this with me on a holiday to asia; apart from being too rich, it also melted off my face and after the trip I was quite tanned and had some sunspots that I am still battling more than a year later. Not sure whether this has the best spf strength or whether it was due to it being sweated off in the humid heat. I like though that it uses intelligent ingredients, such as hylauronic acid for moisture retention and green tea for soothing skin. Shame really that it is so greasy; though still bettet than many other natural spfs.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 karolein on 6/22/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by karolein

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For me it is too rich. Clogged my Pores in the cheek area and I got some deep/cystic pimples (hope thats the right term). I have sensitive, blemish prone skin and need products with light textures.
I gave a sample to a friend and she got pimples as well (she has combination skin).
Maybe it will suit people with dry skin better.




3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 almost on 1/21/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by almost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to find a good physical sunscreen. This is one of the few natural sunscreens that contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. It is pretty thick and I find that after a hot summer day of activity, you can feel a little greasy. As others have said, it does have somewhat of a white sheen to it. It is a pretty good option if you are looking for a physical sunscreen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crumbley11 on 12/18/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by crumbley11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a creamy textured mineral sunscreen. It can feel a little gloppy going on, but I like the moisturizing feel for winter. It is fine under Bare Minerals for daytime, but I probably will have to switch to something else for use in the hot, humid summer weather here. It has not broken me out, so it gets top marks there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breaknews on 11/26/2011 6:28:00 PM more reviews by breaknews

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product but I will not recommend this to someone who has oily skin or who lives in humid area.
I have sensitive and dry skin but also have oily T-zone. It worked very well for my 'sensitive and dry part' but it gives too much glow on my T-zone. If you will use powder on top of the sunscreen, it will leave you very natural glow.
It is very moisturizing as well but in the humid place and humid season (like San Francisco in the summer), it was too heavy even for me. I will definitely buy it again for dry season but it is not the best sun screen for Summer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 littleblackhearts on 9/5/2011 1:48:00 AM more reviews by littleblackhearts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Don't use this if you have noticeable blemishes.
I didn't mind too much about the whitish tint.
I think it's better for the body (arms, legs…) than it is for the face, but you do have to use a lot (for the body).
Packaging is pretty; you can see how much is in the bottle, although the pump allows you to get the same amount every time (no less).
It feels kinda heavy (because of the glass bottle) in your hand.
In my opinion, it's not worth the money (it was $30), for meh results.
I don't need moisture, so this did get oily looking when I reapplied numerous times.
Runs out pretty quick; well, it's been almost a month, so, never mind.
If you have dry skin, you would probably like this more than I did, but it's not totally horrible.
I'm gonna finish the bottle and never buy it again (it was seriously disappointing).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dimiz on 4/19/2011 2:16:00 AM more reviews by dimiz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

wow!! excellent product. This natural sunscreen is the best I've ever tried!!
goes on smooth and creamy without leaving a white cast (wait for a couple of minutes). Soooo good for your skin! I love that it contains hyalouronic acid!
Great under makeup (I use almost powder spf 15 by clinique on top )! My face looks hydrated, radiant, healthy!!!!

It's a shame that is not easily availiable here in greece, but I ordered it from feelunique.com (free shiping)!!
Soooo exited about this!!!!!
Totaly recommended!!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Sunscreen products