La Roche Posay • Anthelios 60 Ultra Light Sunscreen Fluid • Sunscreen

rated 4.0(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bracelet on 7/15/2014 8:17:00 PM more reviews by bracelet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure if this is the same one I have, but I am reviewing the "Anthelios Ultra-fluid Lotion SPF 60" for my face. It comes in that rectangular bottle that needs to be shaken before use.

I have really oily skin so I am always afraid of break outs and greasiness. This sunscreen did not break me out but I also make sure to wash all all of it off my face. It doesn't feel greasy as it absorbs pretty well underneath my makeup. I don't feel like it makes me any more oily than usual as it doesn't leave a sheen on my skin. My only complaint (and maybe this is why it's not greasy?) is that it smells faintly like alcohol so maybe people who are sensitive to that should keep that in mind.

Overall I'm satisfied with it, I'll continue to use this as I am too scared to try a new brand in case it breaks me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IreneIss on 4/20/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by IreneIss

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a while now and find it to be very good. The key is in the amount that is applied. If it's too much you do end up with a bit of a greasy mess. I find that the size of a dime is usually a good amount for everyday use. I apply it after my moisurizer has absorbed. I allow it to absorb before proceeding to my primer. During the summer, if I'm going to the beach I obviously add more product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lizsta on 3/19/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by lizsta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

cosmetically the best sunscreen i have used (to be fair, the only competitors are Cera-ve Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM and Neutrogena Pure & Free Baby, which left white casts and balling on me) but still, i liked the finish of it, sort of primer-y maybe? I thought it looked nice, better than when i have no sunscreen on even. I sadly cannot repurchase it, however, because it stung my eyes like none other. I read another comment below that had the same issue, and gave up trying to apply it around the eye area. I was not that sharp and continued to apply it around that area, hoping that if i was more meticulous in my application process i wouldnt have that problem. nopeee. 9/10 times got this in my eyes, whether it was 1 minute or 3 hours later. it would somehow find its way. summary; great facial sunscreen minus eyes. and my eyes deserve love too dammit ;'(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zoebella93 on 9/4/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by Zoebella93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Ok so i am OCD when it comes to sun protection I am a suncreen freak and always looking for the best sunscreen especially for the face I heard good reviews about this one and I tried it was it bad no was it the best no not really I mean the sun protection it gives is great but after a while it leaves u quite greasy and that's not good for my very oily skin so as a back suncreen sure y not buy not my number one I have tried better .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nellja on 8/28/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by nellja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been guilty of over-enthusing about SS, so I held back on this review for a while. I've been using it for about a month. I was terrified to try another sunscreen, having had a series of breakout reactions to, what, all of them? and had to have my face pummelled by a derm to fix it. But I am thrilled with this.

No irritation, no flares, no comedones.

Cosmetically *beautiful*, under makeup. Though I'm not needing much makeup beyond a dab of powder on the nose -- this stuff has got a smoothing effect, like a primer (has silicones).

Claimed dry finish fulfills promise.

Almost forgot, ha: it works to prevent at least the change in colour from the sun. August failed to tan me :) Check ingredients to see if coverage is optimal for you -- this is supposed to be broad-screen. My goal was to find something that worked reasonably well, and did not cause facial anarchy, with other skin-shielding methods (hat, glasses, hair down) picking up any slack.

Repeat: NO BREAKOUTS. But, important: I wear it over either benzoyl peroxide or Clindoxyl gel, which is BP + clindamycin. I apply exactly a pea-sized amount of one of those, wait 20 minutes for absorption (as advised by derm), and put this on. I do this as a prophylactic measure, so can't comment on just using the SS for a long period. That said, I've been able to wear it without a BP underneath for a few days without reaction, but am just not willing to risk another face explosion, because this is working.

Key point: There are a few slightly different LRP 'light' sunscreens going around. I believe this is a new formulation, and I bought it in Canada. The full descriptive blurb on the front of the box: : "60 SPF high-protection broad spectrum; UVA + UVB; Anthelios XL [lotion ultra-legere] Lightweight Lotion, Sensitive skin; Quick absorbing, dry touch finish". Has Mexoryl. Actually, the ingredients don't appear to differ substantially from Ombrelle SPF 45 with Mexoryl (which my skin didn't like as well); must be something about the base (with the Ombrelle being quite a bit thicker and creamier).

This specific thing I have is made up of:

SS parts
-----------
Homosalate 10%
Octocrylene 7%
Drometrizole trisiloxane (mexoryl xl) 2.5%
Terephthalylidene dicamphor sulfonic acid (mexoryl sx) 0.5%
***
Rest
------
Aqua
Glycerin
Alcohol denat.
Styrene/acrylates copolymer
Dimethicone
Propylene glycol
PEG-100 stearate
Glyceryl stearate
Silica
Synthetic wax
Phenoxyethanol
Sodium polyacrylate
Triethanolamine
Stearic acid
Caprylyl glycol
Palmitic acid
PEG-8 laurate
Xanthan gum
Tocopherol
Disodium EDTA. (CODE F.I.L: K158295/6)

I use jojoba oil and Clean & Clear Makeup Dissolving Foaming Cleanser to take it off. I think this also helps prevent breakouts.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 8/8/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In terms of protection, this is a lovely sunscreen. In terms of gentleness, absolutely not. I managed to get some of this in my eye somehow and it burned for twenty minutes straight. I was practically crying. It was horrible. I am in the habit of layering sunscreen over my eyes as well, but I only use mineral sunscreen and I have never had a problem. After that incident, I only use this sunscreen far away from my eyes (which makes it kind of useless as a facial sunscreen since I have to use a mineral sunscreen over my eyes anyway) because I am petrified of the result. Eh, I cannot repurchase this item.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 expensivepink92 on 8/6/2013 2:32:00 PM more reviews by expensivepink92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried many sunscreens for everyday/underneath makeup from Neutrogena, L'Oreal, and other drugstore brands, but all have left me looking oily and/or given me a white cast. This is an expensive sunscreen in comparison, but totally worth it in my opinion! I purchased mine at my local CVS.

This sunscreen has a very liquid-like consistency which may take some getting used to, but it is easy to apply, sinks in quickly, and dries to a semi-matte finish (on me: I have oily skin). It doesn't have an offensive smell like most other affordable facial sunscreens and I have not noticed even a hint of a white cast after application! Both my BB cream and my foundations apply wonderfully over this product. I feel like it provides adequate sun protection that lasts throughout the day, but I like to reapply this or use a water-resistant formula for the beach or pool.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a facial sunscreen for everyday! I feel like my search for the perfect daily sunscreen is now over! Love this :)


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iyonis on 8/6/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by iyonis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to sunscreen. Little pricey for everyday use most days twice but I like it. Can be oily if you over do it but layer let it dry and layer works for me. Doesn not leave white cast on my tan/brown skin which I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 7/1/2013 5:30:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for over two months now and so far it's working perfectly for my sensitive skin. I've mostly stuck to physical sunscreens (which the exception of a few several years ago) because they we're the only type I've found that hasn't irritated or stung my face. Most recently I've been using Skinceuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 and while I like it I find it can be a little drying and it has a slight gritty texture. A friend has been using this and has a similar skin type as mine so I decided to buy my own, thinking that if it didn't work I'd just give it to her. I tested it on my neck a for a few days first and there was no burning sensation, stinging, or irritation. So I felt like it was safe to try on my face and luckily it was a great match and I've been using it ever since.

Ok so here's a quick rundown on my skin: very sensitive, allergy prone, reactive to a lot of botanicals and certain chemicals, normal to dry, and usually intolerant of chemical sunscreens in particular. I'm pale, usually the palest shade in any foundation range, and even in tone and texture with no tendency towards acne. I am paranoid about sunscreen so I slather tons on regardless of weather or if I'm going to be outside a lot so having a reliable facial sunscreen is my most important skin care need. And I usually only like the liquidy type of sunscreen that have to be shaken (like those by Clarins, Chanel, etc) so it narrows my choices.

I didn't expect this to work for my strangely fickle skin but I'm glad it does. The texture of the SKinceuticals used to bother me a lot, especially under foundation, and this has a silky consistency that feels so much better. Sort of like a silicone-type of texture. It smooths over my moisturizer easily and sinks into my skin quickly, leaving a really nice smooth texture behind so my foundation just glides on afterwards. There's a bit of a sheen or a finish that isn't quite dewy looking or shiny but it's definitely there. I like the finish though it just adds a little extra something that still looks nice even when I'm not wearing any makeup. Definitely not the super shiny cast a lot of chemical sunscreens leave behind. No discomfort or tight feeling, and I haven't burned at all while wearing it. I don't know how accurate that is though because I never lay out in the sun for any long period of time or do extended outdoorsy things where I get a lot of sun on a day to day basis. But for everyday type of things it's protected my skin well.

There's a sunscreen scent but otherwise no fragrance, milky appearance that's very thin and spreadable. But I think the dispenser could use some work. It has a tiny spout that just pours the product out so it's hard to control the amount, even given how small the dispenser is. Plus after the bottle's been tipped over into my hand and I place it back on the counter the sunscreen has a tendency to sort of bubble up into the spout and run over, which means I have to use extra and some gets wasted. Otherwise I like the thin plastic container and the fact that the expiration date is clearly marked. I use about a dime sized amount for my entire face and another dime sized amount for my neck and ears. I use a separate sunscreen for my body. I'm not sure how fast I'll go through this but I'll update when I'm finished.

So, I do love this and will keep using it as long as it keeps working.



4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fushigisushi on 7/1/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by fushigisushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product. I have sensitive, acne prone skin. It goes on non greasy and definitely feels light. But it always seems to leave white flakes on my skin. I've tried dabbing onto my skin instead of rubbing but it still seems to leave the white flakes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products