La Roche Posay Anthelios 60 Ultra Light Sunscreen Fluid

4.0

62 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 3%, Homosalate 15%, Octisalate 5%, Octocrylene 5%, Oxybenzone 6%. Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Alcohol Denat., Silica, Dicaprylyl Ether, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Diethylhexyl Syringylidenemalonate, PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Nylon-12, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Phenoxyethanol, Lauryl PEG/PPG-18/18 Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Caprylyl Glycol, Methylparaben, Poly C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium EDTA, Cassia Alata Leaf Extract, Maltodextrin, Dodecene, Poloxamer 407


on 6/28/2015 4:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have to talk about the packaing. The packaging impressed me because the box that the bottle come it had braille. It is about time packaging have braille for the blind.

This was purchased in Canada and it is called as the following: La Roche-Pose Laboratoire Dermatologique.
60SPF High protection. Broad spectrum UVB + UVA
Ultra-light
Anthelios
Ultra-fluid lotion Sensitive skin
Quick absorbing, matte finish. Frangrance-free. Paraben-free with Mexoryl and other sunscreen filters.
Made in France

I can't give you an honest review on how good this product is. I'm going away for a week and I was going to use Shesiedo SPF 50 WetForce for my face.
I was going to wear this in the city, during the week, so I will have to come back and update.
You have to shake this very well before you apply. This is a very nice white sheer liquid. (like water) I don't feel any alcohol in this and is very nice under makeup. I will have to come back and let you know if my skin got flushed, if it ran into my eyes and did I get red with this.



on 6/24/2015 11:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is by far my favourite (chemical) sunscreen. If you're after a face sunscreen that:
(a) doesn't break you out;
(b) doesn't feel like sunscreen;
(c) isn't oily;
(d) dries matte;
(e) has a high SPF rating;
look no further.

This is an excellent sunscreen and works really well in all climates. I've worn it running, boxing, swimming and every day to work and I absolutely love it.

Leaves my skin dry and matte and lasts ages since you only need one squirt.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It's a good at protecting your skin from the sun but it is really hard to use. It is extremely fluid and if you apply it liberally as per the directions it leaves you oily. This sunscreen does not play well with other products and will ball up if used with silicone based products. I do like the fact that it protects my skin but i only tend to use it on days that I am going to be out for an extended amount of time. It is quite pricey for sunscreen since you only get 1.7 oz and you're supposed to reapply every 2 hours. The packaging is nice and you are supposed to shake it or else it will separate. I have a love hate relationship with this sunscreen. If you want an alternative for this use loreals liquid spf 50+ which has almost identical ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Ok sunscreen, but not great. I've used La Roche Posay sunscreens in the past, but specifically the European ones; this one is sold in the U.S. (got this from drugstore.com when i ran out of my favorite Bioderma Photoderm LEB spf 30). The difference is that the U.S. one contains "Cell-ox Shield" as opposed to the European ones containing Mexoryl/Mexoplex. Mexoplex is better sun protection than Cell-ox Shield for varying reasons (please research it). The U.S. one also contains oxybenzone, which is somewhat controversial. Not sure why they can't just have the same ingredients in both versions. Anyway, the European equivalent, Anthelios spf 50 (that's the highest spf they're allowed to go) XL Fluid Ultra-Light has a PPD of 42 (according to La Roche Posay, but sometimes not sure i believe the manufacturer's ratings), but from my research i was only able to find that this U.S. version has a PPD of 26, which is a pretty big difference. But still, you won't find any U.S. sunscreens with a PPD even close to this one, so that's a plus.
I'm able to use this sunscreen really close to my eyes and it doesn't bother me at all (the Bioderma one does bother my eyes somewhat). It doesn't leave too bad of a white sheen to your skin (but i do still see it), and i would say it's almost "cosmetically elegant" in that it looks good under makeup, and the white sheen is undetectable with foundation/powder etc over it. Also, it's rather pricey, i paid almost $30 for 1.7 ounces, which lasts me about a month with daily application, whereas with Bioderma Photoderm LEB spf/ppd 30 i can buy a 4 ounce bottle for about $26, a significant difference in price, and it has higher ppd to boot.
It's listed as water-resistant, paraben-free, and fragrance-free (although it smells like alcohol upon initial application, specifically vodka to me lol, but it dissipates pretty quickly). I guess the reason it smells like alcohol is that it contains alcohol lol, and that's the reason i just can't use it (i use retin-a, vitamin c serum, and a moisturizer with niacinamide in it). It actually stings so badly upon application that i'm not able to use it while i'm using my anti-aging products, which is why i rated it so low.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 10:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a good product with high protection. It is comparable to Khiel's but at half the price. One squirt is generally enough. It absorbs very well and allows BB creams or foundations to sit well overtop. It is essential that you exfoliate your face well as with any other product. Most importantly this sunscreen does not have an overpowering scent and does not hover on top of the skin in a greasy way.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This sunscreen is around $30 at Ulta and I bought it because a friend uses it and loves it. It applied well and left no white cast when I patted it on, which was nice! The texture was smooth and it dried fairly matte. I didn't have any problems with it balling up, even under makeup.

That being said, after an hour or so of wearing it, even when otherwise bare-faced, my skin became so oily that no amount of blotting could hold it back and I broke out after using it more than 2 days in a row. I gave it several chances over the summer and every time the oily skin and breakouts returned. It was a disappointment since it seemed to protect well and it went on so nicely.

I think it's a product worth trying, but I personally will not use it again.


on 11/10/2014 10:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this sunscreen. I have super sensitive (rosacea) skin, and this doesn't irritate or break me out. It dries matte which I like.


on 9/23/2014 8:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I like to use the gentlest and most natural products I can but I am super fair and acne-prone and sensitive (bad combination) and this is the only sunscreen that does not break me out, make me freckle, or give me a rash. The only downside is it has a lot of alcohol which can kind of sting your eyes if you sweat and can dry your skin IF you do not use a good moisturizer with it. That does not mean it's a bad product - the alcohol is what helps it feel so weightless and absorb quickly. So, just put on some moisturizer. Simple as that. My skin never looks as it good as it does when I use this sunscreen. It GLOWS. Sun protection is the best thing you can do for your skin. If you are super fair like me and freckle when the sun hits your face for two seconds, you will see after the first few uses how amazing this sunscreen is. The broken capillaries, redness, and freckles I usually get are faded after one week of using this stuff. HG. And the one product I will NEVER be without. PS - if you happen to be ghostly white like me, the slight white tint this has will probably help even out your skintone if anything. If you are darker, rub this in well and it should be no problem - or simply dust on some powder or top with your normal foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2014 3:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I wasn't impressed with this extremely overpriced sunscreen. It has great packaging and a nice, light liquid-y formula. It's not very greasy, but it dries shiny on my skin. It smells like rubbing alcohol, and stings my eyes, so I returned it.


on 7/15/2014 8:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not sure if this is the same one I have, but I am reviewing the "Anthelios Ultra-fluid Lotion SPF 60" for my face. It comes in that rectangular bottle that needs to be shaken before use.

I have really oily skin so I am always afraid of break outs and greasiness. This sunscreen did not break me out but I also make sure to wash all all of it off my face. It doesn't feel greasy as it absorbs pretty well underneath my makeup. I don't feel like it makes me any more oily than usual as it doesn't leave a sheen on my skin. My only complaint (and maybe this is why it's not greasy?) is that it smells faintly like alcohol so maybe people who are sensitive to that should keep that in mind.

Overall I'm satisfied with it, I'll continue to use this as I am too scared to try a new brand in case it breaks me out.


Back to Top