La Roche Posay • Anthelios 60 Ultra Light Sunscreen Fluid • Sunscreen

rated 4.0(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 danira5 on 9/23/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by danira5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I like to use the gentlest and most natural products I can but I am super fair and acne-prone and sensitive (bad combination) and this is the only sunscreen that does not break me out, make me freckle, or give me a rash. The only downside is it has a lot of alcohol which can kind of sting your eyes if you sweat and can dry your skin IF you do not use a good moisturizer with it. That does not mean it's a bad product - the alcohol is what helps it feel so weightless and absorb quickly. So, just put on some moisturizer. Simple as that. My skin never looks as it good as it does when I use this sunscreen. It GLOWS. Sun protection is the best thing you can do for your skin. If you are super fair like me and freckle when the sun hits your face for two seconds, you will see after the first few uses how amazing this sunscreen is. The broken capillaries, redness, and freckles I usually get are faded after one week of using this stuff. HG. And the one product I will NEVER be without. PS - if you happen to be ghostly white like me, the slight white tint this has will probably help even out your skintone if anything. If you are darker, rub this in well and it should be no problem - or simply dust on some powder or top with your normal foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fsmeath on 9/22/2014 3:26:00 AM more reviews by fsmeath

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I wasn't impressed with this extremely overpriced sunscreen. It has great packaging and a nice, light liquid-y formula. It's not very greasy, but it dries shiny on my skin. It smells like rubbing alcohol, and stings my eyes, so I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bracelet on 7/15/2014 8:17:00 PM more reviews by bracelet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure if this is the same one I have, but I am reviewing the "Anthelios Ultra-fluid Lotion SPF 60" for my face. It comes in that rectangular bottle that needs to be shaken before use.

I have really oily skin so I am always afraid of break outs and greasiness. This sunscreen did not break me out but I also make sure to wash all all of it off my face. It doesn't feel greasy as it absorbs pretty well underneath my makeup. I don't feel like it makes me any more oily than usual as it doesn't leave a sheen on my skin. My only complaint (and maybe this is why it's not greasy?) is that it smells faintly like alcohol so maybe people who are sensitive to that should keep that in mind.

Overall I'm satisfied with it, I'll continue to use this as I am too scared to try a new brand in case it breaks me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IreneIss on 4/20/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by IreneIss

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a while now and find it to be very good. The key is in the amount that is applied. If it's too much you do end up with a bit of a greasy mess. I find that the size of a dime is usually a good amount for everyday use. I apply it after my moisurizer has absorbed. I allow it to absorb before proceeding to my primer. During the summer, if I'm going to the beach I obviously add more product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lizsta on 3/19/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by lizsta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

cosmetically the best sunscreen i have used (to be fair, the only competitors are Cera-ve Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM and Neutrogena Pure & Free Baby, which left white casts and balling on me) but still, i liked the finish of it, sort of primer-y maybe? I thought it looked nice, better than when i have no sunscreen on even. I sadly cannot repurchase it, however, because it stung my eyes like none other. I read another comment below that had the same issue, and gave up trying to apply it around the eye area. I was not that sharp and continued to apply it around that area, hoping that if i was more meticulous in my application process i wouldnt have that problem. nopeee. 9/10 times got this in my eyes, whether it was 1 minute or 3 hours later. it would somehow find its way. summary; great facial sunscreen minus eyes. and my eyes deserve love too dammit ;'(

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zoebella93 on 9/4/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by Zoebella93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Ok so i am OCD when it comes to sun protection I am a suncreen freak and always looking for the best sunscreen especially for the face I heard good reviews about this one and I tried it was it bad no was it the best no not really I mean the sun protection it gives is great but after a while it leaves u quite greasy and that's not good for my very oily skin so as a back suncreen sure y not buy not my number one I have tried better .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nellja on 8/28/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by nellja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been guilty of over-enthusing about SS, so I held back on this review for a while. I've been using it for about a month. I was terrified to try another sunscreen, having had a series of breakout reactions to, what, all of them? and had to have my face pummelled by a derm to fix it. But I am thrilled with this.

No irritation, no flares, no comedones.

Cosmetically *beautiful*, under makeup. Though I'm not needing much makeup beyond a dab of powder on the nose -- this stuff has got a smoothing effect, like a primer (has silicones).

Claimed dry finish fulfills promise.

Almost forgot, ha: it works to prevent at least the change in colour from the sun. August failed to tan me :) Check ingredients to see if coverage is optimal for you -- this is supposed to be broad-screen. My goal was to find something that worked reasonably well, and did not cause facial anarchy, with other skin-shielding methods (hat, glasses, hair down) picking up any slack.

Repeat: NO BREAKOUTS. But, important: I wear it over either benzoyl peroxide or Clindoxyl gel, which is BP + clindamycin. I apply exactly a pea-sized amount of one of those, wait 20 minutes for absorption (as advised by derm), and put this on. I do this as a prophylactic measure, so can't comment on just using the SS for a long period. That said, I've been able to wear it without a BP underneath for a few days without reaction, but am just not willing to risk another face explosion, because this is working.

Key point: There are a few slightly different LRP 'light' sunscreens going around. I believe this is a new formulation, and I bought it in Canada. The full descriptive blurb on the front of the box: : "60 SPF high-protection broad spectrum; UVA + UVB; Anthelios XL [lotion ultra-legere] Lightweight Lotion, Sensitive skin; Quick absorbing, dry touch finish". Has Mexoryl. Actually, the ingredients don't appear to differ substantially from Ombrelle SPF 45 with Mexoryl (which my skin didn't like as well); must be something about the base (with the Ombrelle being quite a bit thicker and creamier).

This specific thing I have is made up of:

SS parts
-----------
Homosalate 10%
Octocrylene 7%
Drometrizole trisiloxane (mexoryl xl) 2.5%
Terephthalylidene dicamphor sulfonic acid (mexoryl sx) 0.5%
***
Rest
------
Aqua
Glycerin
Alcohol denat.
Styrene/acrylates copolymer
Dimethicone
Propylene glycol
PEG-100 stearate
Glyceryl stearate
Silica
Synthetic wax
Phenoxyethanol
Sodium polyacrylate
Triethanolamine
Stearic acid
Caprylyl glycol
Palmitic acid
PEG-8 laurate
Xanthan gum
Tocopherol
Disodium EDTA. (CODE F.I.L: K158295/6)

I use jojoba oil and Clean & Clear Makeup Dissolving Foaming Cleanser to take it off. I think this also helps prevent breakouts.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 8/8/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In terms of protection, this is a lovely sunscreen. In terms of gentleness, absolutely not. I managed to get some of this in my eye somehow and it burned for twenty minutes straight. I was practically crying. It was horrible. I am in the habit of layering sunscreen over my eyes as well, but I only use mineral sunscreen and I have never had a problem. After that incident, I only use this sunscreen far away from my eyes (which makes it kind of useless as a facial sunscreen since I have to use a mineral sunscreen over my eyes anyway) because I am petrified of the result. Eh, I cannot repurchase this item.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 expensivepink92 on 8/6/2013 2:32:00 PM more reviews by expensivepink92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried many sunscreens for everyday/underneath makeup from Neutrogena, L'Oreal, and other drugstore brands, but all have left me looking oily and/or given me a white cast. This is an expensive sunscreen in comparison, but totally worth it in my opinion! I purchased mine at my local CVS.

This sunscreen has a very liquid-like consistency which may take some getting used to, but it is easy to apply, sinks in quickly, and dries to a semi-matte finish (on me: I have oily skin). It doesn't have an offensive smell like most other affordable facial sunscreens and I have not noticed even a hint of a white cast after application! Both my BB cream and my foundations apply wonderfully over this product. I feel like it provides adequate sun protection that lasts throughout the day, but I like to reapply this or use a water-resistant formula for the beach or pool.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a facial sunscreen for everyday! I feel like my search for the perfect daily sunscreen is now over! Love this :)


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iyonis on 8/6/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by iyonis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to sunscreen. Little pricey for everyday use most days twice but I like it. Can be oily if you over do it but layer let it dry and layer works for me. Doesn not leave white cast on my tan/brown skin which I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products