NARS Sheer Glow Foundation

3.7

1437 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethylhexanoin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-butyldimethicone Polyglyceryl-3, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Glutamate, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, 1-Methyl-Hydantoin-2-imide, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polysilicone-2, Serralysin, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Glucosyl Hesperidin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Tocopherol, [may contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides, iron oxides]


on 3/3/2015 8:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really really really wanted to fall in love with this product given it cost me a fortune, but it just didn't sit well on my combination/acne prone skin.I got colour matched at a Mecca store and my shade is Mont Blanc which matches my exact skin shade, so naturally I thought it would be perfect for my skin, and on initial application I loved it. The formula just glides across the skin, a little bit does go a long way and it gives my skin a beautiful dewy glow. Great right?

However, as I wore the foundation more I realised that the staying power is rubbish on my skin type. It slides off my skin in a matter of hours, I become so shiny on my nose, chin and forehead even if I apply matte powder on top to set my foundation and my face looks super pale and washed out because half the foundation has disappeared. So, so, so disappointing! I am contemplating buying a darker shade just to give it another try but I don't think its worth it.

In saying all this, if you have normal or dry skin, this foundation would be so good for you! It really is beautiful and you can really tell the quality is good as it blends so well and gives you such a nice glow, however it just isn't for my skin type.



on 2/27/2015 6:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation and had to save up for it. The color is very true to life, and matches my light olive skn well wthout making me look pasty. The formula is light and doesn't clog pores or irritate-but frankly I don't use enough to cover my whole face. I don't know how to to do full face makeup.
Anyway, the price is outrageous, and the packaging just...sucks. The product ends up mostly inside the screw top cap or all around it on the flat top of the bottle where it dries and I am not putting that back in the bottle. I was told by the SA at Sephora to "use your finger ONLY" well up yours lady, I'll use a brush thanks.


on 2/26/2015 5:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

So far I am neutral with this foundation. I usually use a BB cream and finishing powder as a daily "foundation." I do like to keep regular foundation in my stash for those dressy occasions or days. While I love every NARS product I've tried, I am on the fence with this one. I've only worn it 2-3 times, but I think it broke out my skin. They weren't huge spots, but those tiny little white heads around the nose/mouth/chin. Or I'd get random little red bumps. I did like how light and smooth it felt and I noticed a bit of glow with it. The coverage was perfect for me as I don't really prefer full coverage. I would not say it covers large breakouts, but it did help cover some redness and discoloration. Paired with my Diorskin Natural Glow loose powder, it looks very good! However, it didn't last long. I think it only lasted about 4 hours. When I got home, my face looked somewhat bare...even my NARS blush was gone which is saying a lot because that stuff will last all day. I haven't made up my mind on this so I will continue to try it.


on 2/26/2015 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Used to be my everyday foundation but I found that after a while I went off it because it was just completely coming off my face half way through the day as if I had no foundation on at all, I don't like to look cakey but I do like to look polished and as if I've went to some effort! It can cling to dry patches on your skin as well and I don't think it's very glowy. I have a full bottle of this because I didn't know what other foundation to buy and I was so used to that! What a waste :( not high coverage at all


on 2/23/2015 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first thing that bothers me about this product is that it doesn't come with a pump. It's something you have to buy separately (and if it was a good product like MAC Studio fix then I wouldn't mind, but it's not). To start off, I find NARS foundation to be too yellow for my Asian NW25 skin. This foundation was too sheer and it didn't give me the right type of glow. It just made me look oily. I noticed that throughout the day the foundation would melt off around the crevices of my nose, and it just didn't sit right on my skin.


on 2/23/2015 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation can be worn "sheer" but is definitely more so on the medium side in my opinion. Just 1 & 1/2 pumps max 2 and I have a nice medium coverage canvas. My issues are, it's not as "Glowy" as I expected. It's more of a demi matte because it dries pretty quick and settles into fines quite quickly as well so setting with powder right away is ideal. Most medium shades run either really yellow or really pink. It was a little tough choosing a shade. ( I'm a Pro MUA. I specialize in color matching so matching myself is typically easy peasy). For reference I am a MAC NC35 (oily combo skin. Dry during colder season) and in Nars SG I purchased Stromboli. A little yellower than I would have preferred but it beats being pink! On the skin it doesn't look awful or cakey. I think it looks nice. But this can be because I prime and use a damp beauty blender to apply (that sponge does all the work for you!).

I really did not like the no pump thing but I got over that in a short time. Finally tracked down the pump (everyone is always sold out) and guess what... NO Cover! for once the pump is in! BUT the original packaging was the only cover. It's a screw top not a cover with a small screw top underneath. This I am not over! :( I hate having a coverless foundation even though yes the pump turns left for close. It just looks weird.

Aside from the visual upset, the foundation has good coverage, no funny smells or odd texture and if you find the right shade and don't have drier skin it can be amazing. I think its nice but I don't need another bottle because I have others that I like just little more for different reasons. Lets see how I feel during warmer months. I'll update if there's any change :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was so excited to try this foundation as it is supposed to be good for dry skin. My skin is so dry that foundation clings to dry patches. My skin is also acne prone. I have tried this multiple times over 4 months.This foundation is EXTREMELY thin and sheer, hardly covers anything it all. I also dont find it really buildable because its so thin it just kind of wont blend in properly when more is added. It did not cling to the dry patches on my face which was the only bonus of this product. It feels very oily as well-because of this oiliness it does break me out after having this on my face for a few hours my skin starts to get itchy and after a day of having it on my forehead forms 3 or 4 cystic spots. This happens every single time I used it (which in total was probably about 15 times). It's awful use with caution for those who have dry acne prone skin. It's especially not worth it for the crazy expensive price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 10:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

UGH -- no. Unfortunately. I was so ready for this to just glide over my dry skin. Instead, it caked into every flaw in my face, not matter how thoroughly I exfoliated/moisturized. If you have dry skin, I would say it's not worth the risk (or get a sample first).

It seems that the upside is that they have a wide range of shades -- the Mont Blanc is an almost near perfect match for my skin tone. Because of that I keep trying to make this work and each time it fails. It also sucks that there is no pump with this -- tons of product wasted and in a messy, non-hygenic way. If you have oily or combination skin, I would recommend this.

In short: overpriced and does not fulfill its target market for dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to love this because everyone seems to love this but I absolutely hated it! It settled into all of my pores and lines, it made my skin dry and flakey, I got a cake face look, even with using primer it did not work. It came off like a medium to full coverage yet I could still see my dark spots. The only thing I liked was the color matched perfectly. I am super pale and Mont Blanc was the perfect match. I just wish it would have worked.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 11:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Super disappointed in this foundation. When you are spending a lot on a foundation you expect quality, which I did not get from this product. I am a MAC NC15-20 and I use the shade GOBI which is a pretty good match. This foundation didn't leave my skin dewy at all, it accentuated my dry patches on my combination skin and on my oily forehead and nose area FORGET IT, it slid right off my face in a few hours. Not long wearing, not a good finish, definitely not "glowy", just any old crappy foundation with a brand name and big price tag. Skip this one!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

May/Current Favorites by TheAlicehere

Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
image

Exhibit A

358 reviews
Back to Top