Clinique • Acne Solutions Oil Control Cleansing Mask • Masks

rated 3.5(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Jewel15iam on 8/6/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by Jewel15iam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

For me, the whole clinique brand is way too drying and harsh on my skin. This mask was okay... It honestly didn't do much but make my skin dry. Bc it was dry, even though I moisturized it, it became even more oily. The outcome? Breakout. I wouldn't recommend wasting your money. If you want to try a new clay mask, try aztec healing clay.. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leh529 on 8/1/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by leh529

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am wearing this mask as I type this review. I have used this mask several times since I have purchased it, but I just now rediscovered it in my collection. This mask makes my skin really soft. I don't think it does much to help with my blemishes as my skin does not respond to salicyclic acid. I use this after my boscia clear complexion cleanser and before the proactiv plus pore treatment. I feel that for a weekly mask it does help my skin. I may repurchase if I don't find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 6/18/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Whoa, mama! This is one strong kaolin mask. And it contains 1% salicylic acid too. Using this, it reminded me of the old Deep Cleansing Emergency Mask that Clinique used to make years ago. Long story short, it's HARSH.
This mask made my skin irritated and red. It did help my acne by drying out my existing blemishes, but it also seemed to bring some stuff up to the surface and caused a couple of new breakouts. Overall I give this product two lippies instead of one because it does what it's supposed to, but it's just way too hardcore.
I don't even have particularly sensitive skin but I'll be steering clear of this in the future.
Won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nadiachengx on 5/31/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by nadiachengx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, a waste of $19. Not only did this mask not clear my skin, it caused acne development within half a week. Now i've got 7 zits on my forehead and 3 around my mouth. This was absolutely useless. Do not purchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunblockobsession on 2/4/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by sunblockobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have early-onset rosacea (flushing, itchy papules that erupt in the center of my face when my skin is irritated) and hormonal acne. My monthly breakouts and general inflammation are tamed with a combination of birth control, Finacea, and Metrogel. Thanks to these products, my skin is clear and smooth 95% of the time.

The other 5% I spend trying to quell minor monthly breakouts. The reactive nature of my skin has driven me away from salicylic acid products and anything that could be remotely drying, such as a mask.

I bought this product on a whim, having had some past success with Clinique products, and I actually love it.

I think the problem a lot of people have when they buy masks is that they are expecting instant results. You can't put something on your face, leave it on for 5 minutes, wash it off, and expect to reveal clear skin. It doesn't work that way. Most acne products take months of regular use before the patient sees any benefit (it took 8 months before birth control completely cleared my skin).

This mask isn't going to wipe out your zits or red marks. What it will do, if it is suited to your skin type, is make your skin smoother and help heal any existing inflammation. It can be drying, so I only use it once a week, and I tend to only apply it only on problem/oily areas (chin, forehead, jawline). If I have a swollen papule or pustule, I will spot treat at night with this mask, moisturize, and wake up with less inflammation.

This mask doesn't cause flushing for me but others might find it irritating.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katiecat12 on 11/7/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by katiecat12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product creates more problems than it solves.
I was a devoted fan of Clinique's Deep Cleansing Emergency Mask. It was so effective at helping to keep my skin clear and pores clean, I stocked up on several tubes to have it on hand as long as possible. I finally ran out, and thought - Clinique couldn't have changed the formula that much with their Acne Solutions Mask...Probably just a little updating here and there....Ugh! Not the case! While my former favorite mask was good at both pulling up toxins from pores and drying breakouts, the Acne Solutions Oil Control Cleansing Mask is all about pulling stuff up to the surface but not drying anything out. So, you're left with clogged, and even bumpy looking skin that needs a good extraction session, and full on assault from acne drying products. Its a great way to get people to buy into the whole Clinique Acne Solutions line, as this mask will make you desperate to get your smooth healthy skin back.
Since everyone, young and old, seems to be struggling with some sort of acne these days, my guess is they changed the mask to cater to more of a combo/oily type of skin, rather than a real acne sufferer. Without the drying aspect, more people can use this mask without irritation. You know- People with normally perfect skin with the occasional breakout. If you are someone with frequent breakouts, or true oily skin, stay away! For now, I've ordered some pure bentonite clay to mix in with the "balancing" kaolin that this mask offers to help boost the oil absorbing and drying properties.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tiantianz on 8/23/2013 3:12:00 AM more reviews by tiantianz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It works: made my pores a little smaller, although it also was a bit too drying.
Downside: stings a lot, more than the Kiehl's Deep Pore Cleansing Mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pauvres on 7/14/2013 7:39:00 AM more reviews by pauvres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I've always had a colourful past with Clinique products. Their acne 3-step line completely destroyed my skin, the cleanser and toner irritated and the moisturiser did absolutely nothing. This product however is probably the only product of their whole skincare range that I didn't absolutely hate with a fiery passion. That being said I didn't love it either, because it is just a very basic oil controlling mask. It contains salicylic acid which is nice, and the texture of the mask was great. It also tightened to a very solid layer which was good as well, but aside from this, nothing was special about it, and for that price you would expect something other than commonplace ingredients. I think my disdain for Clinique products will stay, I'm really not into it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ughhhhhskinsux on 3/29/2013 7:42:00 PM more reviews by ughhhhhskinsux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I only use this for spot treating because it draws out everything on your face. I don't have enough patience to have a face full of spots for days. I just treat one cheek, nose, and chin. Then I alternate and do my forehead and my other cheek a few days later. I had great skin for quite a while then I did the oil cleansing method...big mistake. I went a little overboard with it. I went out and bought all organic makeup with oil and HOLY CLOGGED PORES. I don't get large zits just blackheads from it and they are more annoying! But this is great for unclogging those stubborn blackheads. If you pick at your skin, do not use it on that acne blemish. I used a blackhead remover on my cheek and it pulled some skin off. So beware of those things. It wasn't bad and nothing a little mederma didn't fix in a few days. Leave this on for about 10 minutes if spot treating but, do not go over! It says five minutes and if you were doing your whole face I would say 5 is plenty of time. I am one of those unfortunate people who had perfect skin growing up but, I never wore makeup until I was about 20 and then...my hell began at 21. Who knows why it was but, me and bare minerals were not friends, lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 1/5/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I used up a whole tube of this and never bought it again. It was expensive and I hated the ingredients. But did it work? Yes. It got rid of a lot of the congestion and blackheads as well as flattened the red angry whiteheads that were on my face at the time. I never bought it again because I hate the smell, the price and I find the ingredients way too harsh and it felt like it was burning my face after a while.
I can't find the ingredients online anywhere, but I know it has salicylic acid in it which I've been using for years on my skin so it's not that. I suspect this has menthol in it and I've since found a cheaper better clay based mask without any harsh ingredients like menthol, peppermint or eucalyptus. That stuff is unnecessary. (Edit: checked the ingredients, it doesn't have menthol in it but that's what it feels like on my skin - a cooling feeling that actually burns. I don't like it.)

If my review helped you, click yes below!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Masks products