Revlon • Colorstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick in #1 NUDE • Lipstick

rated 3.7(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 christnal on 7/29/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by christnal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I hated this the first time I used it, made my lips entirely too dry and balled up on the inside of lips..not a good experience. However, I wanted to give this another chance, so I tried it again using a a thinner coat (don't apply like a lip gloss), smiled until it was dry (it didn't take long maybe 45 seconds to a minute) and added a coat of Revlon shine city gloss on top and now I love it. I did try to top with chapstick but it wasn't as comfortable as topping with the gloss. It has been on for 8 hours and it is still going strong! Even though I have had to reapply the lip gloss a few times (just for my own comfort) the color still hasn't budged! For me what make it work was definitely the lip gloss on top otherwise too dry. Will definitely repurchase, may even try another color! This is great to get me through my entire day of work without having to think about reapplying my lipstick. Happy i didn't give up after the first try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aonusz on 12/6/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by aonusz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I would not classify this as a lipstick, but rather as a stain. I wear this as an overall pick me up on days when I don't feel like wearing that much makeup but still need a boost of color. This color specifically is very similar to my natural lip color, so it doesn't look like I'm wearing any product at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mikeswife on 12/1/2012 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this color or product at all; picked it up after reading about it on a makeup website.

Price: I paid $9 at Target, which I think about average nowadays for drugstore lipsticks.

Packaging: decent, nice wand, tube has some heft

Color: I have pale skin, but am an ash-brown brunette, and this read awful on me, some shade of burnt orange with a peachy undertone and not anything like an enhanced natural lip color. While it went on slick, it dried tacky and chalky looking. This part was my mistake though, as this is supposed to be a long-wear product, and I should have realized from experience that I'm no fan of how those make my lips feel. I tend to gravitate towards sheer plums and nude pinks (NARS Stolen Kisses is an HG of mine), and although I've worn MAC's Spice (which this has been compared to), the two look completely different on my lips. I think I've learned my lesson about buying when I can't try it first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kristi383 on 8/6/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by kristi383

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't like this at all. It was very sticky to put on and it left my lips like sticky gooey paint. It constantly needed lipgloss over it to stop that sticky feeling and my lips hydrated as it dried my lips out. I felt I needed to lick my lips to moisten them constantly. At the end of the day, only a little colour left and it was caked into my lip lines. Not nice.
Wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sweetpotato314 on 8/6/2012 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Sweetpotato314

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I, like a lot of darker skinned women, have a hard time finding a nude lip product that doesn't look like I've eaten powdered donuts or that is opaque enough to cover my dual toned lips (darker upper, lighter bottom). This achieves those things but the application is unforgiving. You can't just whip this on willy-nilly...you need a mirror and a steady, quick hand. The feeling is a bit dry, as others have mentioned, but I can deal because of the color and staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ana622 on 7/23/2012 3:26:00 AM more reviews by Ana622

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A friend of mine had asked me to try this new lipstick she got, when I tried it on, I really did like it. I was surprised about the color, because I usually go for more pinkish- redish lip color, so when I tried this one, I really liked it. When I saw it was a nude, I hesitated on trying it but after, I fell in love with it. I did make me look a little, which I needed because I have a baby face. Over all, I really did like this color!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bernsie on 4/19/2012 2:10:00 PM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this obsesion with lipsticks that are the color of lips, but maybe with a bit more punch. I should say my obsesion is more with trying to find this type of color (the natural shade of lips times 2 or 3.) This color by itself suits all the features I look for. For a transfer resistant lipstick, I'll take it as I love the color (it's a nude and when in doubt this goes w/everything.) I'm not the biggest fan of transfer resistant anything as I find they make whatever texture they're used over just becomes moreso. I.E. Transfer resistant foundation when appled over flakey dry skin just makes the final result moreso. When applied over acne scarred/pitted skin it just accentuates the downfalls of this skin type whereas a "regular foundation/lipstick" improves the overall texture they are applied over.Not that transfer resistant does not have it's benefits. It's marvelous in the way it just stays and stays put right where you want it to. Never does it move to clothing/cell phones, etc. I actually use/mix this w/a L'Oreal "Infallible" lipstick duo which is just slightly lighter in color. I use this mix w/a lipstick brush and use the brush as a lipliner, slightly overdrawing the lip contour. I let it dry and fill in. I will use this mixture as a lipliner w/most any lipstick. It gives me the color value of MAC's "Spice" lipliner, but never moves/comes off. Highly Recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michellerodgerscts on 3/9/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by michellerodgerscts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have never tried a longwear lipstick (unless you consider MAC Ruby Woo a longwear lippie ha)...and this is very interesting. I didnt realize the consistancy of the product until I put it on my lips...it dries to an almost matte finish...I like the way my lips look...but I know if I ever applied on dry lips it would be an issue...overall I like it for what it does...I apply it over the Hazelnut ColorBurst lipstick (which I LOVE)...


as far as the color...if you are familiar with the Hazelnut Colorburst, it is the exact same color as that...it works very well for my NC45/50 skin...it really blends into my pigmented lips nicely...keep a lipgloss handie though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrittaBot on 11/25/2011 11:15:00 AM more reviews by BrittaBot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

#1 Nude is a strong bronzey nude-pink with fine gold shimmer. I love the color because it's strong and makes a statement, but it still looks natural. And in my case, it's similar to the color of my hair, so it creates a nice effect. I'm thinking of trying other colors like Bubbly and Top Tomato.

This lipstick takes some care to apply correctly because it's pigmented and in liquid form. I first apply a little #1 Nude to my lips to get it started, then outline in beige pencil (NYX Beige), then add a bit more #1 Nude to create an even coat and crisp edges. You can't smear or press your lips together while this is drying, but once it sets, it's on forever. It still feels a little tacky once it dries, but I look past that because I like the color and wear so much. I have to scrub it off at the end of the day and usually use some petrolatum-based product to do so.

I bought this because I drink coffee or soda all day long, and it was a pain reapplying lipstick. It also serves well for parties or events because you don't have to worry about your lipstick looking uneven or coming off while you're talking with people and eating/drinking.

I never really considered this line of lipsticks before, but I had a $3 off coupon, and I wanted something long-wearing, so I gave it a go. This formula really does serve a great purpose if you find a shade you like and can work with the application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 11/6/2011 8:29:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This immediately became my everyday lipstick for work. I can't touch up my lips at work, often work 5-7 hours before I get a break. I am talking the whole time at my job. I really needed to find something long wearing that didn't wear off unevenly and leave me with the horrible look where you have color around the edges of your mouth and nothing in the middle. I tried a few other products then decided to give this one a try. Oh, do I love it! It really stays on and it looks great when I finally get a chance to look at it. It sets pretty quickly, but it does give you enough time to apply it. If you make a mistake, wipe it off quickly. It does feel a bit dry on my lips after it dries, but it does not seem to dry my lips out at all, which surprises me. Other long wearing lip products that I have tried were very drying. This is the perfect natural looking color that gives me enough color to look good, but is not at all obvious. I have to wear red and black at work, and this is neutral enough to work.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products