Revlon colorstay top coat

4.0

27 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Acrylates Copolymer, Isopropyl Alcohol, Triacetin, Dipropylene Glycol Dibenzoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Ribes Nigrum Seed Oil (Black Currant), Vaccinium Vitis-Idaea Seed Oil, Panthenol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, PPG-2 Dimethicone, Aliphatic Urethane Acrylate, Bornanedione, Violet 2 (CI 60725).


on 3/21/2015 9:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

my nails are literally always painted. i give myself a mani-pedi every 1-2 weeks, and i will not use any other top coat than this on my fingernails. when i use this, my nails look near perfect for about a week, and i can usually go two weeks before needing to re-paint my nails. this top coat guards really well against chipping and it takes over a week for my nail color to start looking dull. the brush of this polish is really nice; since it's basically 2 brushes right next to each other, it applies very smoothly and easily. you only need 2-3 strokes and you're good to go. i wouldn't say that it dries quickly but personally i'd rather wait a little bit for my nails to dry and know that my manicure will last a long time.



on 11/21/2014 3:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

I found this in Kmart's clearance bin for 2 dollars so I picked it up. My favorite thing about this top coat is that the formula is thin, which makes application a breeze. Several reviews have said this is not a quick dry top coat, and that's probably true. I haven't tried to use it as one, but on completely dry polish, the dry time is really fast. As far as making polish last longer it seems to do a good job; when used with a decent polish I can get at least a weeks worth of wear with no chipping. I wouldn't have paid full price for this product but since it was so cheap I'm pretty happy with it.


on 7/9/2014 11:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Bought this because I heard it was being discontinued and wanted to see what the raves were about. Well after using it I really don't see the hoot is about.

Shine: yes, very nice shine that lasts throughout a week
Dry time: this is not a quick dry at all, can't deal with it
Chips: this did not prevent chipping anymore than not using a top coat
Brush: I liked the brush a lot.

I will use it up probably or give it away most likely.


on 5/6/2014 4:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My new HG top coat. This is seriously one of the BEST top coats around. It can be used with ANY polish ad I have used it with everything and it makes the manicure last for a week or more. It also is very shiny and looks like gel nails.

I have so many compliments with this top coat. The nails feel harder as well. It does take a bit longer than most top coats to dry so I use my Orly Sec 'N Dry on top of it with my HG Orly Flash Dry Drops. It's dry and hard within 5 minutes compared to about 20 without both.

I also LOVE the base coat with this. Just great products all around and well worth the buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2014 10:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Huge honking flashing yay for the Colorstay Gel Shine Topcoat. It has made it WORTH IT to take the time to polish your nails again. I used to do a gentle buffing, OPI Chip Skip or wipe with a paper towel and alcohol, Essie base coat (I've also used it with a Sally Hansen base coat and a Seche base coat), 2 coats of polish, Seche Vite top coat. I would get chips after 2-3 days, not worth my time at all. I would only do it for special events. I started out doing the same exact routine replacing my Seche Vite with the Colorstay Gel Shine Topcoat. At first I would get dents and sheet marks BUT the mani would last an entire week so I added Essie's Good to Go Top Coat (I got it free with an Ulta promo) to accelerate the drying process because THIS IS NOT A FAST DRYING TOPCOAT and voila, perfect mani for a week. After an entire week I START to get a little wear but no chipping at the tips. I have to cut my nails after a week anyway because they get too long. THIS IS LIFE CHANGING. I bought extras because they were on steep discount at Walgreens and I'm afraid it will be DC'd. I sincerely may cry if that happens.


on 3/20/2014 9:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Rave review for the Colorstay Gel-Shine top coat. In conjunction with it's base coat, these two are amazing at keeping polish on my fingers for at least a week. My previous top coats (Seche Vite, OPI, Essie etc.) couldn't keep polish on my nails for more than 2 days. Now although this top coat does not dry fast (this is not a claim, which is why I gave it 5 stars), it dries at a medium speed and seals the color(s) beautifully. It doesn't seem to smudge my designs either, which is a plus. The formulation and brush are great and you can't beat the price. These revlon nail products have made their way into my staple nail care routine and I highly recommend them.


on 3/19/2014 1:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite top coat so far that is drugstore priced. It leaves my polish shiny and beautiful. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2013 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got the gel shine top coat but I don't know if there is a difference. Overall this is a good topcoat. I use my hands a lot as I work in retail so I have a hard time making polish last. However I do have two major complaints.. The first is that it is very slow drying. When I put it on hours later I wake up with sheet marks. I also find it gets dented easily days later. My other complaint is that if your polish isn't completely dry it pulls the color. I tried to seal my tips and it worked but the polish got into the bottle of topcoat and I had let the polish dry for 20 minutes before applying the topcoat. Not the best but not bad for the price.


on 11/7/2013 11:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the top coat that goes with the "gel" base coat.

I haven't used this without the base coat but it's awesome when it's paired together. I can go 5 days without chips or tip wear. Very impressive

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2013 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

NOT A QUICK DRY TOP COAT!!

I got the Gel Shine top coat to try with the Gel Smooth base coat. This is just as great! I use this and then top with a quick dry top coat. Amazing!! Super shiny! Dry time is slow if you don't have a QDTC to put on top. But it is great otherwise! Love love love!


Back to Top