Dr. Hauschka • Normalizing Day Oil • Moisturizers

rated 3.4(195 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* justilou on 9/21/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by justilou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I'm loving this oil! I usually mix my own, but this formula is something special. I have been using oils for years and had settled into using pure passionfruit seed oil. Love it still, but needed a bit more treatment around the t-zone thanks to bloody hormones. I use it day and night and I love how my skin feels less goopy without feeling tight. My sun-damaged skin on my neck (think recently plucked chicken) is smoother and less red. (Not what it promises to deliver, but I'm happy to run with it!!!) I love the fragrance - it's sort of floral/herbally green. Kind of thing I would choose in a perfume anyway. I bought it yesterday for 22 euros. It's in a 30ml bottle, and as I only use 1-2 drops, it will last for ages. I think it will travel well, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 6/29/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a big fan of oils on my face and body and this is one of my favourites. It smells beautifully with sweet, jasmine or ylang ylang like smell (although none of these are listed as an ingredient so it is clearly something else on the list but nethertheless very pleasant and soothing), not overpoweringly so and it does not cost an arm and a leg (looking at you Rodin and Marula oils!) and it is a real pleasure to use.

I am usually fighting with a dry, parched skin but somehow this oil works for me in my t-zone which I usually get congested and shiny. I am using it all over my face and neck overnight and in the morning I am waking up with a nicely plumped up skin although I sometimes need to add their Rose Cream on top (especially under eyes) as this oil has a mild astringent effect on me.

I am a bit wary of using it for the day as I've read that carrot oil might be photosensitive plus I have no idea how it would behave in a combination with my chemical sunscreen.

I do recommend going first with a mini version (5 ml bottle is really cute, affordable and lasts a good couple of weeks!) and then upgrade with the full sized product if you like it.

I promised myself to repurchase it soon but it might be a mini version next as I still have a big bottle of Clarins oil to get my hands onto and Hauschka will have to wait.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shrokia on 3/30/2014 7:49:00 AM more reviews by shrokia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's been about 5 months since I first bought this oil and I am still glad I have it on my bathroom counter ready to use. I went all out and bought the entire Dr. H acne skin care regime and liked it at first. After 5 weeks though not all the products were for me (I can do without lavender moor bath and the cleansing cream, and am debating about the toner) I stopped using the oil in summer since it was just too much for humid weather and my acne prone/pity-folliculitis prone skin but now that fall is back Im starting to use it again and am happy with the results.

A little really goes a long way for now, I use a small drop smoothed out in my hands and then press it on my face, just to coat the skin. More oil than that and my skin won't absorb it thus making for a shinny face. As the weather gets colder and drier Ill use more.

The only other face oil I have liked is Dr Ci Labo's "repair oil" which is similar and more dry, but I like Dr. H's better since it seems to help my acne. I know it sounds weird to put oil on oily skin but drying skin out to "kill" the acne and using oil free moisturizers was the recommended course of action from every dermatologist I saw! It seemed crazy back then to put oil on an acne grease face…but years later I started using non oil free moisturizers and liked how my skin reacted, it was hit or miss a lot but I found Ci Labo's repair oil which I used for 3 years before switching to Dr H's recently. I still take doctors' advice but knowing my own skin better now I adjust it to how I know my skin will react best. For example I went in for acne and pityrosporum folliculitis and my doc recommended washing but no moisturizers, I followed his advice for a week or so but my skin started over producing sebum so I started to adjust back to my old moisturizers and used the drying prescription cream when my skin would get bad. After a few weeks my skin balanced out with my tailored regime.

All in all I think this oil is worth a try. It lasts a long while, and is worth the higher price tag since the ingredients are high quality. The packaging is sturdy, but is glass so be careful about dropping it on the floor or in the sink.

My last advice is not to be afraid to tailor a skin routine for you, even if it goes against your doctors advice. Doctors don't always know best, you have known your body and your skin the longest and chances are you know what's best for it and what it needs and doesn't. Don't be afraid to mix and match, I went all out and did the whole Dr. H acne routine but after spending a lot of money I came to realize the routine all together was too moisturizing, and not putting on a moisturizer at night (per Dr. H's skin care advice) wasn't working for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gonelvik on 11/5/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by Gonelvik

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It works perfectly on my combination clog-prone skin. It absorbs quickly and have a lovely herbal smell. It doesn't make me greasy even in the hot weather. I noticed that my skin were more calmer and most of the clogged pores were gone. I would absolutely buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misscomanche on 8/30/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by misscomanche

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The ONLY product I've tried that actually regulates my oiliness. I find it a bit pricey, but am willing to pay for something that gets results. HG for me. Smells nice too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ic8990 on 7/28/2013 3:15:00 AM more reviews by ic8990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Very nice oil, love the packaging; it's better to apply oil with a pump. It was moisturizing enough and it never broke me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sbuxjunkie on 2/11/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by sbuxjunkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this a while ago, tried it and hated it. However, I think I corrected the error of my ways and now find this oil is particularly effective for me during the winter. I have combination, acne prone skin that has become sensitive over time. I consider this a treatment and not a moisturizer - it doesn't take the place of anything in my routine. After cleansing, I add this mixed in with my toner (I like the Body Shop Vitamin E spray) and apply to my face with my hands (drop in palm, spray palm, apply). The key for success in using this product was getting the right amount. I received a small sample of Kiehls' Midnight Recovery which had the perfect size medicine dropper that I have repurposed to dole out the exact amount of this oil. This has changed everything for using this product. I think when I had used it before with poor results, it was because I was using too much and becoming irritated. Now, I find it works more effectively and efficiently. My skin is looking less congested and less flaky. Though I have oily skin below, I am topically dry. I am not sure if it deserved HG status, but it does mitigate the seasonal dry skin I get during the harsh winters without breakouts.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katherinebertrand on 1/27/2013 2:07:00 AM more reviews by katherinebertrand

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I like that it is all natural and even though it is oil on your face, it makes your skin feel nicely moisturized and not super oily (if you put the right amount on). It doesn't make your skin completely matte, but I have found it has definetly stopped it getting extremely oily
My only issue with this is the packaging, the bottle leaks everywhere! and it is very annoying -don't take it in your bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IsaBa on 1/5/2013 10:01:00 AM more reviews by IsaBa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing for my skin!! I had really, really oily skin, especially on my nose and since i use this my pores look so much smaller and I just do NOT GET oily anymore! Sometimes I still shine a little bit but then I plot it away and thats it. Before that I looked like an oil sleek! It sinks best into the skin when your skin is still a little wet after the cleansing! It does not sink into dry skin, so watch out that your skin is damp! Dont like the package though..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Hauschka products

More Moisturizers products