Nubian Heritage • African Black Soap • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.2(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Ayazxx on 4/13/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by Ayazxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It may be a bit too early to write a review however I just can't help it.

I have never had horrible skin in fact, it's always been quiet the opposite. Starting in October of last year, my skin began to break out. I mean huge cysts would pop out of my forehead and on my cheeks. I was getting tiny flesh-coloured bumps on and around my nose, between my eyebrows and on my forehead. It was so horrifying, I literally did not know what to do.

I tried everything EXCEPT go to a doctor because I wanted that to be a last resort option for me. I tried everything. Exfoliating, different face washes, changing my moisturizers. Tea tree oil shockingly did not work for me either. I used to rely on that when I would get a period pimple every now but this time it disappointed. I was at a point where I lacked confidence and felt everyone was staring at my cysts and the scars of old ones.

I finally read about African Black Soap. I had heard about it before since I use Raw Shea Butter religiously but had never really looked into its benefits. I researched and watched YouTube reviews and I thought this could really be my skin saviour. I bought Nubian Heritage ABS immediately at my local beauty supply store for $3.99 CAD and used it the same day. The price was reasonable imo. However, apparently this isn't the real raw version of ABS but to be very frank, I do not give a damn.

I felt a change in my skin almost IMMEDIATELY. I literally could not believe it. I must admit, I've been using it now for only 4 days (I know, I know) but my skin already looks completely different. It feels soft, I'm glowing, and the pimples that were the bane of my existence are no more. My pores are noticeably smaller. My skin tone looks as if it's becoming more even too! I mean...I'm so happy to have found this product and I plan to continue with it as long as the benefits continue too.

I use the soap at least once a day, in the morning. It lathers up so well and I just rub that latter into my wet face. I then rinse off with cool water, towel dab my face then rub a thin layer of shea butter into my skin. I think once a day is enough for me because I didn't want to overdo it and dry out my skin. It smells amazing btw!

This is a long review but I just want anyone out there who is looking for something, anything to help out with skin. African Black Soap is definitely it, trust me. Try it out and find out for yourself. I will update my review in about a month. Hopefully all of this positivity continues!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Myrahotchkiss on 4/7/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by Myrahotchkiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not the "real thing" but love it anyway... but only for my body, as it is very drying for the face even though my skin is extremely oily.

It does balance oil, but the downside is that it leaves my face EXTREMELY dry after a few days of using it.

But enough about my face, let's talk about my body as this is what I use it for. This product is super. It reduces razor bumps along my bikini line (maybe be careful using this product...there though if you catch my drift) and minor blemishes on my back or shoulders. It lathers beautifully and smells great. As it wears down it has the potential to get a bit scratchy because of the oatmeal (I think) bits sticking out, so watch out.

Over all it's a bar of soap... I just love what it's made from! It isn't quite the real thing in terms of traditional ABS ingredients but I wouldn't switch it for the world.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 harrisonfjord on 3/12/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by harrisonfjord

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this from a local health food store because I've been suffering from embarrassing acne on my back. I have been using it consistently for going six weeks now and while I have noticed that I haven't had many new breakouts, it isn't really clearing up my skin either. After giving this soap plenty of time to try and see how it worked out for me, I'll be switching my regimen to something stronger with more ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngieGCarp on 1/17/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by AngieGCarp

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love! This soap is perfect for balancing out your skin. I don't have acne but I have been using natural soaps for years to keep me from developing over oily or dry skin on my face. I use this on my body too and although it is winter, I rarely moisturize. I highly recommend and you can get it dirt cheap at iherb.com. At a fancy store I paid twice as much..it is worth it but c'mon you can get two for the price of one at the fancy stores..

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Volchitsa on 12/30/2013 7:52:00 AM more reviews by Volchitsa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It smells too sweet to me. Like an overly sweet candy or something. It's a shame, but I can't get myself to repurchase because of the scent (I like earthy or herbal smells). The smell didn't seem to linger though, and other than that, it's a good product. It left my skin feeling moisturized and clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Yogal28 on 12/26/2013 6:36:00 AM more reviews by Yogal28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like to read reviews that are usually on the negative side first now because most of the times the items that i brought, which i based on the positive reviews, seldom applies much on me, maybe one or two that someone mention in their reviews but the negative one, most of the times, i experience what they did. Ironic thing is sometimes we had different skin types but still had the same outcomes.

Alright to the negative: I don't think this soap clear up acne prone skin types. At least not on me and it also brings out new acne and whiteheads. On my chin and especially on my cheek area which i didn't have acne nor whiteheads before using this product. It didn't even out my skin either.

Positive: The nice smell which is not overpowering unlike their lotion which i had also brought based on good reviews, it work just the same as their soap but with overwhelming scent. The soap isn't drying at all on my face, i felt my face is smooth but it doesn't make my acne prone skin better but worse. This two points is the two lippies i give for.

Will finish using this on my body and never will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kupo_baby on 12/12/2013 1:52:00 PM more reviews by kupo_baby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I feel like this review might be a bit too early but I do think that this had an effect on my breakouts. I had gotten frustrated with a few large zits that had been around for 2+ weeks without coming to a head, getting smaller, etc. I had been using harsh blemish cleansers but they were making me sneeze. I bought this bar as a last ditch effort to make my damn zit go away. And you know what? It seems to be working! The smaller ones have disappeared & the large persistent one started to shrink the first day I used the soap. It's been 4 days & while it's not gone yet, it has gotten noticeably smaller.
One thing I don't like is that my skin feels squeaky clean after rinsing the soap off my face. I haven't noticed any additional dryness but it does feel pretty weird

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 161934 on 12/3/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by 161934

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this soap for 4 weeks and it is amazing! The scent is so yummy and this helped clear my skin along with Atralin gel:) Honestly has not left my skin dry because of the Shea butter component. I will use this soap as a face wash for the rest of my life! Holy Grail product!!! Bought this on amazon as a 5 pack set for about 18 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hooplehead on 11/13/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by hooplehead

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm still testing this out, but I am liking it thus far. I only use it once a day because it reacts too strongly with my sensitive skin if used twice daily. But used once a day it seems to be working well with a minimum of irritation. It feels like I'm getting my skin really clean, but not stripping my skin. I use this, Caudalie Beauty Elixir and a moisturizer at night and it has really cleared up and smoothed out my skin. I am really pleased with the results, especially at such a low price. Usually I spend a lot more for skincare that gives much less impressive results. ETA-I use this only when my breakouts get bad because it usually causes a reaction in my skin. It does seem to be clearing up the breakouts, but seems to be a bit too harsh on my skin to use as more than a spot treatment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 11/6/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this soap! I could never use generic soap due to fragrance sensitivities and breakouts, so I was nervous about trying this but at the same time trusted my fellow reviewers enough to give this a go. Turns out this has become a HG product of mine. I cut the bar in half and use half for showering and half for cleansing my acne-prone face. It leaves my skin feeling silky smooth and calm without any residues. Doesn't break me out, in fact I honestly believe this has improved my acne. Lathers excellently. I even use it to clean my MAC brushes! Very affordable product with great longevity, I will often buy multiple bars to stock up which lasts me many months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nubian Heritage products

More Gels/Soaps products