Bare Escentuals Matte Foundation spf 15

3.4

731 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 15% and Zinc Oxide 5% INACTIVE ingredients: Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Calcium Silicate, Soil Minerals. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides


on 3/30/2015 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have been a die hard BE foundation and concealer user. My problem is, even with the matte, my skin still gets very shiny in the middle of the day. Also, I hate that you can't get the very last of the product out without breaking the container.



on 3/14/2015 6:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have acne prone fair skin which tends to be on the sensitive side.At first I liked this product although i felt it didn't give me a healthy glow and sometime highlighted lines/pores.However after three weeks of daily usage my face was a mess, dry skin with break outs... i hadn't changed anything else in my regime so therefore can only presume BM was the causative factor. In the bin it goes!


on 2/28/2015 9:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love the Matte formula more than the original! Works so well with a primer, and withstands summer heat. My skin changed during pregnancy, and this worked wonders. I'm currently using it over a CC cream, and I couldn't be happier. If you love bare minerals but are not into the "glory" finish, try the matte.


on 2/24/2015 2:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a lot of redness from acne and also active acne. I dont not find that this foundation covers my imperfections well even with a concealer. I bought the matte formula because i have pretty oily skin in my t zone area. This didnt do much to help with oiliness. I use a pretty dense brush to apply this knowing that i need quite a bit but after two coats, i dont find that it covers it well. I still prefer either my estee lauder double wear or makeup forever hd.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I only have a bit of redness on my skin - no major scarring, pigmentation or acne - that needs to be covered and this does nothing. All it does is cause major itching and irritation because, as I later found out, I am allergic to Bismuth Oxychloride. Why they use bismuth in their foundation is beyond me because about 30% of people are allergic to it and even more are sensitive to it and experience slight problems. The original bareMinerals doesn't cover, either. The only face product from bM that I like is their Mineral Veil because it a decent setting powder and doesn't contain bismuth. However, elf carries something just like it with very similar ingredients (and no talc) for about 1/5 the price.


on 2/23/2015 4:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My skin feels irritated & tight. This product will be going back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 9:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So... I have been looking for a new powder. I currently use MAC Studio Fix in NW22.. I think my skin tone may be neutral rather than warm specifically.. but it works fine. I love this powder.. but still wanted to see if there was something better out there for me!

I wear powder during the normal working week, and the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light if i'm going out. Pretty much everything makes my oily skin spotty.. so I just wear heavy makeup on rare occassions and not for too long and I seem to be ok!

I went into Boots and ended up at the Bare Minerals counter. The girl decided I was medium Beige without colour matching me and surprised by her confidence I decided she must know her stuff. So off I trot with my new pot of Original powder foundation, looking forward to trying it the next day.

I put it on the next morning, buffing a small amount over my skin.. and ending up looking pretty much like a disco ball, every line and pore on my face highlighted with irridescent powder! I don't think it was even two hours before I was covered in grease and the powder had migrated across my face. It also oxidised badly and I resembled a sweaty Oompa Lumpa.

I went back to Boots that afternoon with every intention of getting a full refund, but the girl was very appologetic, suggested I try the matte version. She colour matched me this time and it turned out I was the lightest shade they did!

Next day I tried the powder.. no mishaps. This is now my second day.. I have a couple of spots on my forehead, but that could potentially be something to do with the previous powder, so I'm going to say so far so good! The coverage is light-medium and the texture is very smooth and light. My friend works for MAC and is unimpressed with my choice.. but for the moment I am standing by my decision!


on 2/18/2015 9:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. For years I have sworn off Bare Escentuals because it made my dark skin look clammy. The matte foundation was the solution for this. I love the moderate coverage of this foundation and how light it feels on. I cannot feel it at all and it lasts all day long with the help of blotting tissues in the afternoon. I use the golden tan and it works very well for my DDD skin. My complexion is similar to Queen Latifah's and I was originally matched to golden dark. big mistake. I use the golden tan during most of the year, and add some of the golden dark when I start to darken in the summer months. A little goes a long way with this. I have been using this product for about 3 years now and will continue to in the future. I have very sensitive skin and this is the only foundation that does not irritate my face.


on 2/17/2015 10:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really do like this powder foundation for everyday light use. It is a light coverage, so it just even the skin out; I have some hyper-pigmentation (light to medium dark spots on my cheeks) from the sun, and even when it doesn't erase it, it does tone it down quite a bit and for a more natural look I like it. The powder is super silky and it doesn't give me a chalky look, on the contrary it gives me a bit of a velvety look and feel to my skin.
I also really like it as a finishing powder over my foundation, right know the liquid foundation I am using is a bit light for my skin but with this powder foundation it makes it match perfectly and at the same time making it last. Never thought the combo would work but it does and it even give me more coverage.
I do recommend this foundation but I do caution that it contains an ingredient that in few cases it may cause you to break out or cause a rash, it happened to a friend, but it has worked great on my skin.
So, like I said, this is a great light-weight and light-coverage foundation for the everyday, it isn't as expensive as most high end ones, so it is a plus, and also they have a wide range of colors, so there is a good chance you can find the one that matches your skin just perfectly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried loving this and I just can't. I have a ton of acne scarring (currently on retin-a) and no matter how many times I try to build up the coverage it doesn't cover or conceal ANYTHING. Seems like all it does is even out my skin tone, but it leaves my scars out in the open.


Back to Top