Stila • Mango Crush lip and cheek stain • Lip Gloss

rated 3.7(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 skinX on 7/24/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by skinX

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Overall I found this product ok but would not repurchase.

PROS: Really like the colour on my fair & freckled skin

CONS: Expensive, cost $33.60 CAD with tax at Shoppers
- Donít like brush applicator, it makes it hard to get even coverage on lips and I had to use my fingers instead, which resulted in stained fingertips
- Found it a bit too shimmery for a cheek stain

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 richellealexis on 8/28/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by richellealexis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Holy goodness I can't believe the staying power on this stain! It is because of it's intensity I will not use it on my cheeks, ever. However on my lips? Heck yes! It stays on like a hot darn even after drinking coffee, eating lunch, talking all day and snacking. Melts right into your lips and feels like you have nothing on. Bought this in Passion Fruit Crush, and love the bright beaming red that it gives off. Must buy for lip stain lovers!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lipgloss09junkie on 6/25/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by lipgloss09junkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I really truly wanted to love this product with all my heart but I couldn't! It didn't last very long and it was the wrong color. It does last better than some lipstains but there are better ones out there. As wtih all lipstains it is dry, so you do need to layer a libpalm on top and have smooth lips prior to applying the lipstain (suggestion: mac lip conditioner). The color is salmon-pink. It looks more pink than orange. I really wanted orangey/peach ...and this is not it (if you are looking for this color try stanianc lip and cheek stain or make your own out of food dye works great!). It is a very pretty color but it can look to bright and unnatural on me even with my dark olive skin. It also has a ton of shimmer on it by putting on lipbalm tones it down and the shimmers do eventually disappear. Make sure you always have lip balm on your lips because I found that if you didn't the color ends up looking splotchy and uneven. Perhaps liner would also help. I purchased this product two times because I really wanted to love it but sadly this is a no no product for me. For others it would suit very well. Perhaps red heads and people who want a pop of color. It's a pretty summer color. I did try it on the cheeks but it ended up looking too shimmery ...perhaps I did not apply it right? I imagine it can look very pretty on anyone's cheek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CindelT on 5/7/2012 7:47:00 AM more reviews by CindelT

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is NOT a stain. That's mostly why I'm giving it a negative review. The color is nice, albeit slightly frosty, but it's not a stain that soaks in and stains your lips- it's more like a film that sets on top of your lips (exactly like Revlon Color Stay, which I detest). I only used it on my lips; I can't imagine what this would look like on my cheeks. This does not give a natural color- it looks like I'm wearing lipstick, which would be fine if that's what I wanted, but it's too heavy for a summer look for me. Staying power is not too impressive either. Half an hour after application I took a drink of water and had enough loss that I had to reapply. It's way too expensive for me to keep since I'm just not happy with it. First time using Stila cosmetics and I'm not impressed.

Will go back to using Benetint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jnugget21 on 3/1/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by jnugget21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another beautiful stain!! I have only tried this on my cheeks, the staying power there is amazing-It lasts all day:) The color is a pigmented shimmery coral-I love layering Nars Orgasm on top of this. 2.4 g of product is pretty stingy for the price, but a little goes a long way. One of my favorite stain colors from Stila!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JeanetteD on 1/13/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by JeanetteD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love and am absolutely in love with this product. I only use it on my cheeks and it lasts ALL day. I'm on my third tube already. I only wear this when i dont wear foundation which is about 4 times a week. And honeslty I dont know how to explain it maybe I have good skin (i certianly dont think so) but Everyone always compliments my skin more when i wear this and no foundation. Ive tried the other colors Cherry and pomegranate but i do not like those on my cheeks I find them too watery, better for lip stain. But Mango IS my absolute favorite i hope they never discontinue this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MN48225 on 12/8/2010 10:37:00 AM more reviews by MN48225

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a very pretty color as a swatch on my skin/hand but I didn't like how the shimmer sat on my lips. My lips has been dry lately and no amount of chapstick/lip balm could keep up with it. So, this stain just stained the dry flakes. Ick!

I like the idea of the click pen but not so much the execution. It was hard to tell how many clicks I had to turn in order to get any product out. (It took quite a lot of clicks, too.)

I bought Stila's A Couple of Crushes so I also had Pomegranate to compare this with. I much prefer the pomegranate on my lips. And, it's definitely easier to blend than Benetint or the drugstore, Revlon Just Bitten, brand. It's a gel so it gives you a bit more time to blend it in.

[FYI, I'm using these stains as a lip stain.]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 10/31/2010 3:26:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Stayed on pretty well.


CONS: Started off too frosty for me. Color was actually a bit too muted compared to the packaging and for something called Mango. Very watery consistency made it hard to apply. Doesn't last that long for a stain.


ALTERNATES: For HE, try Laura Mercier instead. For DS, try Revlon's Colorstay Soft and Smooth Lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anneeleeseemo on 6/23/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by anneeleeseemo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first, the cheek stain part confused me. But then I saw how they used it on Stila's Beautytube videos. Very innovative and smells great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 6/20/2010 5:07:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Stayed on pretty well.


CONS: Started off too frosty for me. Color was actually a bit too muted compared to the packaging and for something called Mango. Very watery consistency made it hard to apply. Doesn't last that long for a stain.


ALTERNATES: For HE, try Laura Mercier instead. For DS, try Revlon's Colorstay Soft and Smooth Lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Lip Gloss products