Revlon • COLORSTAY® LIP LINER • Lip Liners

rated 4.2(61 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ShailjaVashisht on 6/20/2014 4:03:00 AM more reviews by ShailjaVashisht

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am huge picker of Revlon's lip liners mainly because of their soft and creamy textures. The latest one I am using is "Revlon Lip Liner Pencil in Blackberry Review" They do not feather or bleed, infact keep the lipsticks intact for hours. Must try !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbono23 on 10/28/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by kbono23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

good quality product and lasts nicely! fantastic colours and great packaging. love the shades in this range aswell!! love Revlon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/21/2013 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love Revlon, so whenever I need a new product, I always look in their shop first. I got myself a red lipstick recently, and knew I needed a lip liner for a soft lip outline. The most versatile color I thought would work for my makeup wardrobe was "#650 Pink Rose" (I am unsure as to which it is, because on Revlon's website they have either Pink or Rose color, and not both). I posted a pic of how it looks on my hand - the color is very similar to the cap, a subdued cool reddish rose. I have used this liner numerous times now, and find it provides everything I was looking for! It is quite smooth, but not too creamy, and it stays put the whole day. I love to trace the corners of my lips where the lipstick has worn off, and it blends in with the rest of the color very smoothly for a finished look. This liner helps tremendously with creating a soft lip line, and the formula has not been drying to me at all. If anything, I don't feel like I am wearing a liner. I am not planning on using the included sharpener, but it is a useful addition. Overall, Colorstay lip liner is a great product that lasts! Pink-rose color works wonderfully for red and darker pink lippies! I would repurchase.

*** *** ***
10/24/13: I also forgot to check out the ingredients, probably out of habit, because Revlon products usually have high quality ingredients and are paraben-free.
This is a full list of ingredients and uses:

Ozokerite (hydrocarbon wax - binding agent),
Cyclopentasiloxane (silicon-based conditioning agent),
Trimethylsiloxysilicate (silicon-based conditioning agent),
Phenyl Trimethicone (silicon-based conditioning agent),
Polyethylene (binding agent),
Disteardimonium Hectorite (naturally occurring clay mineral-based thickening agent),
Tocopherol (Vitamin E - conditioning agent),
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract (naturally occurring conditioning agent),
Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (naturally occurring conditioning agent),
Propylene Carbonate (synthetic solvent),
Dicalcium Phosphate (water-insoluble bulking agent),
Sorbic Acid (preservative).

May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Red 21 Lake (CI 45380), Red 6 (CI 15850), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Orange 5 Lake (CI 45370), Red 21 (CI 45380), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 (CI 73360), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Zinc Oxide (CI 77947), Red 36 (C112085), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380).

This lip liner contains a number of skin-conditioning agents, a few of them natural, as well as a natural preservative (instead or parabens), which is always a great job in my book. EWG SkinDeep database rates this product at 4, with an overall hazard of low. While this lip liner is not hypoallergenic (it may contain zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, and artificial coloring), the fact that it is fragrance- and paraben-free makes it stand out to me and I hope that this slightly safer formulation would make the product suitable for more people.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oxonbrillo on 7/18/2013 8:02:00 AM more reviews by oxonbrillo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

These lipliners are WONDERFUL. They stays on and on and feel&look like second skin(or lips). I'm stocking these up in every color whenever I see it at the mall!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NotRichEnough on 3/16/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by NotRichEnough

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I use lipliner all over my lips and this product dries my lips out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mayanii on 2/12/2013 6:07:00 AM more reviews by mayanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Sometimes, I almost wish that lip-liners would be produced in similar ways as eyeliners. If Revlon came up with a marker pen lip-liner, I would snatch it up in a heartbeat.


I really like the consistency and pigmentation of this lip-liner. My lips are naturally pigmented, with my upper being darker than my lower, so Nude really helped to even out my upper lip. However, like another review pointed out, the liner breaks off very easily. I suppose you could say that gentleness is crucial for the liner to remain in one piece but it doesn't really help much.


I wear this under my NYX PR and it makes the color pop. Unfortunately, this is the only color I will purchase until Revlon steps its game up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Happicuupcake on 12/12/2012 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Happicuupcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Mauve for a nude look with a hint of color for my tan complexion. I lined my lips, filled them in and put my lipstick over it. The product isn't rock hard like crappy eyeliner that tugs on your eyes, but it's not creamy either. It was a little hard to put it on because of that consistency, but it does have staying power. I feel that it helped my lipstick last longer than it would without the lip liner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MsScarlet on 10/25/2012 1:19:00 PM more reviews by MsScarlet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Bought the ColorStay Lip Liner in Red in conjunction with Revlon's Really Red Matte Lipstick. The liner does an okay job, but I have the sinking feeling that it dries out my lips more than the lipstick does.
I give this two lippies because every time I've used it, the lip liner breaks. The Colorstay lip liner is an automatic liner (you turn it up like a lipstick, as opposed to a pencil). The product is not very smooth on application and at least once during each application a chunk of lip liner breaks off. I try to let as little product come out of the tube as possible to minimize this breakage but it still happens. The texture of the liner is not very smooth and feels waxy and drying. I can't say that the lip liner doesn't do the job because I think it does (I haven't tried the lipstick without it), but it's annoying to end up wasting product every time I use it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyLoverRN on 10/24/2012 6:50:00 AM more reviews by BeautyLoverRN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: I am bumping this up to 5 lippies, because I just compared them to my new Jordana lipliners (which are much cheaper!), and I see now how much they actually do live up to their "Colorstay" name! I also bumped up the packaging quality to a 4, because it does have a sharpener included in the bottom of the product. I will definitely save these babies for special occasions where I need staying power, and use my cheaper ones for everyday. I figured out that you need to let the color just SIT there, undisturbed, for at LEAST 15 minutes if possible...I still wish these were slightly cheaper and/or had more product, but as far as performing as a long-lasting lipliner, they definitely do what they're supposed to do. :-)


I am so DISAPPOINTED with this product! I picked this up in three shades (Blush, Rose, and Pink) and was very upset to see that, even when applied directly onto my DRY lips (with no balm or anything to moisturize and make them glide on easier--I really wanted to test the staying power) they wiped completely off after 10 minutes! Maybe I didn't give them enough time to "set"? I also didn't like they way I was looking for MLBB colors, and found these all to be either too light, too warm-toned, and/or completely not matching the color on the package. So annoyed! Complete waste of money since I didn't get these on sale (picked them up in a rush on my way to a wedding). One last gripe is that I noticed that there is not a lot of actual product...like maybe an inch or so? And it seems to go quickly. If anyone knows of any good, long-lasting lipliners, please let me know!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tdhx0 on 10/21/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by tdhx0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in Nude. The color doesn't show up at all on my lips and the liner keeps breaking. It was also very drying on my lips and made them look flakey. Wah, disappointed :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lip Liners products