Sally Hansen • HD Hi-Definition Nail Color • Polishes

rated 3.4(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 cmelt on 3/17/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by cmelt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The color is great! If you're going for a more sheer look, one or two thing coats should do the trick, but you can also make the color more thick/bold. My only problem with this polish is it takes AGES to try, even with a quick-drying top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luciaq on 11/25/2012 5:31:00 PM more reviews by luciaq

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

5.0 rating for the golden yellow color, 3.0-4.0 for all other colors.

I especially recommend the golden yellow which is a rare case of *good* yellow nail color. The color is a bit hard to describe, probably like a canary yellow with sunny golden glow, yes, glow! It's not too pale or too orange or too golden, just perfect. Every time I put it on, it cheers me up. The color pigments are dense and well dissolved in the solvent, so I can always get away with a single coat of nail color. The color is perfect for work/school/party/cocktail party... endless possibilities

I also own the red (called wavelenth) and the blue. These are also nice colors. The red is a really sparkly red/pink which is too bright on fingernails for most people if you want to go to school or work, but it's perfect as a summer toenail color, almost a head turner! The blue is also nice but it's hard to apply the blue color evenly and I always have to have 2+ coats for blue! This is my only complaint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 memorymaze on 3/4/2012 5:14:00 PM more reviews by memorymaze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have the HD colours in LCD, Pixel Pretty, Cyber, and Hi-Def.

LCD has mixed reviews on here, but I love it. It is very sheer. I love it if I want a subtle, quick manicure. My favourite way to wear it is on top of another colour. I'm currently wearing it over a black polish and it looks gorgeous. The dark base colour really makes the multidimensional shimmer stand out.

I have only gotten to use Pixel Pretty once, but it is a very pretty bright blue. Takes 3 coats for good coverage. Great summer colour.

Cyber is my favorite purple. It takes 2-3 coats for good coverage, but it is absolutely gorgeous. Bright, rich purple with lots of shine.

Hi-Def is the only one that I probably would not buy again. The colour is a gorgeous lime, but it just doesn't suit my (fair) skintone. Takes at least 3 coats for opaque coverage.

Overall, I really like the formula. I don't find it streaky or thick. Easy application, full brush (but not the flat brush). Dries well. I haven't had any issues with air bumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glittermeup15 on 1/14/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by glittermeup15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this nail polish! It has its downside but overall it is a gorgeous color. I have it in LCD which is a pink with blue and purple shimmer in th light. I like to put it over Blaze by Wet n Wild for a tropical look. But I dont like to wear it alone. It could go overtop of any peach, pink, blue, purple, or teal polishes because of all it's little shades. It is definitely high-shimmer. I said i would buy it again but I have had it for a couple years and I still have half the bottle. I have never needed to re-purchase a nail polish i my collection of 50+ lacquers. But if you like pink with those little blue and purple hints this is the polish for you! XOXO

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jessicahonig2011 on 8/18/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by jessicahonig2011

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the color LCD. A pretty hot pink with a blue-purple shimmer. It was around $5 or $6. When I went to apply it I was heavily disappointed. The color is way too sheer and I even put on 3 coats and it still shows my natural nail line underneath. Then when it dried it had several little air bubbles which I hate. I wore the polish for maybe 2 or 3 days until it chipped even a little so it gave me an excuse to take it off. I've tried using this color twice and still had the same issues. So now this color just sits in my collection probably never to be used again which is such a disappointment for such a pretty color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 triplet3 on 7/3/2011 7:20:00 PM more reviews by triplet3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This gave my nails great colour, however it was very hard to get of my fingers with nail polish remover and the formula is to liquid y to it makes a mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ladybug93 on 6/24/2011 1:03:00 AM more reviews by Ladybug93

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I went to Target last week and got 3 new nail colors. One is from the Sally Hansen HD (hi-def) line. I got the bright pink/fuschia called 'LCD'. It has blue,lavender and pink glittery sparkle to it and a lot of shine. It takes 2 or 3 coats to get good coverage yet it remains somewhat sheer looking. If you like sheer color one coat is fine. It dries well thus making multiple coats easier. It wears well too, really no need for top coat. (I didn't use a base coat either, I have natural nails.) No chips after a week, just a little wear at nail tips, but I did a fast touch up yesterday and they look like new!I think I paid $5 so that is a great price too. I stick with pinks and lavender colors, but there are several fun colors in this line. (The photo is not my nails, but it is a good likeness, still you cannot fully appreciate the lovely irridescence and sheen...give it a try!) See photos. Enjoy!

TIPS:

1-

Store your polish in a cool, dark place away from all heat and light. I have polish that is 8 yrs old or more that is fine with a good shake before use. I keep all polish in a drawer away from light.

2-

Expensive doesn't mean better. I have Love My Nails, CoverGirl, Maybelline, Sally Hansen, Revlon, Avon, L'oreal and a couple of brands I forget. None cost me more than $1-6 or so and they last, they are all several years old except for the 3 I just got.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeT0nightStay on 5/27/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by MakeT0nightStay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the bluish purple one and it's great! It came packaged with a base/top coat included for free. I have gotten so many compliments on it. It looks like different colors when you're out in the sun. I love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EozS on 5/18/2011 5:02:00 PM more reviews by EozS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought it in purple and loved it so much that I bought four more colours (teal, green, yellow and pink), which I am regretting now.

The positive: The colours are beautiful, sparkly and shimmery. The brush is flexible and thin.

The fixable issues: You can get decent wear out of it but you need a good top coat and bottom coat. This stuff is VERY thin, but with a good top coat and 2-3 coats of polish, it looks fine.

The negative: It gets thick after a few uses. This was the deal breaker for me because it's so hard to apply after 2-3 uses over 2 months. The other problem is that this stuff takes forever to try, compounded by the fact that you need 3 coats. Devote half a day to doing your nails and be ultra careful for another day after that, or you will get marks. So frustrating! A fast-drying topcoat helps but causes shrinkage around the cuticle and sides (and the tips, too, if you don't wrap the tips).

So, if you love the colours, are patient with dry time, and use your nailpolish quickly, you could get away with this. Otherwise, it's more trouble than it's worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marippe on 3/29/2011 4:30:00 AM more reviews by marippe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

picked this up in ''lcd''.. it's such a pretty color but way too sheer. it took 5 coats to get the color payoff i wanted. i'll probably wear this on top of a richer pink color, but never by itself again. won't repurchase this or any of the other colors :\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products