Christian Dior • 5 Couleurs Designer All-In-One Artistry - Amber Design 708 • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 chanel2110 on 3/3/2012 1:43:00 PM more reviews by chanel2110

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think that the colors are phenomenal and I don't have anything like the shimmery topper that is in this palette. However, the pigmentation lasting power is terrible on me. I have to make sure to use a really good primer, and then put several layers of the darkest shadow on, and even then, it fades within a few hours. For such a high end product, I'd expect more lasting power. But all that aside, I still think it's a lovely compact.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracejones on 1/10/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by gracejones

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this palette as does my friend who I also bought a palette for, for Xmas.
You can create any number of looks from neutral day look to smokey night look.
I am surprised so many have made negative comments on the base note, I love the base note, it is light shimmery, neutral, you just need to pack some onto the applicator that comes in the set, often if I want a very plain but sexy look I apply it all over and just use the orangey colour on the crease.

So the next colour is a bright orange colour but which looks very elegant on and can be tempered by mixing with the base.

There is also a reddish-organish dark brown that has beautiful dimension to it, gold and red sheens.

Also you get a dark brown eye liner that stays well put if you use a primer.

Finally there are some gorgeous golden orange sparkles that illuminate the look and can indeed be used on any eye shadow you have, a great look is to apply very dark shadow and then put the orange sparkles on top as it gives light and dimension.

I love the 5 colours designer set in all the colours it comes in, but this is my favourite for daily wear because it is so versatile and also very neutral.
The grey, green and navy palette are also beautiful but more for night time wear. I have not tried the pink.

I recommend this palette if you like to wear cream, orange and brown colours. It looks great on green, brown, hazel and I am sure also blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Eustace on 9/20/2011 2:12:00 PM more reviews by Eustace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Why, oh why, do I continually get sucked into buying CD eyeshadow palettes? They look good, that's why. I knew when I purchased this at Sephora that it was a dud and yet I bought it anyway. Sigh. As many reviewers have already pointed out, the base color and the liner are useless. There is no pigmentation at all with the base and far too much with the other shades. The highlighter is pretty but in very small doses.

On top of all that, the compact snapped apart on me the other day, as the connecting pins went flying! It has never been dropped, I don't carry it with me in my bag and it has spent most of its' time being molly-coddled in my makeup tray. Really poor quality in my opinion, both the casing and the product. It's a a shame really, since Dior does make some very nice makeup. If this is the centerpiece of their makeup (it's certainly the most recognizable) they need to go back to the makeup lab.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jejkim on 12/2/2010 6:58:00 PM more reviews by jejkim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Love the colors in this quint. They have no trace of red in the browns/gold/shimmer which is my biggest pet peeve of brown shadows. The quality is excellent, but the formula definitely is a step away from regular Dior eyeshadows in the regular line.


If you're good with makeup, you'll quickly pick up the versatility of this quint: the shadows apply and blend well, can be interchanged, layered with other products, and the staying power is good. The shimmer definitely needs to be applied with fingers or patted on with a pencil brush. For those that don't see color payoff, use different brushes or techniques. The colors in this quint are gorgeous and can be applied lightly to heavy. Goes easily from day to night. The cream liner is a bit stiff but still workable.


The Dior makeup artist was at the counter working on someone with this quad so I had some help picking out a palette. I wanted a brown one and she steered me towards this quint. Would definitely repurchase this color combo or alternate versions. Thanks Dior for creating the tool for some gorgeous eyes!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caren88 on 9/23/2010 1:50:00 PM more reviews by caren88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette!! Works perfectly for me, I'm surprised what some of the other reviewers are saying about the color payoff. Perhaps this palette works best on fairer skin, as I think the colors are very beautiful blended together on my eyes. I love the liner too, easy to use and not too dark. All the shadows and liner goes on smoothly. Great price and as always, love the Dior packaging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marie28 on 3/27/2010 2:12:00 PM more reviews by marie28

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first saw this palette, I immediately thought it would work or me due to the color combination. The texture of the shadows are typical Dior, smooth and silky. After the SA did a makeover on me, I liked what she did and bought it. I noticed as the day went on my eyes started to itch...I was allergic to the darkest shade and had to return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkice on 1/3/2010 2:49:00 AM more reviews by pinkice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I would not buy this product again
I wish I returned it!
This palette seemed amazing! It had everything a girl on the go could want... depth, sparkle, a good rep... a liner included... brushes............

Listed below is what sucks about this palette:

1.Top right shadow- This color does nothing for me... bla. I dislike the texture. V. disappointing
2. Bottom left- Come on... Dior has to be saving money with this quality!!! I mean really... I can't even get started on this because it irritates me. It doesn't blend well and has very little pigment.... amongst the fact that it reminds me of a shadow quality similar to that of Wet n' Wild... that I used during my teens.
3. This liner is crap crap crap... yuck.
4. Middle- This gold is gross.

The only good thing about this palette is that its good for the office b/c the only shadow you can really see is the dark brown ... which happens to be v. pretty.

Please don't bother buying this b/c its not impressive at all

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ayuwibisono on 12/15/2009 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ayuwibisono

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really want to love this product, but I'm very disappointed.
The pallete's color are cute and tempting. But that's all.
Not enough pigment, no staying power..even with MUFE camouflage as eyeshadow base.
"The base pan" is useless, no pigment and show crease
"The other shadow pan" are just OK..
"The liner" is almost useless..
Overall : I have drugstore eyeshadow which give better performance than this..
(In my country, we don't have any return policy..if we do, I would return it at once)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karen521 on 10/9/2009 6:09:00 PM more reviews by karen521

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this as my everyday eyeshadow. It is easy to blend, and it also lasts all day. I really like the shine color ( top right), The shimmer has pink/gold/light green colors in it. I use it above my eye ball area and it looks amazing. I like the packaging as well, it is very chic and elegant at the same time. Now I can just grab this pallette when I am on the go, it has everything I need for the eye makeup. ( liner, highlighter, base color, contour color, shine)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kikikuku on 7/25/2009 8:31:00 AM more reviews by kikikuku

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It with a very delicate powder and see through effect,makes my eyes have a very clean and clear look, and can last for 8 hours

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Eye Shadow products