Ulta • Self-Tanning Continuous Spray • Self Tanners

rated 3.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 1/11/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best self tanner that I've tried so far. I bought a can only because it was on sale for $2.50. After I tried it out for the first time, I went back to Ulta and bought the remaining supply at the store! There are two shades: Light-Medium and Medium-Deep. I use the darker shade. I feel this is pretty fool proof. I get a natural light brown even tan from face to feet. No streaks. No orange. Process: Scrub the sh*t out of yourself in the shower. I use Tree Hut sugar scrub and it works great for self tanners. Really exfoliate your skin from head to toe to prep for a self tan. Exfoliating is the key from an even tan. Do not apply any creams or oils before your tan! This will cause streaks. Always moisturize after your tan is fully developed. As stated on the can, DO NOT spray this directly on your face. I notice some reviewers did that. You need to put on a pair of disposable non latex gloves. Spray the product into your palms and quickly pat and press it all over your face. Only spray one spritz into your hands for your whole face. For body application, you don,t need gloves. Just spray all over your body. It dries super quick. No need to rub it in. If product is pooling, you are spraying too much. Just use light quick sprays while moving body parts around to get an even application. Don't just blast a section full force. Don't keep jerking the product flow, keep finger steady on the nozzle and apply enough pressure to allow product to have a constant even flow. The good news is that this doesn't smell like self tanner. The bad news is that this smells like floral bathroom spray. The scent is the only con, oh well. By following these steps, your tan will look great.
UPDATE 10/14/14: I recently ran out and purchased a new bottle. Ulta changed the packaging on this! It now comes in a silver can with a bigger nozzle. IT IS HORRIBLE! The nozz;e drips like a bastard and it is now messy to apply. I hate the new packaging. Also, I noticed the newer bottle formula to smell differently and it is causing breakouts. Knocked this down to two lippies. It still gives a nice tan but it is way to messy to apply now due to the stupid nozzle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amaranon on 7/6/2013 12:21:00 PM more reviews by amaranon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not too picky about self-tanners. I use all types and find I am almost always able to achieve nice, even color if I exfoliate beforehand and apply lotion to my knuckles, elbows and knees.

I usually don't use sprays only because I find I have to use more product (more expensive) and it fades faster. I shop at Ulta frequently so I just grabbed 2 cans of this.

The first time I used it, it turned out blotchy and uneven. I blamed myself because I was in a hurry (although I did the exfoliate/moisturize routine).

Mostly I only use spray tanner on my face and the backs of my hands, so the next few times I used it in this manner it was just "ok." It did not get my eye area well like other spray tanners do, and my hands come out uneven.

I used it last night as an all over tan, and once again it turned out blotchy. The worst part is, the mist settled onto my feet leaving my toes about 20 shades darker than my blotchy legs :/ I tried to avoid this (because it happened the first time) by not spraying my feet, knowing the mist is going down there anyway. It has not happened with other spray tans, so I think the mist might be a little heavy?

These 2 cans will last me awhile because in the future I will only use them for my face. I like using spray tans on my face because the mist leaves my skin in its normal condition. If I use any lotions (even those meant for faces) my face gets much too oily (it's oily as is).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ClaireBear728 on 5/2/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by ClaireBear728

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used tons of sunless tanners, and I definitely do not like this one, unfortunately. I put it on, and even used the Ulta tanning mitt to make sure I didnt have streaks or missed spots, but I woke up this morning ORANGE and splotchy. I wanted to like this and thought that it would be convenient since it is a spray, but I think for me, I will stick with gradual tanners, and in the lotion form. The spray stunk and I could barely breathe when I was putting it on. (I exfoliated before I sprayed this on, but it still looks uneven). I am HOPING that I can return this to Ulta...(got 2 cans at a Buy One Get One 50% Off rate).....Dont try this unless you want to look like an Oompa Loompa...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sexycraftysocal on 4/28/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by sexycraftysocal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color I get from this product. I had been using L'Oreal Sublime Bronze, but I figured I'd try this. The color is very natural, not orangey at all. As others have mentioned, it lasts a long time -- over a week on me; and fades like a real tan. The odor it leaves on your body is innocuous, but I don't like the smell when it is sprayed. Make sure you hold it out at least a foot from your body, and make sure you are well exfoliated. It's going to be my new "go to" self-tanner. I would give it a solid 5, except for the cons.

Cons:
The smell -- the first time I used it, I had to go use my asthma inhaler afterwards. Make sure you're in a very well ventilated area.

Sometimes you have to push really hard to get the pump to work. I thought at first mine was defective, but you just have to push hard.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nerds99 on 3/30/2012 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Nerds99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not a huge fan; went on "drippy" and turned me orange :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahjf on 2/26/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by sarahjf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

FABULOUS
I am very fair & going on vacation- don't like tanning beds so after reading reviews of this product I bought it. It is SO easy to use- it's best if you have someone to spray you (the trick is to NOT spray too close!) but if you're applying it solo, spray one section at a time starting with your legs (cover your feet!) & work upward, blending it in a bit after spraying each section then just wash your hands. after, I just lightly spray the tops of my feet. the mist is even & fine, there is a bit of a stink (as all spray tans have) but if you allow it to develop fully (4 hrs or so) & rinse with plain water it will wash most of the scent away- also, I have very sensitive, acne prone skin & used this on my face- it has NOT broken me out or darkened my pores. you'll get @ 3 full-body applications per can. very happy with this product & if you buy during an ulta b2g2 + use your coupon you will get an insane deal! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkpastels on 1/25/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by pinkpastels

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i bought this when ulta had the buy 2 get 2 free, so i picked this in light medium. Instead of going tanning i wanted a nice glow like i went on vacation. i used the ulta self tanning lotion in light/med (which i have used before and i like it) and then used this, and i love it!

this product sprays from any angle, which is a plus, and it gave me a nice glow. not even orange, after one application i was happy (even though i layered products i noticed a better and more noticeable color with the two products than just the lotion itself) and i always moisturize after with a regular lotion.

the smell doesnt bother me, just apply it in a room with a window open or something. it doesnt streak and dries pretty quickly but i like to use my blowdryer to speed things up. no i have not used this product by itself but i will in summertime when it would be more lightweight to just apply this spray instead of a lotion) im happy with this! definitely will buy again and use even in summertime to enhance my tan, and in the fall to extend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 7/20/2011 10:42:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

In a word FANTASTIC. The spray applies very evenly and soaks in. It is like water. No stickiness or sliminess in the dog days of summer. Easy to spray upside down. I got Light/Medium and it applied and dried within 2 minutes. One major gripe: the nozzle has to be broken in. I got two cans in a BOGO, and thought I had two defective cans. You have to really press hard to get it to work the first time. The tint is negligible. The scent is somewhat ozoney like hairspray. There is no nasty bouillon cube smell from the tanner in the morning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shyviolet on 3/19/2011 1:13:00 PM more reviews by shyviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in the darkest shade and applied it very unevenly the first time. So the patchy job was my own fault, but I have never been patchy like that with any other tanner, so I might say that this might need to be smoothed in a little more than other tanners. The areas that I did get right were a beautiful shade though.

I was really surprised that this lasted an entire week. It faded lightly and evenly, just like a real tan. I still had some color a week later and that is surprising since I use a sugar/oil scrub almost daily.

I reapplied it for the first time last night (being more careful this time) and it is GORGEOUS color again - but patchy despite my careful application and prior exfoliation. The formula is very runny (others I have used were a bit thicker which made them easier to work with). Cheaper than other brands though, doesn't smell so strong and LASTS. 1x week application is key for me.

This will dye your bathroom and any surrounding areas so be careful and have your windex handy. Overall, great lasting color and great price. I just wish it were a tad thicker to make it easier to apply evenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sunkissdluster on 5/22/2009 1:31:00 PM more reviews by Sunkissdluster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this during a buy 2, get 2 promotion for Ulta products. I usually buy L'oreal Sublime Glow tanner w/ skin tone enhancer, but thought this might do as well. WRONG. It does better. For the same price w/o a sale, you get 1.8 more ounces of product and the mist is very strong. No need to go over your body again and again. The smell is a lot better than most tanning products. Smells more like a men's beachy cologne. The day after applying I had a nice, deep tan and the smell was gone.
I took one lippie off because it is sticky for a while and comes off on white clothes (like every tanner I have ever used). Still, I love it.

Edit:
When you are reaching the last of the can, it can get REALLY inconsistent in application and sort of spurts. I just let it dry a bit after applying and then slather lotion all over. Does the trick.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Ulta products

More Self Tanners products